Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
10
Learn To Play Jimi Hendrix [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£25.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 July 2008
Things you need to get the most out of this DVD:

1.Intermediate guitar playing skills - Danny Gill covers each note and repeats sections as if you were following a lesson, however a good basic knowledge of pentatonic scales, basic barre chords and some unusual chords like the `Hendrix' chord will help you progress quicker and not get so lost

2.A remote control for your DVD player - whilst each stage in shown and repeated you'll definitely be rewinding to replay certain bits (much to the annoyance of anyone else in the room!)

3.A guitar - tennis racket air guitar wont get you very far

4.A mirror and bandana - well lets face it, once you master this DVD its time to rock out even if your front room isn't quite the Isle of white!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
Great for novices
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2009
Be warned all you get on this DVD is 5 songs played by Danny Gill, nothing else. There is no guitar tab or even a booklet. Obviously you're meant to go to the Lick Library web site and pay for the tab for each song. Value for money is poor when you can get guitar tab players like Power Tab.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2009
For any Hendrix fans out there, you HAVE to have get this DVD, and you also need to keep an eye out for anything Danny Gill instructs. It is a win, win for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2007
The great thing about this DVD is that Danny Gill makes the Hendrix songs really easy to learn by taking you through each song step by step. Particularly with Hey Joe, Danny shows you have to play the verse riffs using simple chords with little bits added to them. However, if you read any of the tablature books, the verses look a lot more difficult.

Two extra features that are included with this DVD are full performances by Danny Gill for each of the songs played over the backing tracks and a five minute overview on the Fender Strat.

I have wrote down the songs below and give my opinion on them.

Purple Haze - He does this brilliantly and even shows you the outro where the song fades out.

Hey Joe - Like I said he makes this song easier to learn by using chord progressions for the verses.

The Wind Cries Mary - I have only looked at the intro to this song but it is still shown simply and effectively.

Little Wing - If you listen to Little Wing there are a lot of little bits all put together to form the song. Once again Danny divides the song into sections and takes it gradually.

Voodoo Child (Slight Return) - this was the reason I bought the DVD. He shows you all of the song up to the second solo (outro). This part sounds slightly different from the actual song, but if you follow the DVD you SHOULD be able to improvise and put something together. It also helps if you have the right effects for this song.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2009
A step by step lesson, well explained.
A great teacher.
If you want to learn to play Hendrix, the best possible way to learn is with this DVD.
Boy, am I glad to own it !
5 stars for this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2011
I must admit i don't really like either of the lick library DVD's although they sound good enough and are relatively easy to learn depending on your level of guitar ability, to me it sounds like there is something missing in the playing and the way they have put it together which makes it sound robotic and as though the songs have lost their feeling. This is why I prefer to learn songs by ear as it just sounds better and also allows you to put you're own slant on the song, but this DVD is good for parts that you're having difficulty learning by ear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2005
I got this dvd for x mas and i couldn't have hoped for more, there is not information given about any of the equipement used by hendrix (apart from his guitar) and you don't actually see one image or film of jimi, but never the less this is the best teaching dvd i have ever seen. The guy baisically splits each song into into intro verse solo and sometimes outro and teaches each bit note by note making it realy simple to pick the tunes up, Fantastic much better than the guitar method video (which is rubbish)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2009
He goes so fast its hard to keep up, if not impossible. No tab or musical notation provided.

Good if you can keep up but way too fast for the average mortal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2008
The DVD shows how Danny Gill plays Hendrix in the same way as your mate would show you, which is basically, 'watch me and copy'. As an actual instructional DVD it is poor as it doesn't give precise details of how to play the songs. Good for an accomplished guitar player, perhaps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)