Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2016
Those who know the more recent adaptations will be shocked at the 'poor' special effects employed in this BBC version from the pre-CGI era.

However, in its defence one has to note that the BBC stayed far truer to the plot of the original and to the language used by CS Lewis for the dialogue.

The worst aspect I have to say is the sound. It is very hard to hear the dialogue at times, either due to poor recording in outside broadcast settings or due to the actors being drowned out by the soundtrack. I wish that the Beeb had done something about this before selling this DVD package.

Despite the age of this series my daughter (now 7) has really enjoyed watching them. The storytelling still stands up and that's important.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Great box set fantastic fantasy,seen them all before but had to buy them for my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Great. Thank. You
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Bought for Grandchildren. They are currently enjoying the films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Why anyone would call this a collectors item is beyond me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
Watching these wonderful series again just takes me back to Sunday afternoons in my childhood!
Even now, surrounded by the CGI world of movies where stunning effects are everything, I was still impressed and delighted watching this set of the BBC series again. As the new movie shows, the mythical creatures are created by CGI to look as real and 3D as possible. In the BBC version they have combined cartoon animation for the creatures, mixed in with the actors. BUT, this all adds to the beauty of it and still works very well and is pleasant on the eye.
The children actors for the most part are very good, the costumes are excellent and the thing I was still in awe of was Aslan! I'd forgotten what an amazing piece of design he was!! In "The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe", the White Witch is just so evil, a baddie in the time when baddies really DID look evil and had the right cackle! Yes, some of the scenes are simplistic and occasionally wooden in the acting stakes, but it all adds to the nostalgia and magic somehow.
This DVD box set is a beautiful set, with clear menus to navigate. The Special Features disc is a great bonus; it was nice to see the actors together again in the 2003 Interview, and hear what they'd been up to. There are also behind-the-scenes featurettes from various TV progs from the time etc.
The transfer to DVD has been excellent. This is a set all the family can enjoy again and again. BRILLIANT!!
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Do not buy this if live in the UK as it does not work. I have two very disappointed grandsons who settled down to watch it last night.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Disappointed, thought this was the film versions NOT a bbc series. I should have looked closer!!
Haven't watched them.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse