Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2006
This package is great. All 10 Star Trek movies are in very well designed ultrathin cases (each movie has it's own plastic box with artwork) and all housed within an attractive and sturdy outer box.
This is THE Star Trek boxed set to own - ignore the previous movie sets on DVD which didn't feature all the films, were missing extras and didn't have special edition anamorphic widescreen versions.
All films are presented in anamorphic widescreen with 5.1 surround and each of the 10 has a bonus extras disc - making this set 20 discs in all. Great value!
0Comment| 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2006
For those who don't already own the individual special editions of the 'Trek' films, this box set is the logical way to buy them. Each of the 10 films is a double disc edition, nicely packaged in individual slimline cases, in a sturdy box.

What a pity there is no booklet included to make this set that bit more 'special'. There is no information on any of the film cases stating the contents of the special features disc for each film. The only way to know is to load the disc into your machine and find the menu...

Otherwise, this is a great addition to the collection of anyone interested in Star Trek or bigscreen sci-fi. Each film is presented in widescreen format with good quality picture and sound. The films are as good ( or bad) as you remember them, and the price of the set is a bargain when you consider that there are 20 discs in all. This is the definitive collection of Trek films....
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2007
absolutely brilliant value.for a long time i wanted to own the 10 star trek film collection but the only way was to buy seperate copies of them.this is what i was waiting for all 10 in a collectors edition.2 disc editions on all the films.slim packaging so the hole box set is not to bulky.brilliant value and i would say if you like star trek in any way its a must have to your collection.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
This collection is worth every penny. The sounds and visuals are all fantastic with excellent renovations of Star Trek's I-V. Many of the DVD's contain audio commentaries brought to you by Directors and Actors etc. Star Trek 4 is blessed with excellent audio commentary by William Shatner (Kirk) and Leonard Nimoy (Spock/Director) giving you an amusing incite into the difficulties of filming in the centre of LA.
Behind the scenes featuretes are available on both Insurrection and of course Nemesis. All 10 DVD's are neatly folded away into what i consider to be a well crafted case. To my surprise you also get an individual batch number on the side.
I wanted a collection that really showed off what Star Trek is all about and i got more than i asked!!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2007
I had always wanted the entire collection of Star Trek films but saw no way to get them short of purchasing each one seperately. Then along came the full boxset.

The price is just right when you think about how much you get and how much it costs on rival DVD websites. Well worth getting it on Amazon.

The only grumble was the wait (about a month and a bit in the end), but this was only because of supply problems.

the boxset is very stylish and has a satisfying sterdiness to it. All the individual disks are well designed and slimline, clearly numbered and marked 'collectors edition'. the DVD extras are detailed and interesting.

All in all; a good buy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
Overall, this is a fantastic box set - the movies are presented here in a wonderful case with the original cover designs inside.
The movies are overall what you would expect from the Star Trek films. There are the "great" films (even numbers + 3) and the slightly sub-par but still watchable "good" films (rest of the odd numbers). Picture quality is generally great throughout (although why 4 is showing its age badly I have no idea).
There is just one slight problem I had - the lack of extras. The first 4 films are the straight from the "Directors cut" DVD's (retaining their insightful commentarys) - but their "second discs" are curiously missing. If you are that desperate for the behind the scenes aspects of these films, then you might wish to consider buying them seperately. (9 and 10 have a small amount of 'extras')
It remains good value for money - and a very worthwhile buy for Star Trek fans.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2004
As someone who owns all the Star Trek boxsets that have been released so far, this box set is a good one. All the movies in neat packaging (my star trek collection is taking over so this is useful!). The only thing against it is there are no extras on the DVDs which you can get if you buy the films separately - but the original cast movies have extra scenes as they are directors cuts, so that is groovy. Its much cheaper to get the set like this, so if you're a trekkie, I'd go for this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
Put simply, this collection is the only way to have all ten original Star Trek movies in their special or director's cut editions without having to track them down and pay for them individually. Compared to the more recent boxset which comes in both DVD and Blu Ray, this older collection really puts it to shame. That box contains only the theatrical releases of the films, and minimal extras. This collection on the other hand has two disks for each film as opposed to one, with director's cuts and extended home video versions of the actual films, and roughly 4 hours of documentaries and interviews for each film, as well as some great audio commentary tracks with the likes of Bill Shatner and Nicholas Meyer. The special director's cut of the first film, Star Trek The Motion Picture alone makes this worth finding, as the new effects footage and tighter editing improve the repeat viewing potential immensely over the original, somewhat plodding and ponderous theatrical cut. The director's cuts of Wrath of Khan and The Undiscovered Country aren't as crucially improving of the films, but offer an interesting expansion of some of the lesser plotlines and character development, and generally add some interesting new insights into events in the film for diehard fans. These versions of the films are unlikely ever to be released again, as the new footage was created only in standard definition and cannot be converted to a HD or Blu Ray release... the value of this set therefore cannot be overestimated. For those concerned about picture quality on their LCD tellys, if you have a good upscaling DVD player or Blu Ray player, these still look incredible anyway. I played them on my Sony Blu Ray upscaled through HDMI, and it's impossible to find fault with the picture. If you care enough about Star Trek you will definitely want to put in the extra time and effort, and pay the difference to find this collection rather than settle for the neutered newer offering. And now is the time to do so, before it either disappears or becomes ridiculously overpriced through rarity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2003
Having just finished watching all 10 films in order, this is excellent stuff. I really enjoyed watching these films at the cinema (I missed no.5 though) and having watched them again, the best ones are numbers 2 (Wrath of Khan), 10 (Nemesis) and 7 (First Contact), in that order, in my opinion. I must agree that the lack of special features is a downer but for about £8 a film you cannot argue.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2007
For some time now i have being trying to get hold of this collection as i only had the motion picture directors edition when it came out also it looks as if it's been worth the wait as i checked in HMV recently and they are selling it for £[...] so it well worth the amazon price it will be great to finally enjoy the films the way they were always meant to be enjoyed in 5.1 dolby surround so when i get this set i will be sitting down and relaxing for a couple of weeks while i go through it so that i can prepare for when the new film is released next year

in the words of Captain Jon Luc Picard Make it so!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse