Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
154
4.5 out of 5 stars
Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£39.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 August 2017
What a funny, off-beat film, filled with casual comedy violence and stylish gangsters.
If you are a fantasy martial arts fan this will appeal.

This film also has some of the closed in feel of the film "Delicatessen", being set (mainly) in a small block flats with the locals providing all the colour.

By way of a guide - Crouching Tiger (and all others in that genre) - I love, Jackie Chan (anything) - I love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Full of clever ideas and humour, this is not your typical crash bang wallop kung fu nonsense. Well, it is. But it really isn't. Trust me. Get the version with subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
great funny film for week end watch. Good Value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Love this movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
A real hoot - you certainly understand the Tongs not venturing into Pig Sty Alley - great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Wonderful tale of a china that never was. An enlightened fairy tale that kicks butt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I love it. best items on sale depending on what reason you want it. A very good item to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
Being a chow fan myself, I must say this is by far the best work he's done. I was absolutely captivated and immediately at home in this very foreign place. This film is so strangely retro and yet tangible. Stephen Chow's name has been around the Chinese cinema for more than twenty years. His special style of dry humor is not only known but also recognized by Chinese viewers as his trademark and uniqueness. It's only until recently with the release of Shaolin soccer did people around the world started to take notice of this Asian pop icon. But when we thought it couldn't get any better, he surprised us with this masterpiece, Kung Fu Hustle. I have never laughed so hard, yet come away feeling as if I had been uplifted.

The effects are fierce, and yet organic. The characters are strong, vivid and effective. The imagery and magic of the story and scenery and amazing overwhelmingly inspired soundtrack blend. It's like this film picks you up and never puts you down, doesn't miss a beat, and never spends a fraction of a second too long in any one spot.

Viewers will find themselves drawn into the fantasy world of Kung Fu with funny, fascinating characters that blow people's mind away. References to Forrest Gump, The Matrix, Silence of the Lambs, traditional Chinese Woosha novels can be found in many scenes. I also find myself laughing so hard in several parts. Most of the jokes are easy to understand for they are usually short phrases or body movements. This allows general audiences around the world to get pass the cultural or language barrier and enjoy the atmosphere it's creating. The action scenes are also visually stunning according to the design by famous action designer Yuen Ho Ping (Responsible for Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and The Matrix trilogy). But being a Kung Fu watcher, I personally thought it would've been even more superior with less CGI.

Overall I give it 5 stars. It's probably the most entertaining Chinese film to date. This one will sure save a spot for Steven Chow in the history of Asian cinema.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
Kung fu hustle is a fabulous whirlwind of action. The characters are inspired and very over the top, the fight scenes are mind blowing and many scenes in the film had me howling with laughter. If your after a film that has you gripped from beginning to end and either on the edge of your seat or rolling on the floor laughing Kung Fu Hustle's the one for you. If you love kung fu and having a laugh don't bother renting it, you'll want to watch it again and again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)