Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
11
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2005
Give this remix a few listens and you will be hooked. I bought it purely on the strength of the original. I have to admit that I am a fan of good remixes and in this case they don't go on for an eternity, which is often a fault with remixes. Another plus point is that they aren't all in-your-face: there are a couple of quite chilled-out tracks (So Here We Are and Plans) that emphasise the sometimes unfairly-maligned vocals of Kele.
Satisfyingly, they do highlight a lot of the good points of Bloc Party's excellent emotive music. I am sure that when I play the original there will be a lot of things I hear that I didn't hear the first (of 50th) time. The version of Helicopter emphasises Matt's skills on the drums superbly, and the line "He's born a liar, he'll die a liar" (referring to George W Bush) is brought to the fore well.
The tracks themselves go from the average (track one: Like Eating Glass) to the sublime (Positive Tension and Blue Light) and I found all to be at the very least interesting, and at best an important addition to one of the year's best band's catalogue.
Luke, whose review for the album is above, seems to have missed the point of a remix - it is to give a different accent, feel or taste to the original: if you just want the original then buy the original!! Overall I'd give the album 4 out of 5 and would urge fans of Bloc Party to give it a go.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2005
This is only the second remix album I've bought, the other being Long-View's Subversions. I expected what I got. It's the brilliant Silent Alarm album in varying new styles. Each song has been made into another, new unique song, and I love them all. From the dancey Banquet (Phones Disco Edit) and This Modern Love (Dave P. and Adam Sparkle's Making Time Remix), to the calmer Blue Light (Engineers 'Anti-Gravity' Mix), and the hard rock of Death From Above 1979's fantastic cover of Luno.
It's a great collection of songs, especially if you love Silent Alarm and are open enough to take in these great new versions of those songs. A must for all Bloc Party fans, of course.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2006
Bloc Party are far and away one of the biggest musically successes from the UK in many a year. There success is down to their huge fanbase, which was brought about through their (and i don't use this word lightly) phenomenal first album "silent alarm". It is impossible not to relish in the rich musical tapestry that these talented lads have woven. So i was slightly suspicious at this re-released "remix" album. Was it to continue the success of silent alarm? Or was it a genuine reflection of their popularity amongst fellow music makers?

Well fellow Amazoners, i chanced it after noticing the number of fantastic musicians who have contributed to this album (Death from Above 1974; Mogwai; Four Tet; Ladytron & The Engineers to name but a few) and let me tell you what an unbelievable buy it was. From the first haunting echos in Like Eating Glass (Ladytron Zapatista Mix) i knew that this album was going to be something quite special and something very different.

For the first week of owning the album, i could not bring myself to turn it off. The howling at the beginning of Helicopter , the thumping bassline of Banquet, the trancendent sound of Blue Light. It was like an addiction, and everytime i heard something i had not heard before, and i fell in love with the album a little more.

In my opinion the standout track on this album is without doubt Luno (Death from Above 1974 remix). It is out of this world. Completely and utterly out of this world. It is simply a fantastic remix of an already of what was a good song, but DfA1974 just kicked up another notch, which previously had not even been imagined!

In short, if you are thinking about buying this album, then WHAT ARE YOU THINKING!? Buy it now! You can not fail but be impressed by what an amazing album it is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
Have just read the other reviews - not really sure what they were expecting. You're not going to get Silent Alarm 2 thats for sure.However there are some good remixes that bring something extra to certain tracks (M83,Erol Alkan and Mogwai to name a few).There are also some that just give the tracks a little bit of 'umph' and don't really change a lot. All in all i reckon its not bad, it wont change your life but its worth a punt.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
Well I love this album; I am more than happy to buy a remix album if the band has really done anything different with it and Bloc Party certainly have. More minimalist, edgy and unsettling than its superb parent; I can listen to this over and over. My favourite Bloc Party song 'Banquet' is quite simply superb in its remixed form.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2005
It says a lot about Silent Alarm that Bloc Party actually found enough people interested to remix every single one of the tracks on it; if you haven't got that album yet, I would unconditionally recommend it. But is this worth a purchase? It's predictably a mixed bag, ranging from disappointing retreads (Ladytron's
'Like Eating Glass', Blackbox's 'Positive Tension') to the unlistenable (DFA 1979's 'Luno'). There are also, however, a number of real gems here that make the exercise worthwhile. Phones' take on 'Banquet' somehow sounds even more vital and disco-volatile than the original, whilst the ever-reliable Mogwai do a subtle "re-Planning" which is extraordinarily sinister. Best by far, however, is the Engineers remix of 'Blue Light'. The original is probably the weakest track on Silent Alarm; the version on display here aches with a yearning beauty that easily outstrips it.
If your Bloc Party fanatic, it's fairly essential stuff; if you're just passing through, however, be sure to boot up a search for the highlights, it's well worth your trouble.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2007
I think this album is fantastic. Not every song/track/tune (whatever) is great, but there are enough really good ones on there ("Like Eating Glass", "Banquet" and "Compliments" are all better than the originals, in my opinion) that make it well worth the asking price. The club mix of Tulips is on there as well which is stunning (it's not listed on the track list for some reason). It's a shame that "Little Thoughts" and "Two More Years" weren't on the original release of Silent Alarm and therefore don't get remixed.

Basically, I wouldn't see it as an album in its own right; I wouldn't recommend buying it instead of the original, but for anyone who liked the original, buy this. Get it into your MP3 collection and onto a dance playlist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
I am a fan of Bloc Party and have the albums and have been interested in this remix for a while and finally decided to give it a go. Some parts are not bad but it has lost the sound and feel of the originals without adding anything to make you want to listen to it time and again.

Worth a listen but not going to be a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Love it. Heavy Cure influence on some tracks but they're much better than the Cure. What the Cure should have been if they hadn't of got so boring :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2005
As a huge Bloc Party fan this was a must have and I've been listnening to it since i bought it on its relase date. It has a handful of good remixes, like 'Helicopter' which is very well done in my opinion as well as 'Like Eating Glass' and 'This Modern Love.' The 'Luno' rockier and rawer mix is also good. To like this album you really have to listen to it a good few times to get the flavour. On its downside some of the remixes are hardly changed and are just there for filler purposes. However I think the good ones make up for the bad ones! Give it a chance!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.26

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)