Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
193
4.0 out of 5 stars
The Constant Gardener [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 May 2006
If you have read the excellent book 'Constant Gardener' this film will prove to be extremely unsatisfactory. The plot has been altered to suit what the film makers obviously consider to be a required ending with a 'BADDIE'. The subtlety of the diplomatic situation in Africa is lost. I enjoyed and was informed by the book - the film was an extreme disappointment - although I did think the main actors were excellent.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Very moving film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2006
This film is stunning, amazing, heartbreaking. It should probably be compulsory viewing for everyone. The performances are flawless and the cinematography is very natural, not stagey and hollywood driven at all. Most of all, the film has a meaningfulness and a political spine that is almost entirely absent from popular cinema these days.

The only word of warning I have about it, is to tell you that I had to stop the film at one point while I broke down crying.

Don't hesitate to add this to your watch list.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
a great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Don't know why people are moaning about this film, we watched it last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, there will always be 'mistakes' in a film be it plot errors or accents or whatever that's because it's a film, it's not real life - geddit????.

Anyway, well worth a watch, an intelligent plot and well acted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2007
Throughout this film my mind swayed from one extreme to the other. Is this film good yes. Watch another 5 minutes, No its rubbish. My reasons for liking the film were numerous. These included Ralph Fiennes who was excellent and Rachel Weisz who was certainly very good. I liked how Fiennes sticks to his guns and how his love for his wife was all consuming. His English gentleman performance is well paced and really well done. Weisz plays a woman determined to get to the truth. Her journalistic nouse for a cover up soon lead her to be in mortal danger. When she is disposed of Fiennes does not rip off his shirt, grab a semi automatic weapon and go on a blood thirsty rampage but he does what he can do to carry on her work. I suppose this is where I get a bit bothered. It appears to take Fiennes 2 minutes to work everything out and expose the evil corporation and its nasty ploy in Africa where as Weisz after all that time is still dithering about. Its always 'I'm going to expose them very soon' when you know she will never get the chance because she's going to get killed! However, this film is ok but I personally don't think its anything clever or requires any thought to work it out. Its just an average movie which is worth a look.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2006
This film is well worth watching, very well acted with a strong storyline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2006
It is faults like these that just annoys me enourmously. Get the accents right or don't do it at all. Afrikaner accent does NOT sound like a mixture of the Scottish, Dutch and black accents. Please...

And why do they have to shake the camera around all the time?? No, it is not effective. It is not cool. It is not trendy. It gives the audience a headache.

And if I have to see another film with British people trying to be heroes in Africa, I'll lose it.

Complete waste of time, this film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)