Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2017
Excellent CD and service
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Fast service and cd is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
The greatest Lennon collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
A really fine compilation as it weaves together songs from different periods in Lennon's post -Beatle life.
The old favourites are there ,previously released on other compilation albums, interspaced with select album cuts.
Ending poignantly with the original Real Love and the tender Grow Old with Me. But four stars as it lacks most 1974 -5 output from Walls and Bridges, Menllove Ave. and nothing from Rock and Roll..And Meat City should be on it..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Great. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'd just like to direct this review mainly towards the negative reviewers who feel the need to be petulant and sarcastic. To get to the point, I've grown up listening to The Beatles and John Lennon's work. I'm 18, and have always admired the boys individual talents - most notably John and George. The reason I bought this album, like many other people, was because I wanted the majority of Lennons work (both the material we all know, companied by some I haven't heard in a long while) in just one album. Rather than buying a range of countless different albums for a selection of songs, this has all the ones I wanted one 2 discs.

What I like about the song selection is that it proves Lennon spread his work out equally - what made others hits from others was just how much they applied to society. As a Mersey lad myself, I find no better feeling that walking around the Albert Dock before Uni, and listening to 'Real Love' around the Pier-Masters house.

To sum up, I just can't say enough how dissapointed I am with the negative reviews. No-body asked these people to buy, or slate the album, so if they have the original CD's/LP's (of which few of us do) why bother making a nuisance? Top marks for the CD, top marks for Lennon of course!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
This is easily the best 'solo' lennon compilation available to date. The track selection is excellent and draws from most of the solo albums. The running order is not chronological, which makes the listening more interesting. Personally, I would have left off certain posthumously released tracks to include more from Imagine, Plastic ono Band, and 'Rock and Roll', Strangely there's nothing included from 'Live Peace in Toronto 1969'.

Apart from the well known classic songs, highlights for me include the George Martin produced ' Grow Old with Me'- which is painfully beautiful and extremely moving...and tracks from Walls and Bridges (an album i didnt like upon first release)...hearing the remastered 'scared' bless you' '#9 Dream' and 'Nobody loves you when you're down and out' again after so long has been a slice of heaven! and has completely revised my opinion on that 'lost weekend' album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
If you are looking to explore the music of John Lennon and want a great compilation then this is the best on the market, of all the compilations available this one goes a little more in depth than the usual'hits' packages and my personal faves have always been songs that aren't the ones everyone knows.
Get this compilation today , it's well worth investing in and the music here is a cut above most stuff you'll ever here- then again it's Lennon so what did you expect?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)