Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
31
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2005
If you have bought the first four series of Seinfeld which have been released in the past year, you will already be aware of the sparkling picture quality of the remastered episodes, the building of momentum and characterisation within the programmes themselves as the series go on, and the superb extras which each boxed set has contained.
Series 5 ticks all of these boxes, and to be honest, by this stage, everyone on the programme is on top of their games. The scripts are ingenious, with crackling dialogue and wonderfully interwoven plot lines. One odd extra with that episode is a real speech given by Jerry Seinfeld as the Puffy Shirt itself is given to the Smithsonian Institute, as being of great importance to American culture! The rest of the time, the extras mainly comprise commentaries, a documentary or two, some good interviews.
The 22 episodes here are blindingly good value.... there really isn't one bad one, and they also include 'The Sniffing Accountant', 'The Wife' (with Courtney Cox) and 'The Opposite'.
If you are a Seinfeld fan already, you should get this - immediately! If you are new to the programme, well, you should get this - immediately! Along with Seasion 4, it's the one to invest in.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I keep going back to all my Seinfelds for a cheerful spot in the day, any day.
The characters and simple humour make you realise what is missing in comedy today.
It is an ideal nightcap to take before bedtime, smiles all the way. If I had to choose a favourite character it has to be Kramer. Enough said.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2005
Finally.. The fifth season has arrived.. If you love to see george make an fool of himself you will certenly hold on to this boxset untill the day you die!!. In this season the writers really starts to get the hang off it.. i thougt it was impossible to make the everyday problems even more funny.. but i stand corrected.. Man is this a great set or what!! The only thing i can say to you is BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2005
I didnt think that anythig could top the first 4 seasons.. But i was wrong.. This is the season where the show about nothing really takes off.. Man is this a great season.. If you like to see george make a fool off him self i promise that you will love this set. And off course kramer, jerry and elaine are also involved in those everyday problems we all in some way or another can relate to.. the difference between you and me and them.. they are funny as hell!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
If you have not seen or heard of Seinfeld, where have you been. The series gets funnier and funnier as the characters develop. Many laugh out loud moments and a must for all fans of Seinfeld. The lip reader & the puffy shirt are absolute classics. enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Seinfeld continues to go from strength to strength with the 5th season and the characters shine brighter than ever.

This seasons contains more classic episodes including 'The Mango' where Jerry finds out something surprising about his past relationship with Elaine, 'The Sniffing Accountant' where Jerry suspects his accountant of being high on drugs and of course 'The Puffy Shirt' where Kramer's quiet talking girlfriend asks Jerry a very bizarre request.

In my opinion, season 5 stands as the best season of Seinfeld, and is really where the show reached its peak.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2011
Seinfeld - by 1994 was getting bigger every season, and this was no exception. This is one of the funniest series which didn't make much of an appearance on British TV, due mainly to Paramount not having the rights to show it - so I've only really seen the episodes on here maybe 4 times, which is nothing compared to the other series.

This is a great series, with the puffy shirt being a good episode, but not as good as the one where they go to the Hamptons, and Elaine finds out about shrinkage. I also like the one with the deaf referee - especially the way Seinfeld and Costanza talk about her at the dinner table. Other greats include the pig man, Newman's attempts to get Seinfeld's hair and the one where Elaine touches Teri Hatcher's buxom.

This is one of the finer seasons, Newman (Wayne Knight) plays a bigger role, and he's funnier than he was before. You can now see why Pixar chose him for the Toy Story franchise though. George (Jason Alexander) is getting funnier too, and his exploits at home with his parents are so funny. As usual Kramer is on fire. There are a lot of guest stars like Teri Hatcher, Regis and Cathy Lee and Courtney Cox to name a few, even 80's legend Judge Reinhold makes an appearance as the close talker.

This again is on 4 disks, with a 4:3 full screen view. The DVDs have the best menus I've seen, they're fun and easy to get to. Finally Sony have removed that extra splash screen at the end of every episode, so you only have to skip once at the end of the program to get to the next one. There's plenty of extras too, like the one where Larry David explains to use that George is him, and extra scenes and inside looks.

Again, this should be part of your collection, actually, make all 9 seasons part of your collection, it's worth every penny.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2005
The greatest comedy you could imagine. With the success of the amazing series 4, Seinfeld breaks all the boundries with hillarious situations and incredibly funny insites into mentaly destroying up bringing of George Louis Costanza that has made him the way he is. Featuring some of the greatest jokes ever such as, "it's like I'm Neil Armstrong, I turn round for a sip of tang, an you jump out first". More individual storylines for Kramer involving his never seen other friends. And of course after both George's parents made small entries into the world of Seinfeld, series 5 sees more of the hillarious disfunctual pair which can only be described as terribly fantastic. A must see for anyone who loves to laugh, the show about nothing reaches new levels seeing the genious of Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld's creation standing steadilly on top of all comedy's. Every story in every popular american sitcom since has had influence from the gangs experiences, which is extremely evident in this fantastic series. Finaly on dvd, the much awaited Seinfeld series 5 hits our screens in style, if you buy anything this year, buy this "BABY!!!"
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
It is the last of the great comedies. Way before the reality shows and talent shows, we had the last of the great comedies. As really after the show left NBC, it was about the beginning of the end for the Peacock Network.

Jerry Seinfeld really stars as himself but despite being a comedian. He is there to play the straight man routine for his crazy three "friends!"

George (Jason Alexander), a lovable loser who can't manage a job, much less a girlfriend. Love struck on again and off again girlfriend Elaine (Julia Louise Dreyfuss), and side stealing lanky everyman, Cosmo Kramer (Michael Richards) played with wit.

Show about nothing really was something as it left a lasting impression and reruns of the show still going strong in syndication!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
One of the best set of episodes of this series: Classics such as The Mango, the Puffy shirt, the non-fat yogurt and the cigar-store indian taking up everyday issues and turning them upside-down. Seinfeld at its best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse