Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
101
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Piano (Special Edition) [DVD] [1993]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(4 star). See all 101 reviews
on 8 November 2015
The Piano was a good film and catered for the difficult-to-please, mature woman. Also, rabscallions like me enjoyed the plot, the Production values and, some parts of the romance. Great soundtrack by Michael Nyman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This is an unusual story, which gives nothing away and thereby keeps the viewer captivated throughout.

All the characters are quite disagreeable people: aggressive, selfish, narrow-minded and each utterly determined to get their own way. So a bristling tension is quickly established and simmers along beautifully right to the end.

The actors are very convincing within the context and setting of the movie - there is absolutely no Hollywood glamour sneeking in the backdoor here - and the performances are intense, with many claustrophobic scenes to heighten the drama. These are contrasted with the delightful windblown beach scenes and exceptional soundtrack.

The poor attempts at Scottish accents by those non-scots actors was distracting though and the writer/director should simply have allowed the actors to speak in their own voices.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
The Piano is an amazing tale of lust, envy, jealousy, betrayal and female identity and independence. Set in the mid nineteenth century, Ada McGrath is shipped off with her daughter Flora and their scant belongings to New Zealand, the reason being her arranged marriage to a somewhat successful land owner. Ada's beloved piano makes the journey with her.

The visually haunting opening scene of her arrival on the beach is perhaps one of the most haunting movie openings I think I've ever seen. From the beginning you sense her suffocating sense of misplacement and isolation, her sense of being out of place in the rain drenched, mud soaked South Island is overpowering (you have to remember this was way back when the area was hardly populated except by natives and there were few roads etc).

Holly Hunter excells, as usual, in her role, deservedly winning an Academy Award for Best Actress for her portrayal of a woman who chooses to be mute and has not spoken since she was six years old. Ada's true love, is her piano, which is her emotional and symbolic voice, being her most powerful expression of emotion and spirit. Ada takes an instant dislike of her new husband (Sam Neil) when he refuses to bring her piano up from the beach, and when an illiterate neighbour George Baines (played by Harvey Keitel) decides to bring her piano to his home, he strikes up a deal with her, formulating a way for her to earn it back. He proposes that for every lesson she gives, he gets to perform one sexual act. In the beginning, Ada despises George for his immoral, lustful blackmailing, however slowly, tacitly, their relationship transforms into a strong emotional and intellectual bond, and their lives spiral down into a frenzy of lust, deadly jealousy, envy and tragedy. The movie is full of symbolism and should be read metaphorically rather than literally. Passion is abundant, and as a pianist, I felt her intense passion for playing, which offered not only a voice for her to express herself with, but formed a part integral to her identity.

It is long, and quite slow to get into but very rewarding, and the haunting climax, and ending will leave you breathless but with a feeling of fullfilment.

I watch it again and again, and realise each time more and more symbolism within the movie. Amazing, Jane Campion deserved her praise and awards, while Anna Paquin became the youngest actress ever to win an Academy Award, whilst Holly Hunter excels in the peformance of a lifetime.

Tagged as one of the best movies of the last 30 years of the twentieth century?... I certainly think so.
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
Set in New Zealand and making the most of the stunning scenery, this beautifully photographed film leaves a lasting impression.
The casting is good and the roles are played with sensitivity and skill. The film has a dream like quality throughout that draws you in but never confuses. Excellent!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
Strong movie, left me feeling a little strange after, nice scenery....interesting movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
I would rate this film with 5 stars as it is my favorite of all time, but I do appreciate that others may not like the haunting atmosphere that this movie creates. As the newly-wed Ada finds herself lost in an unknown world of her aranged marriage, and the limitations of her muteness caused by shock due to the death of her late husband, she becomes caught up in a relationship with the nextdoor neighbor. The awesome soundtrack to this film by Michael Nyman is what truely makes the film amazing, and words fail when trying to descibe the emotions of the film - so I definitely recommend you watch it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Good film, if it is your kind of thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Good film once you get into it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Haven't had time to watch it but I am sure will enjoy it, I hope.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
An important story - and social history !
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)