Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2017
Brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2007
Broken Social Scene are a very unusual band. A huge cast of musicians participate on this record in a democratic process that leaves the producers with a lot of work to do, trying to make sense of what can often sound like two or three songs playing at the same time. The result, on some of their more conventional indie tracks, is a cross between the laconic daze of Dinosaur Jnr and the warped intensity of My Bloody Valentine. However, they also excel at jazzy post-rock and - on this record - Prince-style R&B!

Whereas the overcrowded, shape-shifting production was a principle factor of their last (great) record 'You Forgot it in People', on this record it entirely defines it. Songs and melodies slip in and out of focus, revealing little galaxies of blurred notes and voices beyond the principal 'song' structures, time-signatures trip and flip; at moments it sounds like you are stuck between stations on an analogue radio dial.

The album opens with a the jazzy, shimmering alt-rock of 'Our faces split the coast in half', with a moody Bernard Hermann-style brass section and half-submerged vocals that sound like something sampled for a DJ Shadow record. Picking up where 'Pacific Theme' left off on the last record, this is one of the best tracks for me. 'Ibi dreams of pavement (a better day)' is one of their more raucous moments while '7/4 (shoreline)' is this album's 'Almost Crimes', an anthemic, sonic crowd-pleaser with Leslie Feist at the helm.

'Finish your collapse and stay for breakfast' is electronic noodling while 'Major label debut' show their more twee indie sensibilities. 'Fire Eye'd Boy' is another one to satisfy the indie kids, a fine piece of pop-hookery, but then it gets more interesting. 'Windsurfing Nation' is an unusual rock / r'n'b hybrid centring around the repeated mantra 'All we want is freedom' and even includes a short rap at the end, to great effect. 'Hotel' is off-kilter downbeat r'n'b, a kind of tripped-out 'Lover's Rock' and the album's most singular moment. There are other moments of merit to mention, but some editing would not have hurt - in particular the inconsequentially long closer 'Its All Gonna Break'.
The bonus EP from the Limited Edition isn't much cop either, sounding more like outtakes than a record in its own right, and isn't worth spending any extra cash on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2005
My recommendation is to get the CD+EP version. It is beautifully packaged with an extra EP; it will possibly cost you little, if any, more.
If you liked Broken Social Scene 'You Forgot It In People' then in all probability you will wish to hear this too, but I guess you already know that. If you like any/all of Stars, Metric and Feist you need this – as Amy Millan, Emily Haines and Leslie Feist provide almost all the female vocals here, backed up by Torquil Campbell (Stars) on male vocals and a whole host of talented musicians who all come and go with the tracks, for Broken Social Scene is a ‘collective’ and not a ‘band’.
Something in me tells me that, as such, it shouldn’t really work as a cohesive unit but the undeniable fact is that on this album it does – so much so that, despite my original intention, I’ve now decided not to name tracks – it is an album best listened to in its entirety. As you might expect it is an album that generally wears its heart on its sleeve. It does often have a fairly clear political edge – that is predominantly anti-war, anti-Bush – which is hardly surprising given the conspirators previous convictions.
The bonus EP ‘To Be You and Me’ alluded to above, which is mostly much more biased towards electronica than the album it accompanies, starts with ‘Her Disappearing Theme’ on which the only vocals are distorted whispers. The abstract theme seems set to continue with the happy/harmless start of the next track, but during the first minute the mood changes entirely. Perhaps deemed too risky for the album itself this six-minute-long anti-war epic, ‘Canada vs. America’ evolves in a way that is surprising. This is very much a song on the offensive, and thus Metric’s ‘Succexy’ comes to mind, but so does Stars’ ‘Celebration Guns’, which is in comparison very contemplative. Either way this is an excellent track. The next two tracks subside into dreamy electronica only to wake somewhat bleary-eyed with ‘All My Friends’, a fairly standard emo-track.
Major Label Debut (Fast) is a version of track 5 on the LP Broken Social Scene. The EP closes with ‘Feel Good Lost Reprise’, an instrumental full of woozy electronic keyboards rather similar to those with which it opened.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
Canada is better than us. If the world is a school playground then Canada has just stolen the UK's girlfriend by being better and cooler, and who cares? The UK wasn't treating her right!
As if to flex the national musical muscle, nearly all of the best artists in the country gang together to form Broken Social Scene and create an album of utter brilliance. They're kind of like the Justice League of Canada except without Spandex. I could pick out individual songs but it'd just read like the tracklisting with me gushing between each one, so I won't bother.
And just to make us look worse, if you follow the threads of the collaborators you'll only find more and more astonishing albums; 'Let it Die' by Feist, 'Folkloric Feel' Apostle of Hustle, Both Stars albums, By Divine Right - Also have a look at 'Reverie Sound Revue' since Lisa Lobsinger is now a full time member of BSS.
If I was going to pick out one problem with the album it's the fact that I will never be able to join the band firstly because I'm not from Canada and secondly because I have no talent. But I can dream can't I?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
I assume that people were too busy listening to this collective's must more hyped not-actually-a-debut debut album to give this self-titled gem a fair listen. Or perhaps they were listening to some album called Funeral released the previous year? I don't know the reasoning, but this near-masterpiece has somehow been forgotten about, despite it being one of indie rock's greatest achievements over the past few years. Because 10 or so members wasn't nearly enough, Kevin Drew hired even more dopey Canadians with ridiculous hair to do his dirty work, and the result is one of the most explosive, gorgeous and downright sexy records my ears have ever heard. k-os's verse on 'Windsurfing Nation' is so ridiculously out-of-place, but it works! It all works! Culminating in 'It's All Gonna Break' - a kind of twee version of 'Sister Ray', but with even more sexually confused lyrics - Broken Social Scene is a truly fantastic record, and one that makes me shed a tear when I realise that England is producing nothing this exciting.

Yes, it's better than You Forgot It in People, and it's probably better than you too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
Broken Social Scene are one of those band that you either love or your hate them, I admit they are not for everyone but with a record like this you can appeciate how talented they are at their individual instruments. Highlights are '7/4 [Shoreline]' & 'Ibi Dreams Of Pavement [A Better Day]' both songs showcase their sound without going too ecletic, If you are new to the band check out these two tracks and if you like them you will like the rest of the record. Only 4 stars based on this might not be for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
Raw production, organic songwriting, addictive rythmns, great melodies. Every single song is musically dextrous and exciting.
Favourite tracks are Shoreline, Hotel, Swimmers, Windsurfing Nation. Its All Gonna Break is a great ender, a great rock out.

This is what music is about. More bands like BSS please!

Also good is the album 'You Forgot it In People'- this being the slightly better- but I highly recommend both as invaluable additions to any music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
Some dazzling stand-out tracks like 'Superconnected' and 'It's All Gonna Break' in other less-inspiring material. Having said, the quieter tracks start to grow on you. I don't think you'll listen this non-stop but you'll keep coming back to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2005
I can't let a day go by without listening to this album. I loved the last album "You Forgot It In People" and this is the same....after a few listens the Penny drops and your hooked. There so much going on and so much diversity here I love it! This band/collective is almost genreless I want to move to Canada and join Broken Social Scene!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£16.89
£10.76

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)