Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
11
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2014
Quite a modern feel to this book adaptation from the great P. G. Wodehouse but a fun story and ably adapted by Julian Fellowes. Costumes and sets are brilliant and the cast is great, they all look to be enjoying themselves! However, I do have to say the original book is better so read the book first and then watch the film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2010
I know it's had mixed reviews, but as someone who's read much Wodehouse BUT NOT this one, it largely won me over. It's clearly not trying to be the book on screen - it's an adaptation. And a very confident one at that. Knows how to enjoy itself, knows what's funny, totally unselfconscious, uses the medium with impressive skill. It's happy to confuse us, just like Wodehouse. Hardly puts a foot wrong. 4 and a half stars. I laughed. Many times. Just like when I read Wodehouse.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Not quite sure what Julian Fellows was getting at here with this, The film is supposedly set in PG Woodhouse ( actually based on a PG story) territory but in the future, but in the past, possibly Mr Fellows must have had a slight ego boost from the success of Downtown Abbey and written this? The cast led by Sam Rockwell, have done the best they can with it. The film seems dated, as if it was released in the 1980's ( perhaps that is what the company were going for?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
This is the first decent full-length feature film ever made from a P.G. Wodehouse novel. Remember now that Wodehouse is generally regarded as THE funniest writer ever to have written (not only my opinion, luminaries like Douglas Adams and Stephen Fry concur. For heaven's sake, Evelyn Waugh said Wodehouse was the best writer in the English language of their entire generation). Having gushed so effusively, however, it must be said that filming a Wodehouse novel is a daunting task. This is because a lot of his humour was contained in the narrative, so without an annoying voice-over you are cutting out a lot. The team who put this production together nailed it, however. The players are perfect - Frances O'Conner is a sublime Wodehouse pippin-worthy girl (surely the greatest compliment that can be paid to one of the gentle gender), Sam Rockwell is the ultimate rakish knut (Wodehouse's word for an unemployed young bounder generally getting up to trouble). Tom Wilkinson is his usual excellent self, and the Aunts (Wodehouse's greatest enemies) are, well, devestatingly aunt-like. Also spot the wonderful 'cameo's. Perhaps the best feature of the film, however, is the sets and other incidentals, this film may be the greatest celebration of 1930s art-deco and related style ever gifted to a dulled generation. The plot is brilliantly translated for the screen (although conservatives like myself might cavail at the greater sexual licence than Wodehouse might have liked). Altogether, this is a must-own cult classic, may the makers continue!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Great show, always like P G Wodehouse books made into films, all jumbled but at the end all works out well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Its a P. G. Wodehouse story and it was a talented enough cast, so the director has to be blamed for this production falling flat.

I didn't so much as raise a smile throughout. Which is pretty poor for a comedy. The plot is full of colourful characters, but they all came across as dull and uninteresting. I suspect that there needed to be less, better scripted, better directed scenes.

I would recommend this to no-one. Perhaps 2 Stars is generous.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2006
Piccadilly Jim is based on a P.G. Wodehouse book. It is set in London and New York in the 1930's but with a modern edge. In the nightclub scene, for example, Emiliana Torrini brilliantly sings the 1980's classic `Tainted Love' in a wonderful retro version arranged by Adrian Johnston. On paper it sounds weird, but the decision was a stroke of genius and it really works. The film is worth the money for this scene alone.

The plot revolves around Sam Rockwell and his attempts to woo Frances O'Connor, both of whom give fine performances. Geoffrey Palmer gives a solid, believable, performance as the butler.

The film is beautifully shot and lit and I am sorry to only give it 3 stars. Some of the minor characters are too caricatured and sporting extreme hairstyles, with the result that the viewer can't engage with them. I realise that it is light comedy, but comedy works best when you can connect with what you are watching. The various minor characters and sub-plots are all squeezed into the 90 minutes, with the result that the viewer doesn't have time to get immersed and involved.

Re-cut the film to 110 minutes, add some extras to the DVD (e.g. interviews with the director John McKay and the adapter Julian Fellowes explaining their vision) and it could still achieve top marks.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
As a Wodehouse fan I can only say that I was utterly appalled by this grotesque bastardization of the great Man's work. I watched the entire DVD and can honestly say that, aside from the opening titles, I didn't enjoy a single moment. Why produce a film version of Wodehouse and then distort it and corrupt it until it is a vile, nightmarish caricature that is neither funny nor entertaining? I can't imagine how anybody who has not read the book could possible understand the plot. I don't think I have ever seen a worse film in fact!

If you love Wodehouse you will almost certainly loath this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Highly recommended but disappointing--silly and not that well produced. Wouldn't recommend it myself and certainly wouldn't buy it again or give as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Dated not a film I could recommend but ok for a wet Winter afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse