Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 14 November 2005
coheed third album is their best. word
they've come along way from the punky emo of SSTB and evolved into an epic prog beast that takes the best parts of Rush, Thin Lizzy, Led Zep, Jethro Tull, Queen Iron Maiden and even hints of the Police with Coheeds own unnique song writing, Sci-fi themes and just general weirdness. this album pushs the boundaries ever further with some simply stunning guitar work, intricate melodies, complex song structures and of course Claudio's helium filled lyrics.
the four part Willing Well will blow u away
An epic modern take on 70s/80 rock music. out of this world.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
coheed and cambria have surpassed themselves with this offering, the third full length cd instalment of lead singer, claudio sanchez's epic sci-fi story. this album steps outside of the story and tells how claudio has gained his inspiration for the story. the songs themselves vary from short to epic in length and run through all of claudio's emotions at the time of recording! musically the band show off their ability to work with time changes and varying styles of music as well as showing off their keen ability to pen a memorable riff and harmony. a must listen for anyone that considers themselves a musician!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
This much anticipated album from the wild quartet that is Coheed and Cambria arrived in late summer 2005 and made up the third album in the band’s repertoire, continuing their tradition of ludicrous, yet intriguing album titles. But the epic proportions of this album do not stop there. The ominous sleeve is removed to reveal an eerie, sinister album cover, establishing a dark, horror-themed artwork that continues throughout the booklet. This vast saga quality is in keeping with the graphic novels that accompany Coheed’s work, which I found equally impenetrable. One cannot help but feel that it is all a little pretentious, although it succeeds in creating the (presumably) desired effect.
The dark messiah like tone continues into the start of the album, with the awesome string arrangements by Karl Berger in “Keeping the Blade” that breaks into a sombre, breath-taking motif at approximately 1:10, which I challenge anyone to experience and not be filled with inspiration and anticipation for the rest of the album, an anticipation that I feel is not entirely fulfilled. Perhaps this premier track sets too high a standard, however I can in no way describe this album negatively.
Instead of bursting into a scream or a virtuosic riff, the following song “Always & Never” pleasantly surprises. It sets up a homely, nostalgic feel with the sound of children (though not sinister as one may expect) and sweet, woody guitar, that remains throughout the song, perfectly complimenting the sweeter, breathier side of Claudio Sanchez’s voice. The shortness of the song makes it feel like a nourishing breath before the album really starts, giving the whole album a stronger and more calculated impression. This is a far more effective and impressive use of this build up device than offered by such bands as Atreyu and Avenged Sevenfold.
The opening lick of “Welcome Home” conjures images of a virtuosic guitarist sitting down, picking up his instrument and taking a breath before the distortion-soaked, harmonic-rich guitar melody kicks in. This is a towering anthem that harks back to late Led Zepplin works, with the verses like a dark, aggressive version of “Kashmir”. The string backing certainly adds depths to the song, giving the impression of vast planes of hell, with an animated priest animatedly preaching over the top. The bleak, disturbing lyrics are entirely congruent with the general impression of the song, giving way to the vast instrumental section that climaxes with the moans of a colossal army, like a hellish workforce lament. The outro brings resolution as well as saying “now get ready for the rest of this onslaught”.
It is at this point that the album seems to diminish. Don’t get me wrong, the music that is put forward is far from being disappointing, but the awe-inspiring start to the work is let down from here. Though the opening tracks render the album as an anti-climax, it has to be said that if tracks 4 – 15 were offered by a contempory band, or indeed as an album in themselves then they would be well respected. But the music falls into a lot more familiar territory from here.
The guitars of Claudio Sanchez and Travis Stever are perfectly toned to provide bite and melody, and the harmonising shows meticulous effort and fills out the songs well. The increasingly popular lap steel also makes an appearance, though deep in the layering of the instrumentation. Sanchez delivers once again with his trade mark funky, harmonised vocals that provide a breath of fresh air the genre that looks to become set in its style. The sound of the album is theatrical to say the least, with build up sections such as in “Apollo 1: The Writing Writer” adding variety to the overall tone.
The album finishes with a set of four songs entitled “The Willing Well (I – IV)” that presumably are intended to be aside from the rest of the album. It is here that the album picks up its grand style, with none of the songs being less than seven minutes. “The Final Cut” brings appropriate resolve to the album with soaring bluesy guitars soloing over a bed of layered harmony. The final hidden track seems a little misguided. Perhaps Coheed we fed up of being to austere and ominous and fancied a country outing for a laugh. However in my view the respect the album demands is somewhat tainted by this. At least there are no comedy vocals to accompany it…
Tim Harper
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
Coheed and Cambria are my favourite band and I have fully explored all work that Claudio Sanchez has put out there from Coheed and Cambria, to his side project of Prizefighter Inferno, to all comic book releases and of all his work this is by far my favourite.

This is my favourite album, probably of all time and here is why-

On my first listen this album plain confused me. I wasn't sure what the band were getting at, the other songs did not sound like the singles (welcome home and the suffering are what orginaly caught my attention to the band) and I'd heard of the underlying story but couldn't really grasp it. However after a few more listens I realised that this band were made up of four genius songwriters.

This is Coheed at there musical best, sure, you've got the amazing singles The Suffering and Ten Speed as well as the earth shattering Welcome Home, but probably the best peices of work on this album are the four tracks closing the album (The Willing Well I-IV) which is just section after thrilling section, complex changes, insane amounts of dynamics, catchy vocal and guitar hooks, expert musicainship and an earth shattering climax of The Final Cut.

