Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Getz/Gilberto
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 December 2015
One of my all time favourites. I have this on vinyl and recently purchased the Sacd version, which is very good indeed - 2 chan stereo.
My Sacd version arrived and it contains 2 Sacd cd's, both exactly the same recordings. Odd. Anyone else had 2 discs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2017
I love this, and always did love it when I had a copy on good old-fashioned tape. Having this again on CD is lovely. Smooth but not cloying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Great cd, good price, quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2017
Always a fantastic CD to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
good album received with thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Boy, how much do I love this album. The very best of bossa nova jazz, transporting you to sunny shores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Great sound - great mood!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 October 2008
Antonio Carlos Jobim goes down with Lennon/McCartney, Gershwin, Amstrong as one of the most influential songwriter/stylists of the 20th century.

To judge the album on its own merits is one thing. Getz turns in small but perfectly formed solos. Astrid Gilberto's voice is ravishing, complementing husband Joao's voice with that incredibly restrained vulnerability that is the essence of Bossa. It is an album of incredible tenderness and instrospection. The studio atmosphere is very intimate with an almost homespun quality. For me its a five star album in its own right.

However, this album has a far larger significance, in the way that Sargeant Pepper did. It changed everything and set off ripples that are still reverberating today.

Each of these songs have been covered thousands of times by thousands of artists and continue to be a top staple for jazz as its played all over the world. They have spilled over from jazz into other mediums. They introduced the wider world to the music of Brazil. Arguably the earlier Getz/Byrd, album put Brazil on the wider musical map but it was this album that exposed it in all its exotic glory.

Brazil is a land in which there are as many genres of music as there are in the rest of the world put together. The influence of Jobim and Bossa and their quintessence as captured in these songs, on this album, continues to be a point of departure and return for any number of musical offshoots in their home country, and beyond, to this very day.

From a musicological point of view the impact of this album is unprecedented. There is no other album which has so vividly alerted such a huge proportion of the world to what was going on in a previously little known lesser part of the world, the repercussions of which are still playing out, with vivacity and freshness, almost fifty years later.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This edition of the famous Getz/Gilberto album is being confused with other editions, so most of the reviews listed are only partially relevant.
This review relates to the K2HD edition, released in 2009, and is definitely not SACD format, as some reviewers have stated.

Amazon UK & US list an SACD edition produced by Analogue Productions, which was released in 2012. So when you see reviews written in 1998 supposedly reviewing the Analogue Productions SACD edition, as well as this K2HD edition, confusion is inevitable. I just wish that Amazon exercised a little more care over such matters.

I have the original vinyl album and find that the K2HD edition compares very favourably. I have not yet heard the SACD edition and would be interested to know how it compares to the K2HD version.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)