Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
28
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2008
This collection contains the following;

The complete season 5 (1993)

The adventure of the Egytian tomb
The underdog
The yellow iris
The case of the missing will
The adventure of the Italian Nobleman
The chocolate box
Dead man's mirror
Jewel robery at the Grand Metropolitan

2 hour Specials (1995 to 2000)

Hecule Poirot's Christmas (part 1 and 2)
Hickory Dickory Dock (part 1 and 2)
Murder on the Links (part 1 and 2)
Dumb Witness (part 1 and 2)

These episodes are what some would call early TV Poirot, as after these the show takes on a darker feel. However Poirot is a joy to watch from beginning to end in my opinion. I hope that Suchet is allowed to complete all Poirot's stories as his portrayal is the best ever attempted.
0Comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2007
To many people David Suchet is the ultimate Poirot - I agree, he is perfect as Agatha Christie's Belgum detective. This 4 disk set contains some of the short story adaptions as well as the longer adaptions of Agatha Christie's novels. I must admit I prefer the adaptions of the novels rather than the short stories. 4 novels Hercule Poirot's Christmas, Hickory Dickory Dock, Murder On The Links and Dumb Witness as well as several short story adaptions. This set has all the regular supporting characters Captain Hastings, Miss Lemon and Chief Inspector Japp (who are sadly missing in the later episodes). These stories are lighter than the later adaptions where Poirot's character is alot darker. I am looking forward to the new adaptions which are being filmed - I am reliably informed are Mrs McGinty's Dead and Dead Man's Folly. Lets hope Japp, Hastings and Miss lemon are bought back for them.
22 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This fourth individual collection set consists of the entire fifth series from 1993 and the entire sixth series from 1994 (all four stories from series 6 being feature-lengths). Once again, David Suchet is in excellent form as the Belgian sleuth, again ably supported by Hugh Fraser as Captain Hastings, Philip Jackson as Chief Inspector Japp, and Pauline Moran as Miss Lemon. Like with the first three individual collection sets, I saw these ones on the telly (mostly on Granada Plus, although I do remember Dumb Witness from when it was first on ITV). Poirot has always been one of my favourite TV programmes to watch as the stories are very entertaining and the plots are very believable, despite the fact that I have never read any of Agatha Christie's Poirot novels, perhaps I should treat myself to a Poirot novel sometime.

Going back to the DVD, it is packed with very good stories and this collection, along with the others, is very highly recommended to anyone who likes great detective stories.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
This DVD collection 4 was very enjoyable, I have long been a fan of the Agatha Christie Poirot novels, and think David Suchet plays the part to perfection. In fact I am in the process of acquiring all of the Poirot Collections on DVD. The DVD boxed sets ordered to date have all arrived in a reasonable amount of time following the placing of the order. Thank you Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I love them! Suchet and Hastings are superb, and Miss Lemon is just perfect. The stories are well adapted from both the short stories and the novels. Always looking at the costumes and luggage. A must for Chrisite fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Received my collection yesterday and couldn't wait to sit down with a cup of tea and WATCH. WATCH, WATCH!!! and so i did and i loved every minite - Poirot is a delight to watch! Loved it!!! Im a very happy woman!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
the quaulity of the acting and actors is really breathtaking,also the filming is
quite brilliant.the plots follow A Christies book very well.great period stories
well produced!! excellent!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
A great Poirot and a classic stories. You know what you get here, great acting, costumes and locations, never disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
David Suchet is brilliant all of the episodes are fabulous although the mystery of the Egyptian tomb can be sightly boring. This is worth getting trust me.*
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
a very good service.and an excellent site to buy from.as i will be buying from them again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)