Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2014
An Enjoyable collectors copy for those followers of Agnetha plus a enjoyable reminder of her solos work after ABBA.Truly enjoyable to listen to with a great selection of added tracks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I did not buy or listen to this album when it was released in 1983 but having listened to it for the first time I wish I had bought it then. For Agnetha fans this is a 'must buy' album. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Lovely c.d
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
When ABBA finally decided to call it a day the whole pop world gasped in horror and wondered how on earth would they ever cope? Well Agnetha Fältskog proved that you can certainly keep going on and produce some amazing music. Obviously she will never be able to shake off the ABBA sound but that's not a bad thing, that's what made her famous in the first place. This is her debut album and I think it's a winner. From the more rocky sound of 'Can't Shake Loose ' to her signature ballads 'Stay', 'To Love' and the album title 'Wrap Your Arms Around Me' she proves she has still got it. The slightly reggae sounding 'Take Good Care of Your Children' and the very 60's sounding 'Mr Persuasion' are a different direction and a breath of fresh air. All round a fantastic album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2003
So here we have it - Agnetha's debut solo album to a worldwide audience, just months after Abba had drawn their last breath.
And it's a pretty good effort too. Debut single 'The heat is on' is a great calypso flavoured pop track but it's the title track that stands out from this album and was far and away deserving of greater success when released as the second single.
'Can't shake loose' (third single) and 'Man' are also great songs on this album but some of the rest are a bit more hit and miss. However, as a whole, this album is pretty good and the above highlights still sound good today, 20 years on.
For me the follow-up album 'Eyes of a woman', is the pinnacle of Agnetha's solo work but this album comes a comfortable second.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
A Pop Miracle may be a bit pretentious but this is a stunner, especially considering Agnetha had to contend with producing a result post-Abba. It's all deliciously good (and the Smokie backing vocals are a touch of genius)and it's worth drawing attention to the fact that the stand out track ("Man") in a five star set was written by Agnetha. Eat your heart out, Diane Warren.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2002
As Agnetha herself said, this is the album that goes straight to her heart. And it goes staight to my heart too !
The wonderfullest track is "Wrap your arms around me" but it's not my favourite.
The ones I prefer are "The Heat is on " (Agnetha's favourite), "Can't shake loose", "Man" and "To love".
It sounds very much like her swedish marerial and I love it !
I'm glad she'll be back !
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
Agnetha Fältskog is surely one of the most - if not the most - widely admired female pop vocalists from Sweden, and probably the most recognized of Abba's two female vocalists. This English-language album was Agnetha's first 'after Abba'. When originally released in June 1983, it spent 13 weeks in the British charts, peaking at number 18. It contains a lively, energetic, intelligent selection of songs, and Agnetha's vocals contain that crystal-clear, emotional, sexy property that has made her such a star.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2006
I THINK THIS IS DEFINITELY AGNETHA'S BEST SOLO ALBUM. I BOUGHT A COPY ON VINYL IN THE 80s AND RECENTLY BOUGHT THE CD VERSION WITH ADDITIONAL TRACKS. THE PRODUCTION STILL SOUNDS FRESH AND WHILE NOT AS COMMERCIAL AS ABBA'S WORK,MOST OF THE TRACKS PACK A PUNCH WITH AGNETHAS VOCALS SUPERB AS EVER. I NEVER GET TIRED OF LISTENING TO IT.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I prefer the follow up cd. But nevertherless, still an engoyable listen. Wonderfull rich tone in her voice. Great service!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.95
£6.68
£8.53

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)