Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
28
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2005
I saw the tv ad for this and thought i would try it as i love Top Gear. This is even better as clarkson goes even further than he does on TV. At one point he buys a brand new car and then procedes to smash it up outside the showroom.
The Stig is also in it and makes a brilliant arrival in a helicopter.
The cars are brilliant and i really love the crazy new TVR and the new baby Aston V8!!
All in all a great DVD for any clarkson fans out there!!!!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
I'm a big fan of top gear and caught most episodes this year. I think this is one of the main reasons I've given this DVD such a low rating. Its basically an hour an a quarter of wheel spins with cars you've already seen on top gear. It also features smashing up of rubbish cars in yet more old and unimaginative ways. Seriously, how many times can you see cars being demolished and still find it funny.
Its watered down Top gear. Its unoriginal, repetive, the script is stale and he constantly repeats comments he's already made in the tv series. You don't get the amusing rivalry and banter with co-hosts, no interesting off-the-wall features. Just jeremy driving sports cars over and over again, and then it ends. I was truely sick of Jeremy Clarksons voice droaning on by the end of the DVD... And this is from someone who is a big fan of clarkson, top gear and cars! Waste of money, don't bother!
0Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2005
This new Clarkson epic really rocks – as the main man takes a sledgehammer to a brand new car right outside the showroom where he bought it. He also turns a Renault Espace into a convertible, courtesy of a chainsaw. He drives some brilliant cars like the new baby Aston and the Ferrari 612. My favourite bit though is his drag race with The Stig in a corvette and TVR. This is a must for all Top gear fans.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2006
Clarkson is a motoring god... The man can make a Haynes manual sound interesting and his analogies on Top Gear often make be blurt whatever I am drinking at the time out of my nose, but Heaven & Hell leaves a lot to be desired.
The DVD runs for a paltry 72 minutes (~65 once all the music and other fluff is taken out) and is split approximately 70:30 between Heaven and Hell - the shockingly good and the absolutely awful of the motor industry - but there lies the problem with the DVD... It promised so much good stuff involving supercars and so much destruction of the hellions yet fails to deliver on both counts.
The Supercars are just paraded around as if they're on Top Gear with none of the wit, clever writing or set pieces seen in the show and the Perodua is the only 'Hell' car that even gets a proper send off - The Metro is hardly destroyed (instead, they get a stunt driver to recreate a scene from The Driver), the Toyota is just driven into a wall and two others just get involved in a head on shunt.
Basically, this is yet another disappointed venture by the number one motoring journalist when he attempts to do anything that doesn't specifically feature TG in the title... Just watch BBC 2 on Sundays at 8pm and save your money!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2005
More unseen Clarkson Burning rubber on the worlds best cars and coming up with some brilliantly creative ways to demolish scrap. :-)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
Got this for xmas and thought it was brilliant - all 72 minutes of it. Fantastic cars and great demolitions, especially the Perodua which is hammered to death, with a sledgehammer right outside the actual car showroom jezza bought it from.
Great action pieces on the Ferrari 612, the Enzo and the Aston V8.
And the Stig makes an appearance - what more could us Top Gear fans ask for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
If you are a regular viewer of BBC's Top Gear then I’m afraid that you may be a little disappointed with this DVD. Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy watching monstrously bad cars being Tortured and destroyed as much as the next bloke, but the rest of the DVD is just re-shot reviews of cars that have been on top gear and Clarkson repeating his comments.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
The DVD arrived on time and in perfect condition. All was well until I opened the case to discover the DVD and the DVD case were different. I bought "heaven and hell" but I got "super car showdown" the only redeeming feature is IT WAS CHEAP!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
Jeremy Clarkson is someone we as men should aspire to be like and this dvd shows this yet again. Its classic clarkson with his opinions and just the jezzmeister doing what he does best! A Must for all clarkson fans
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Paid a penny for this so can't complain. This is not one of Jez's better efforts. I think he must of made this to to pay his paper bill or something as it's never going to be a best seller. Brings the ex Stig in to help out but this fails in every way. I'm a real Top Gear addict so it gets 2 stars because of the pittance I paid for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)