Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Beauty [DVD] [2004]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 April 2017
A Delightful little comedy vignette with the always watchable 'Martin Clunes' and the excellent 'Peter Vaughan' .
At 50 minutes in its entirety , Unusually , I was wishing it not to end .
A modern day spin on 'Beauty & the Beast' written by the witty , 'Simon Nye' (Men behaving Badly , Hardware , Reggie Perrin etc...)
Recommended !.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
"He looks like the elephant man - only not enough to go on tour".

This is how the Lord of the Manor, the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) is described by the villagers whom he avoids. With centuries of in breeding resulting in a deformed forehead and fleshy face, Tom keeps himself to himself and makes sure no one comes close enough to see him. He rattles round his impressive home with only his elderly butler and his wife for company. But things change for Tom when the house plumbing finaly gets beyond his repair skills and a local man has to come and fix it.

When the plumber (Sam Kelly) is injured, his daughter Cathy takes over the work and after various shouting matches, she begins to see beyond Tom's looks to the man inside. In turn, Tom no longer needs his housekeeper to cut out pictures of eligible young ladies from "Tatler" - he has found the girl he wants all by himself!

But will village Casanova Ryan allow Cathy to be spirited away? The scene is set for a showdown which Tom must face - even if it involves a dreaded trip to the local pub.

At only 50 minutes long this is a short drama, but the laughs come thick and fast and the reworking of 'Beauty and the Beast' is a joy from start to finish.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Loved this sweet story when I saw it on T.V. years ago. When I noticed it while browsing on Amazon I immediately put it on my dvd wish list from which family choose my birthday/Xmas presents. Not as long as a full length film it is ideal viewing for a bit of 'Me time' sandwiched into a busy day. It has lost none of its simple charm on subsequent watches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Being part of a series of short dramas, this version of "Beauty & the Beast" might be disappointingly brief. Certainly, a 90-minute programme would have been preferable. However, in the allotted time, "Beauty" is able to get across an interesting adaptation of this classic story.

Martin Clunes is perfect for this part. His dry humour enables the viewer to feel both exasperated and sympathetic at the same time - not unlike how fans of his character Martin Ellingham in "Doc Martin" feel about him in that role. In "Beauty", his snobbish and reclusive character Tom Fitzhenry hides away not only because of his looks, but because he still holds onto the old and crumbling class system of British peerage. It takes the old and crumbling pipes to get a local plumber and his daughter assistant (Cathy Wardle, played excellently by Seinna Guillory) to bring a change into his life - as much as he might not want it. Of course, there is the brutish, rather dim-witted village Casanova - Ryan - trying to gain he affections of the heroine, Cathy. His antics are hilarious and you almost feel sorry for him when he doesn't 'get the girl'.

The typical British humour will both amuse and shock many people - this is no Hallmark Channel film by any means - and some viewers might feel let down by the brutally honest speech and attitudes of many of the characters. But it is refreshingly different and will delight most fans of this classic fairy tale.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
This is maybe my favorite CLUNES DVD. He melts into a part so completely (note "goodbye mr. chips") The storyline is a good
one also. THANKS AGAIN!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
This updated version of Beauty and the Beast is well acted and offers some very pleasing moments. However, with a run time of only 49 minutes, the production is just too short for full character development. The viewers hope, is to see the relationship between the reclusive Tom (Martin Clunes) and the beautiful plumber/barmaid Cathy (Sienna Guilroy) gradually build from what at first is an awkward encounter into a perfect love match. Instead, what we get are some very pleasant vignettes which could, given a chance, develop into an interesting and enjoyable love story. That said, I recommend the DVD because of the fine acting and although short, very pleasing story.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This was bought in part to remind me of the TV film which I watched some years ago and also to add to my "Martin Clunes" selection. Story line was fair but I do not think did justice to Martin Clunes' ability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
some bits a little rude for me but ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Didn't like this DVD, very crude. I got rid of it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2007
This film first aired on ITV 1, and is Simon Nyes modern reworking of the classic that is Beauty and the Beast.
It stars Martin Clunes as the reclusive, misunderstood Tom Fitzhenry, an aristocrat who rarely ventures out of his estate; until he meets Sienna Guillorys character Cathy.
She helps him to over come his inhibitions, whilst fixing his pluming!
Also starring is Gwenllian Davies and Peter Vaugh as Fitzhenrys hilarious servants, Sam Kelly as Cathy's dad, and Cristian Solimeno as the repulsive Ryan, who's funniest line in the film is to Cathy - "Come back! Are you wearing any knickers? I care about you!"

Any die hard Beauty and the Beast fans will have fun noticing the similarities between the 2 films {I did anyway!}
1. The mention of Roses
2. Cathy's love of books
3. The fact the girls in both films were brought to their Beasts inadvertently by their fathers
4. The line uttered by the girls as they enter their Beasts homes -
"Hello! Is anybody there? Dad? / Papa?"
etc, etc, etc!

The only bad things about this DVD are - 1. The fact that it has no special features, which is a shame (they could have shown how they applied the special make up to Martin Clunes' face, etc) and 2. The fact that it only lasts around an hour!

This film always has, and always will cheer me up when I'm feeling low {with lines like "its amazing the strength that happiness gives you" how could it not!} and anyone who has ever been bullied or felt different will develop an instant love for this film.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)