Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
129
4.0 out of 5 stars
Zippo Fuel Canister  - Aluminum
Price:£11.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 October 2017
Filled with fuel and after a week carrying around, no contents had been lost. Ideal to pack if away for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
This is a very useful little gadget. I keep mine with me at all times. The quality is excellent and delivery was fast and efficient. The price was very reasonable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Brought for husband and brother in law they love them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Simple, doesn't leak, but can be rather hard to open and refill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Prefect gift!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
The point of this item is to keep spare fuel for when you need it. This item lost all the fluid in under a week. Total peice of junk, now in the bin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 May 2013
Despite the reviews mentioning this canister being large, I don't think I really comprehended just how big it would be. I have uploaded some images with a ruler to demonstrate the size. Despite the size I am still pleased with this.

I use 2 of these to top up my hand warmers when away and the fuel is the right amount to fill up both. When filling up the breather holes do their job and allow a smooth clean flow. These canisters are an ideal top-up size without the need of taking an entire can of the stuff on a trip. I don't think that it is really practical to carry one of these as a key ring and fortunately I don't need to.

It is very well made and the seals are good enough to prevent leakage. The housing is thick enough that I feel confident it would survive a lorry driving over it or a drop from a great height without fracturing. I would advise being careful when unscrewing the main key ring cap and the nozzle cover as you could inadvertently loosen the nozzle on main canister.

I can't mark it down for the size as this is designed to hold sufficient fuel for 1 hand warmer - well maybe half a mark, I think there is space to be saved without compromising safety. I am also taking off half a mark for the cluttered top end of the key-ring (although easily remedied)

Reasonable price, well engineered, robust and good quality materials that you would expect from Zippo.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 August 2011
Like much of the male population, I like making fire, and I especially like making it with a Zippo lighter (by that I obviously mean I like using a Zippo to make fire with, not getting "jiggy" with one, so no crass comments please), but even I have to admit that the way they haemorrhage fuel is annoying. You fill up your Zippo, put it away for a few weeks and in that time the fluid has all but disappeared. You would think that Zippo would have found a way to seal their lighters so that the fuel doesn't evaporate so quickly, but maybe they have a good reason for not having done it.

Well, partly in answer to that it seems that Zippo have indeed tried to solve the problem, not by going down the obvious route of sealing their lighters better, but by making this canister. A cylindrical tube about the size of an average thumb, the canister comes in 3 parts - the fuel-holding base, a screw-on dispensing nozzle, a screw-on nozzle cap and a screw-on top that covers the nozzle and cap and seals everything in. The whole item is made from aluminium and the nozzle and nozzle cap each have a rubber washer to prevent fuel leakage; I also like the idea of having both a nozzle cap and a top, which combined make the prospect of fuel getting out and into your trouser pocket much less likely.

The canister's aluminium is surprisingly thick so, unless you're particularly rough, superficial damage is all you're likely to ever do to it. And apart from the inevitable minor scratches that it comes with from the factory, the only other negative point about the look of the canister is the single `Zippo' transfer on the side that tells you who made it. Maybe Zippo hope that (like their lighters) this canister will be easily recognisable so more permanent branding isn't necessary, but I think we're a long way from this becoming the style icon that their lighters are. It's a non-point, really, but worth mentioning for the benefit of brand-junkies.

To fill the canister up, you unscrew the top, nozzle cap and nozzle, which allows access to the base inner, in to which you pour fuel directly from a can. It holds enough liquid to fill my Zippo without flooding it, and a second hole in the nozzle top lets air in as fuel comes out, so the canister empties quickly, but sometimes only after a little shaking. A lobster clasp is attached to the canister's top for easy attachment to your key-ring, but whether you'd want to leave it there is debatable as the aluminium body, while tough, is quite easily scratched, so your keys would certainly do it some (at least visual) damage. Zippo have included a small aluminium token on the chain which you can use to undo your lighter's flint screw, and a small rubber holder for spare flints but unfortunately no space in any part of the canister for spare wicks, so this is two-thirds refuelling device and only one-third Zippo maintenance kit.

I think that this item would appeal to anyone who uses their Zippo irregularly and who finds the evaporation of fuel from it to be a problem. It does mean having yet another thing to remember taking with you, unless you're happy to have it hanging from your key-ring that is, but this is one of those instances where the product really does do what it says on the proverbial tin. If you're in the market for a small canister to hold extra fuel for your Zippo or other brand lighter, then this is probably as good a solution as you'll find.
22 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)