Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2017
Fascinating, dramatizations of important archeological achievements. I was totally engaged and enjoyed the productions entirely. Great casting, fine performances. Great music in the background, wonderful photography and breathtaking scenes. I wish they had these when I was in school studying History. It makes it come alive and I was motivated to learn more. If you enjoy Ancient History, this is tailored for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
I love this series - glad I saw it on the telly first or I'd never have known it existed and the DVD collection is great with the bonus DVD if Pyramid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
It's a gift, i am sure she will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Fantastic!
If u love ancient Egypt buy this!!
You wont be disappointed:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Very good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Excellent very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
This is an excellent set for Egytology enthusiasts, offering on the first two discs
1. a two-show account of Howard Carter's discovery of Tutankhamun's tomb,
2. a two-show account of the work of Belzoni (about whom there is little attention elsewhere) and
3. a two-show account of the discovery of the meaning hieroglyphs by Champollion (dramatically, the high point).
It is easy to criticise the woeful acting and the cliched script, but actually these shows are probably better than previous docu-drama efforts on the same subjects. However, the shows are beautifully filmed, special effects are excellent and the BBC clearly spent a few bob on reconstructing means of transport, housing, and others bits and pieces. These shows are also excellent for education purposes - students in secondary education would be interested, even captivated, and amused by these programmes.
4. There is also the BBC's account of the building of Khufu's pyramid at Giza from the perspective of a fictional ancient Egyptian. I hated this show when I first saw it, but warmed to it when watching the DVD recently. It explains a lot, the special effects are excellent and the twee acting, and indulgent scripting, are less detracting.
The other bits and pieces (the extras) don't add to much, but overall the 3-disc set is excellent value for money.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 March 2007
This documentary series for the BBC focuses on three of the most important men in Egyptology, their discoveries and their troubles. The first two episodes follow Howard Carter's discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun. Carter is played brilliantly by Stuart Graham as is Lord Carnarvon by Julian Wadham. There are a couple of liberties taken with events, such as Carnarvon contracting malaria in the tomb rather than on a cruise down the Nile as actually happened, but these are generally minor things that do not distract from the quality of the documentary.

Episodes three and four are about Giovanni Belzoni the former circus strongman who went on to collect antiquities for the British in Egypt. These episode were fascinating because I new little about Belzoni prior to watching it. As well as this Matthew Kelly was brilliant in the lead role. Having only previously seen him on Stars in Their Eyes, I had never realised he was such a talented actor.

The final two episodes of the series follow Jean-Francois Champollion in his race to decipher hieroglyphics. Champollion is again very well played, this time by Elliot Cowan who gets the character just right.

This box set also includes a bonus documentary in the form of Pyramid, a documentary about the building of the Great Pyramid of Giza. Although older than the other documentaries in the box set, it is still generally up-to-date with the current theories about the construction of this wonder of the world. Overall all the documentaries in this box set are brilliantly cast, well acted and expertly researched. Anyone interested in Egyptology should see these DVDs.
0Comment| 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2006
I very much enjoyed this series – it’s the kind of thing that the BBC does so well and very few other broadcasters around the world can attempt: a mixture entertainment and education that doesn’t patronise. I learned a great deal from the series – particularly from the marvellous final two episodes on the race to translate hieroglyphs, something I knew nothing at all about. I was surprised and delighted that there was a bonus disk with this set but I wonder whether the BBC was caught out by the success of the series. I would love to have seen a “Making Of” documentary, given the newspaper stories of what a struggle it was to film in the harsh Egyptian summer. Despite that omission I would give this DVD set top marks – it’s something I will watch again, and my children will no doubt watch for their Egyptian history projects at school. In the immortal words so often heard on Points of View: “Well done, BBC. More please!”
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
This fantastic series from the BBC about the archaeological breakthroughs made in Egypt by the British, French and Italians. The series is done recreatively or re-enacted by actors and scripted dialogue.

The series consist's of six episodes. The first two episodes with Howard Carter's discovery of the tomb and treasure of Pharoah Tutankhamun. Episodes three and four look at the discoveries of ex Italian Circus showman Giovanni Belzoni.
The final two episodes chart the work of Jean-François Champollion and his work on deciphering Hieroglyphs on the Rossetta Stone.

The only disappointment for me was the acting and script which was a bit wooden which is why I awarded this four stars. But saying that the content and production is great.

As a special feature the series also contains the excellent BBC special Pyramid which narrated by Omar Sharif dramatises the construction of the Great Pyramid of Khufu.

Altogether an excellent DVD series and with the Pyramid special on top very good value for money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)