Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
115
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Sometimes you listen to something and you find yourself reevaluating your whole life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Classic nicely presented vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Stunning!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
One of the best record of the 90ties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Admittedly, I've only played this album once but I can't see me giving it the time of day again. Listening to it was an ordeal - Mangum's vocals are extremely poor - surely one of the other band members could've done a better job? I think this album ended up on my wish list because it featured on some list of '100 albums you must listen to before you die'. I wish I'd listened to it on YouTube first and saved my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
People who give this album negative reviews tend to use the word "pretentious" a lot and heavily criticise anyone who does like the music.

The negative reviewers are generally people who can't distinguish between an objective understanding of the music and their own opinions which are fine but completely subjective and don't inform the reader of anything.

The music is great and has influenced countless indie and alternative bands and rightly so. If you don't like it fine but when you use words like "pretentious" you let yourself down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
I don't see what is so good about this album and why the ratings are usually so high. To me they sound pretty average to good , but I hear no excellence on this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jeff Mangum is the King of Carrot Flowers. Or at least, the king of his own brand of innocently psychedelic dream-rock. The second full-length album from the endearingly weird Neutral Milk Hotel is not as lo-fi as "From Avery Island," but its beauty and dreaminess are still untouched.
Steady guitar strums start off "The King of Carrot Flowers Part 1," before blossoming into the eerie, spirituality-themed "King of Carrot Flowers Part 2 & 3." Following it up the somehow inspiring "In The Aeroplane Over The Sea," the grim trumpeting of "The Fool," and the rousing folky-carnival bombast of "Holland, 1945."
Crickets, screams and a gentle guitar melody start "Communist Daughter," followed by the wailing "Oh Comely," magnificently fuzzy "Ghost," and the eerie tenth track, which doesn't have a title -- a catchy, indescribable mix of fuzz guitar and funhouse melodies. The album ends on a strong note with "Two Headed Boy Part 2," with its haunted-house opener woven out of horns, which melts away behind Mangum's final ballad.
Neutral Milk Hotel is one of those bands that will steal your heart, or send you howling from the room. There's no middle ground. It's an acid-tinged dream of spirituality, sex, chaos, rebirth and beauty, full of girls with roses in their eyes and ghosts flying over stormy cities.
The music tends to be of two types. On one hand, we have Mangum's laid-back folky ballads; they are sometimes laced with other instruments, but the core is his acoustic guitar and his off-kilter voice. And then there are the swirling panoramas of brass-band, fuzz guitar, accordians, white noise, organ and musical saw, among others. These bizarre melodies are entrancing, almost hypnotic, and the catchier ones sound like the soundtrack of a carnival.
Mangum's voice is a weird one. It isn't very good, and he can't hold the notes (his wail of "I loooove you Jeeesusss Chrrriiiisst" is outrageously funny). But it meshes into the music as if his vocals were tailor-made for it. And the lyrics are full of weird things that somehow strike a chord in the listener, as if Mangum has tapped into your strangest dreams, ranging from the childlike wonder of "King of Carrot Flowers Parts 2 & 3" to the wistful: "Now she's a little boy in Spain/Playing pianos filled with flames/On empty rings around the sun/All sing to say my dream has come..."
Full of psychedelic brass bands and folky songs about children with wings, Neutral Milk Hotel's second album is a rare, magnificent album without a single unworthy song. Beautiful, strange and wondrous.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
Jeff Magnum is a bit odd. There's no denying that. We're talking Syd Barrett's "feeding his girlfriend cream crackers under the door" odd. You only have to hear the gloriously shouty vocals on "Two Headed Boy" to confirm his oddness. However just like Barrett there's a cracked genius behind all this.

This is an album on the surface mainly about Anne Frank, but once you've got the gist of what he's trying to say by using this as a metaphor, then you'll get drawn in and be entranced by some of the most moving pieces of music your ever likely to listen to.

The contribution by the musicians he's collected around him sometimes gets underestimated. It's all a bit of a jumble that somehow works as a whole, but your going to have to avoid trying to pigeonhole this into any particular genre, as it just won't fit anywhere.

I came across this only a couple of years ago when it was re-released, but it seems that it's something I've heard before I was born.

If you've got it you'll understand what I'm prattling on about. If you haven't got it, then shame on you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2007
i have never been any good at this type of thing. i heard this album played in a little pub and my friends were telling me how amazing it is. so i bought it of amazon it took 6 weeks to arrive. that night i played it 15 times over. i fell in love in love with it, the sheer brilliance and the passion makes this album amazing. two headed boy, "in the dark we will take of our cloths and we'll be placing fingers through the notches in you spine". brilliance

you can buy this for anyone and any song is for any occasion. and you almost desipher the songs meanings and make your own conclusion from them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.70
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)