Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
191
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2006
An oft-forgotten gem of Ronnie Barker's. Several times I had to stop the playback until I stopped laughing so much! My own eyesight is still fortunately good, but I shall not mind making reference to bits from Clarence when it gets defective. (I am disabled - one leg - and know many others who are in various ways, and we don't have a problem with our sense of humour).

I think the best bits are when he sits on his old WW1 helmet spike and thinks it was a bee, and when he boils the china dummy egg.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2005
With all the problems in the World, I really can't imagine why people get so upset at such stupid things. This is really a delight to watch, in the same vein as Last Of The Summer Wine, just a very mellow sweet show. Can you imagine criticising Dad's Army for it's portrayel of the elderly or Open All Hours for the speech impaired? Good grief!
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
Ronnie Barker has the ability to see humour and fun in almost any situation, and this comes across in droves in Clarence. He will be sorely missed by those that can accept their own failings and still laugh at ourselves, even if in doing so, we are being politically incorrect!

To the reviewer who thinks it is a case of making fun at someone elses misfortune - you missed the point entirely, go get your head out of your backside and get a life!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
This is the series that doesnt get written about - but it is absolutely brilliant. It had me in stitches watching it and it definitely is one to get and keep.
Shame this was the last sit-com he did.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ronnie Barker stars in this very funny comedy series about a short sighted removals man who sets up home with an out of work parlourmaid.
Clarence Sale, a middle aged, self employed removals man is very clumsy. This doesn't put him off in anyway. He meets Jane Travers on Coronation Day 1937.
They go back to his flat for some Fish and Chips. Then they begin a gentle romance. And this gets more serious as they move out to the countryside and live in a run down cottage that Jane has inherited from her aunt.
Clarence gets into all sorts of comical problems through his poor eyesight and this pharsical and gentle comedy is one with great atmosphere.
The 1930s period element gives a quant and warm ambience that is hard not to like.
Clarence tries to bed Jane who is very propper but is secretly flattered.
Clarence will probably never be repeated on TV because of upsetting the polictically correct. The idea of laughing at someone that is clumsy because of being short sighted may not appeal to some people. So this DVD maybe the only way to ever see the series.
The whole series has one developing story that has a sort of a conclusion. In one way it's a shame there wasn't another series, and I do feel there was scope for it. But in another way this is a sweet little series that is probably best left wanting more.
The DVD release of the complete series is a joy from beginiing to end.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
04:10:2005
There is a saying that many are called and few are chosen. In light of the recent demise Of Mr Barker, I would like to say thank you for all the fun and enjoyment you have given to me over the years.
A new generation will laugh at your wit and wisdom and I hope that where ever he is he brings laughter and mirth.
A brilliant series as good as Open All Hours And Porridge and with a pedigree like that do I need to say anymore !
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2007
Yet again Ronnie Barker proves he is the King of BRITISH Comedy!

Clarence is and was a fantastic tongue in cheek portrayal of someone with failing eyesight and hearing, my grandmother was blind and found this hilarious, as those who know not to take themselves seriously would do!

To take a programme like this and describe it as "others making fun of disabilities" is taking things too far, if most people were that easily offended, they wouldn't read, watch or listen to anything, and most disabled people laugh at themselves and others anyway!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
This is basically the story of a 'blind as a bat' furniture removal man - in search of a woman.
I remembered this show from way back as quite funny.
On watching it again I still chuckled at parts - I'm a specs wearer myself, so smiling at
Clarence's talking to a standard lamp wasn't being unkind. That mixed up with some very
juvenile leering at Josephine Tewson and poor double entendres is the level of the humour.
Ronnie Barker was a very funny man and his delivery made very little amusing, but the script wasn't really
worthy of him.
As a show it hasn't really held up and worn well, unlike Porridge.
It will give you a mild giggle, if you don't mind it being dated, but not one of the all time greats.
It's is a cheap DVD and you will get your money's worth.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
This is a comedy great. The brilliant Ronnie Barker in his last production paired with Josephine Tewson makes for a laugh a minute. Shame he only did six episodes. Pity there are'nt more comedy actors like him now.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I bought this having never seen it before and loved it.A really sweet little comedy series.Attention to period detail is great and the acting is excellent.Only 6 episodes at half an hour each - i wish it was longer.This is a feel good family comedy which is something sadly missing from todays T.V.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)