If you like music that is interesting, exhirlating and just so musically impressive- this really is the Coheed album for you.

Aside from the expert song writing- lyrically, melodically and just generally- this album is very dark, which is confirmed by the internal events of the members themselves during the writing and creation of this record.

If you are interested in the underlying concept of this record- this album is probably the coolest in that sense too. Taking a look at how the life of the writer of the story will affect the outcome of the characters and how the writer creates his subconoius in the form of Tenspeed bike to help him finish the story! Weird, but wonderfully captivating and brilliant.

As an introduction to the band this album may not be the way in for some listeners, however, if you are after a true musical journey that even five or so years later inspires just as much if not more than it did back then, a masterclass in songwriting and something that is just all round brilliant, this is for you.

The most underated and the king of Coheed and Cambria albums without a shadow of a doubt.

Coheed and Cambria at their very very best.

Buy this album- you need to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2011
Good Apollo Tonight I'm Burning Star IV, Volume One: Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness was Coheed and Cambria's third studio album and saw a huge increase in the band's popularity when it was released back in 2005.

The album contains a few of the band's best known songs, such as the grand `Welcome Home,' the catchy `The Suffering,' and of course `Ten Speed (Of God's Blood and Burial)'

With this album; the band effortlessly mixes classic rock and prog influences into their music with modern attitudes and delivery, creating an eclectic, complex and melodic record full of surprise twists and turns. From quieter moments like `Always & Never,' and `Wake Up,' to loud and bombastic moments like the three aforementioned singles, the album contains a wealth of ideas.

Highlight moments include the amazing almost-title track `Apollo I: The Writing Writer,' which is still one of my favourtie Coheed songs till this day, and the grand and bluesy guitar solo showcase `The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut.'

No fan of the band should be without this album, it stands up remarkably well today with an excellent production job, amazing musicianship and some of the band's finest ever songwriting in addition to the penultimate lyrical part of the band's multiple concept album, and cross platform media series The Amory Wars.

If you are new to the band, this is a fine album to make your first Coheed purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
This album is truly a step from the last album of "In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth" where that album was a very good album this one is top class.

Starting with the familiar theme in Keeping the Blade and moving into the warm feelings of Always and Never is a great way to start the album especially to the people who have heard the first two.

The album goes through the stages that you would expect from Coheed and Cambria but with a sound that leans toward funky, off beat rhythmns as well as the sounds developed in the last two albums. Mother May I is an example of the quirky rhythmness that accompanies the more traditional Coheed sound of songs like "The Suffering" and "Crossing the Frame".
Then there is the epic sound of this album. The third track "Welcome Home" is epic in itself with fantastic solos and great hard hitting vocals. The ending "The Willing Well" which is split into four parts is equally epic in the long term with the closing "The Final Cut" having one of the most epic moments in Coheed history in the form of "If I had my way I'd crush your face in the door."

In all this is an epic album with a variety of sounds, changes (Wake up is a very welcome pace changer mid-album) and is very good in every aspect.
This album should be welcome in anyone's music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2007
From the beautiful orchestral opener 'Keeping The Blade', 'Good Apollo...' is a record that never lets up, in imagination or quality. There is, quite simply, no weak tracks on this album.

Everything stands out, firstly the lyrics. In keeping with the concept covered on previous C&C releases, they are suitably poetic, yet express epic themes in accessible terms: 'would things have changed if I could have stayed'.

This is backed up by the songs themselves, which manage to be both insanely catchy, yet ambitious ( 'From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness', Apollo II: The Telling Truth'. This is balanced with more 'commercial' sounding songs like 'Wake Up', complete with an excellent slide guitar work, and 'The Suffering', which has a killer chorus.

The fact that the songs are both accessible and challenging is largely thanks to Claudio Sanchez, whose delivery can be emotive, such as on 'Always and Never', yet can turn angry, reflecting the hatred in some of the 'Good Apollo's...' lyrics (see 'Welcome Home').

It's rare to find a band that combines melody and invention to such challenging, yet accessible effect. With 'Good Apollo I'm Burning Star IV...' Coheed & Cambria have done so with ease.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2005
I really liked the last CD by Coheed, it had a great blend of modern and classic rock with some prog influences in the longer tracks especially.
The new album is even better! This is a classic, and could prove to be the highlight of 2005 for me.
Outstanding production, energy, emotion and composition just take the band to a higher level.
I have downloaded a preview copy for my own use and I will be buying this upon release, and I recommend everyone to do the same.
This CD is what music is all about!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Since buying this I have become somewhat addicted. I had not heard much about the band or concept. When you strip it all back to the music it's technically proficient, melodic and covers quite a few genres and styles. Stand out tracks for me are the 'Welcome Home' & 'The Suffering', although I like to listen to the whole LP if time allows.

The bonus DVD has a couple of videos, making of and some animation linked clips. As with most of these things I was left wanting more! What is there is good, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
I'm a big fan of C&C. I was rather disappointed with their latest offering (Year of the Black Rainbow) which I'm guessing didn't add many more to their fanbase. If you've never heard C&C before I'd sugggest starting with their 3 previous albums, GAIBS IV being one of them. As always you get great lyrics, stonking choruses and some seriously awesome riffs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)