Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2006
The very first episode on this two disc set could have been the title for the show during its long run on tv;The Generation Gap.Couple that title with a battle of the sexes and you have Bless this house in all its glory!
Sid is the head of the household master of his own castle in all but reality.Married to Jean who always seemed to come out on top,they have two children Mike and Sally born of the modern world they just leave Sid at a loss with life.
Although 35 years old this comedy still hits the mark (just take a look at the series My Family)
If you want a night in and a good laugh treat yourself to Bless this House.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
I have bought all the other instalments of this sit com because it brings back memory's of my teenage years Sidney James made this TV series near the end of his career in my opinion it is the best and he fits in well with the rest of the cast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
I love sitcoms; and I'm a bit of a classic sitcom connoisseur, and there have certainly been some great ones. "Bless This House", if the first series is anything to go by, is right up there with the greatest. The plots are genuinely funny, so is the production and, above all, the cast. You can warm to them as if they're your own family, and this, combined with laughing at some of the truly hilarious situations until your sides ache, makes for a real tonic - an antidote to the depressing realities of life. This is feel-good-factor television at its best.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
This DVD brought back memories when I found it, I was actually looking for something from my to past to watch. This was a great find and definitely a good laugh. No dowt I shall be buying more in the series as there is a certain something about these stars which makes the episodes more real in the way they react to each other. I thoroughly recommend this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
A marvellous 2 disc DVD setof one of the most popular of 70s sitcoms (if you are not already aware, all episodes on the first disc are in black and white, all on the second disc are in colour).
There are some really very funny lines shared between a very good cast (Sid James and Diane Coupland are just brilliant in this series).
Sid plays a man who struggles to understand why his son looks and dresses the way he does, frets about his daughter and loves a pint down the Hare and Hounds - he's a family man and he loves it (even though he moans about it all the time).
I always used to love this programme when I was younger but now I am a middle aged dad myself, the lines and the gags seem to reflect my life more than ever !
Anyway, 12 epsiodes for just over nine quid is pretty good.I particularly love the episode where Sid thinks he's going to become a Dad again and also the one with the new neighbours - and good old Patsy Rowlands is marvellous as the woman next door in another epsiode. It's a basic package and doesn't have extras or special features but then I always wonder how much they actually add. All in all, a real treat- my daughters (at 8 and 14) have happily sat and giggled along with me watching this, so that's a bit of a recommendation in itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2007
Series one starts in black and white (due to an industrial dispute!) but the transfer to DVD is remarkably good for the age of the program - only one part of one episode had signs of deterioration in the original recording.
Be sure to rewind after the Thames intro starts each episode to watch the intro stop watch- after ep 2 there is a soundtrack too, including a lovely comment from Sid James.
Based on a 2+2 family, this early 70's show manages to be generally liberal with Sid playing the struggling reactionary, with a refreshing (for its time) treatment of sexuality. Sally Geeson is remarkably effective playing a character some five years her junior and manages a lovely sweet innocence.
This is a gentler humour than is current, and is certified for family viewing. Perhaps a little slow for some - for all practical purposes it was shot in long takes using multiple cameras with little later editing- but all the better to catch the finer nuances.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
It was great 70s tv .. good cast - especially sid james. For me, it still works now. Only downside: some of the episodes are in black and white, because of a technicians dispute .... did they realise that their strike would still have an impact all these years on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Enjoyed this very much. The first 7 episodes are in black and white due to a technician strike back in 1971. This didn't really spoil things though as it meant seeing the colour episodes with extra appreciation. Yes, maybe a bit dated now but that gave it extra charm. A trip back in time to a less complicated world. Liked it so much, got the second series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
great early seventies..starring the late carry on star...sid james...very innocent
and easy going days compared to today's world...where life is always stressful..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
This set arrived the other day to complete my first 3 series.
Have yet to watch it, but expect the same high standard as the previous sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)