Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2005
All the themes on the disc ARE ORIGINALS, despite previous reviews stating the contrary!! That said, most are not the up to date versions currently heard on ITV, but full original versions from earlier series of the programmes. It would have been good to have had some new stuff though, as all these themes have been released previously on other compilations.
Nevertheless, a good effort, and worth buying.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
Yes, ignore the negative review you've read. This album does contain the originals as mentioned in the other review. Most of them are the full (and often longer) version that you might not hear on the shows. If they've been reproduced on a kiddies £50 keyboard it's the best £50 kiddies keyboard i've heard being used! If you're into theme tunes or just want to relive memories of shows no longer on TV then this is for you! Some tunes may surprise you as i'd never heard the full 2 minute 36 second version of the Strike It Lucky theme tune. Go judge for yourself.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2008
got this on recommendations from the 2 out of 3 good reviewers that were here before. YES they ARE originals. even the "New adventures of black beauty" seems to be the exact same version as the earlier programmes. i must say though, on the 2nd cd, i didn't know most of the tunes coz they were very old, some even dating back to the 50's. but i loved "man about the house", the old itn news theme, Please Sir, and the world of sport, and tales of the unexpected.

i think people about 50 years old would get more out of this cd than somebody in their 30's to 40. However it is highly recommended for everything is original, and the long versions of the tunes are a revelation and a joy!!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Released in 2005 to commemorate 50 years of the commercial TV network, this 2 disc set gives you 50 of the most memorable themes from the preceding 5 decades.

It concentrates on classic shows rather than classic pieces of music, and a wide variety of great theme tunes that will drag up many memories can be found here. There is a slight preponderance for shows current in 2005 which I don't think will be regarded as future classic themes (Jericho, ITV's Marple), but for the main part the shows chosen are a wide range of different styles from the whole history of the channel. It contains original recordings, and the sound quality is pretty good. A highly enjoyable album in t's own right, but a decent slice of nostalgia at the same time. ITV 50: Cult Themes is an invaluable companion piece to this, with popular themes from cult ITV shows such as Thunderbirds.

4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Quite simply...Not worth the money here. Vast majority; if not all of them, have been released on previous TV Theme albums. This compilation looks like it was done in a real hurry ! A sheer disappointment ! The highlights of this two-disc set are, in my opinion, the superb Laurie Holloway 90s revamp of Play Your Cards Right and the original 80s version of Strike It Lucky by Paul Westwood plus the original Eric Spear 60s version of
Coronation Street and...that is it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
It took a lot of searching to find CD containing the original soundtracks for TV themes, but this one has just that. They are not all the best known shows, but enough of them are well know to more than justify the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
A great album of ITV Theme Tunes. Most of them are not on now but to listen to them is very nostalgic. In fact when I play them it reminds me how the years have gone bye: 1970's comedies, Man About The House, Please Sir, On The Buses, Doctor At Large : The House dramas of Bouquet of Barbed Wire, Van De Valk, Wagon Train to quiz shows Play Your Cards Right, Mr And Mrs , The Theme From New Faces, Sunday Night At The London Palladum although brought back on screen recently, Blind Date, London's Burning and many more:. as well as some favourite ones are missing you would expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
all the original tv themes on two discs- perfect for house parties/quizes- we had such a laugh palying name that tune at our house party
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Good selection of classic TV tunes and some surprises e.g. the full version of Strike It Lucky was excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
As advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)