Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
80
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Chronic
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 February 2003
If you like old skool g-funk, this is where it all started. This album introduces some of the best rappers in the business to the big stage, RBX, Snoop, Kurupt, and the lady of rage among others. This album is way before its time, so if you like artists such as Snoop, ice cube and LA gangsta rap, if you don't already have this, go out and buy the damn thing, you WILL NOT be disappointed! Contains classic g-funk bangers like nuthin but a G thang, Dre day, stranded on death row and lyrical gangbang. I can't believe no-ones done a review on this, coz it needs to be known how good this is. So go out and buy it rap fans...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Arrived on time and good service from Amazon - it stops there.

The Vinyl plays okay - but there is visible damage on the Vinyl sleeve, but no damage to the shipping box/cardboard box, which leads me to believe that something has happened to it before transport. Surely I cannot blame them? maybe. Although I am not a collector of Vinyl I'm sure if a collector did receive this in the state it was in they would double check that they did not accidentally order a second-hand Vinyl. If it wasn't for the shrink wrap on the case I would have done the same.

Another criticism I have with the particular packaging that Death row (although I'm not sure who does the re-prints now) use is that they fit 2 LP vinyl "discs" into a single fitting sleeve - which can cause compression and quality degradation in anything higher than room temperature due to the "squeezing" that occurs. And also the paper insert/sleeved that they use for each LP is very cheap stuff. When I first pulled the Vinyl out the sleeve there was LOTS of small white paper bits, and thousands of a lot smaller paper follicles. This is something that only a liquid bath would get rid of - plus there is a considerable amount of static to the vinyl - also most likely caused by the type of paper they used.

I'd suggest only buying this is you are anything more than a novice because you are inevitably going to have to clean the vinyl with water to remove all that noise caused by the paper bits - and please replace the inserts with polyvinyl sleeves to prevent it from ever happening again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2001
this album blasted Snoop Dogg into the rap scene and proved that Dre could still make the beats and produce the goods without Eazy E and NWA. Nuthin but a G thing is one of the best songs i have ever heard its first line is true brilliance" 1 2 3 and to the 4 Snoop Doggy dogg and Dr Dre is at your door" "let me ride" and "Wit Dre day" are just as good as this and the whole album proves the one thing everyone knew. Dre is the best producer on the mic. You have to have this album not only for Dre but for the sheer quality Snoop doggy dogg throws up on his debut.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
An immaculate album that emphasises the beats and lyrics that revolutionised West coast rap.This is far superior to '2001' and is on a level with both classic NWA lp's, whilst Snoop's rhyming throughout the album is his best! Dre's production as on this album will probably never be equalled, it is just a shame it was before 2pac's time on the greatest and most influencial of contemporary record labels(Death Row),as his presence may well have enhanced this album further.....if possible!!!
Tracks to look for are 'nuttin but a g thang', 'lil ghetto boy', 'let me ride' and 'f*ck wit dre day'......BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
As an old white English man from North Yorkshire, I love this Album. john Peel first introduced me to RAP and Hip-Hop in the mid 80's. At first I thought, this style of music is rubbish and repetitive. How wrong I was, NWA blow me away, Dr Dre took me to the next level.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
Ok. I am a hip hop fan and this album is ..... wicked. If you are thinking about buying it, stop thinking and just go and buy it. Its a couple of years old but, yo, the tracks are proper dope. It's not typical hip hop, its more of a mix of rap, soul funk and old skool but dre and snoop kill it on the album. Snoop is up Dr Dre's ass as he is featured on every track but he drops enuff dope lyrics on the whole album. The Intro is just gangsta-when u buy it, turn the volume up and blast the first track - it is proper ghetto gangsta ..... My fav bit on all of the album is 'A Nigga Witta Gun' when Snoop Dogg drops a verse at the end - 'BLAM BLAM, BLAM TO THE FALL, LISTEN TO THE SHOTS FROM A NIGGA DOGGY DOGG, ETC ETC. But overall most of the tracks are pretty good and I like all of them. But dont expect a host of modern jingles featuring Eminem cos the album was released in like 93, but dont let that put you off, the album is still standing and is still a number one classic hip hop cd. buy it! Compton style!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
Dre's album is a superbly crafted and linguistically inspired piece of 90s rap. With the help of other gangsta rappers, most notably Snoop Doggy Dogg, Dre's tunes demand a convertible car and a big pumping stereo. Lay back and chill with some of the dopest beats yet. Quite simply a timeless classic that outclasses virtually every other rap record, including Chronic 2001. Dre will inspire you to move to LA, wear gold chains, gather bags of chronic, and chill with various 'women-folk'. Respek.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
Well a truely great hiphop album.Nearly every song is brilliant,the best though are wit dre day (and everybodys celebratin)let me ride,nuthin but a g thang and rat-tat-tat-tat.it is full of kool background music and realy ace lyrics.He has many good rappers on aswell like snoop dogg,nate dogg,and rbx.A truely great hip-hop album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
For many, this is the best Hip-Hop album of it's era. For me, this is just a fantastic record.
Although it isn't as influential as people think it is, each track is a classic. Dr. Dre is a genius, perhaps only rivalled by RZA when it comes to Hip-Hop production. His low-key funk samples suited his artists perfectly and whilst Dr. Dre's raps are usually below average, his beats make up for it.
Every track is as worthy as the next, and if this isn't already a part of your collection, I suggest you buy it immediately.
It may not be the best Hip-Hop album of all-time (as many Rock publications made it out to be), but it is certainly a 5-star record, and one worthy of your attention.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
This is the best Hip Hop Cd ever, i mean EVER! this album proves Dre is a true genius, by unleashing Snoop on us, giving us one of the best hip hop songs ever (nuthin' but a g thang), and starting the whole G funk thing. This surpasses any of his earlier work with NWA, this is a stone cold hip-hop landmark. of all the albums i have, this is the one i have listened to most, it's never out of my Cd player. well enough of me talking about it, what are u waiting for? Hurry up and buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)