Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
149
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2011
The Devil's Rejects is the sequel to Rob Zombie's House of 1000 Corpses and is far superior in so many ways. I found the first film too bizarre and out there with a few good jokes thrown in. However the sequel has a decent storyline, far better acting and an absolutely excellent soundtrack. The way the film is shot coupled with the music gives a very authentic 70's feel to the film.

It's about a family of...well sick pychos I suppose, (Otis, Baby, Spaulding, Tiny and Madame Firefly) who are on the run from the police and will do anything to get away from them. Sherrif Wydell is on their tail wanting revenge after they killed his brother in the previous film. Wydell loses the plot somewhat, almost to the point that has you rooting for the bad guys. There is a dark humour running throughout with some good gags for all but even with some darker sadistic violence but it has all been put together in such a way that it works.

There are some great cameos from Danny Trejo, Ken Foree and Michael Berryman for the horror nerds and an excellent finale timed perfectly to Skynyrd's Freebird, absolute genius.

This is one of my favouite films and whilst there are violent scenes, this is more a film to make you feel uncomfortable rather than scared, done in a similar vein to The Last House on the Left.
66 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
This is the film that showed that Rob Zombie could have become a legend as a horror film director - before throwing away that reputation with a couple of insipid Halloween remakes.

His first film, House of a 100 Corpses is a fun throwaway movie, but The Devil's Rejects, which picks up with characters from his debut film, it a tour de force of trash horror which deserves a lasting place in horror history.

With many a quotable line of dialogue, some fantastic music (you'll never listen to Freebird by Lynard Skynard in the same way again after seeing this film) and some truly demented and horrific imagery (witness the girl running out of the motel wearing the face of one of her friends before being run over by a passing truck!), The Devil's Rejects is one of the very best horror films of the 21st Century.

The blu-ray is packed with phenomenal extras, including an fantastic two and half hour making of, as well as bloopers, interviews, and much much more. Treat yourself to a Tutti Frutti!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 June 2016
It is a rare thing when a sequel equals and even surpasses the original. The firefly family from "house of 1000 corpses" returns in the Devil's Rejects, which is a less humourous and more brutal story than its predecessor.

Great characters and a really violent fast paced story. It's different to the first movie but still feels familiar. One of my all time favourite horror films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
The Devils Rejects. R1 unrated Directors cut.
The widescreen 1.85:1 picture quality is
very good. It's a grimy, funny, dirty hostage picture,
with a depraved cuckoo nest family as the
protagonists. You also get a cast that reads
like a who's who of cult films. Not a film for
everyone, but it remains very likeable.
This two disc package comes with a wealth
of extras. Extras: disc 1: commentary &
a LOAD of other stuff (can't be typing it all,
trust me, you get your moneys worth.)
Disc 2: 30 Days in Hell (making of) which
is 144mins long, yeah, i thought i read the
disc wrong, but that's what it reads.
Film run time: 1hr 50min 47sec. 2005
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed this film, it is over the top with murder, but it is that kind of film. I did not understand the jokes or what was funny as many other people have spoken about.
Passed a bit of time and ticked one film off my list, well two as I seen this and now don't want to bother watching the first film before this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2007
I was blown away by this film, thoroughly enjoying every unpleasant second of it. It's like an insane road trip from hell (I love that cliche) which plays like a dark western with a terrific 70s soundtrack. Bill Moseley was absolutely mesmeric as Otis and for me was the real standout character. Not as gory as I was expecting but all the violence is very brutal which some people may not find easy to watch, but then it isn't really supposed to.

The extra features on the 2 disk set are superb including a brilliant 150 minute making of documentary which goes in depth into every aspect of the making of this film. There are also some deleted scenes, some funny, some nasty but all worth seeing. All in all a very good package for a very good film.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Only one guy can make movie like this - THE ONE AND ONLY MR.ZOMBIE! You'll have fun watch it in theatres,You'll have fun watch it at home on Your blu-ray over and over again / like me /.And it's never enough! Give it a try and decide for yourself.It's a PERFECT deal 'cause beside the movie the blu-ray disc is loaded with extras.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2006
Quite simply, this is one of the best movies i`ve seen in the past few years. When this was released i was a little scepticle as i was slightly bewildered by House Of 1000 Corpses (which is what Devils Rejects spins off from) but enjoyed it all the same and i didnt want to see it ruined by a usual "drag-out" sequel, but i must say Zombie has done himself proud. In my opinion he has taken all his mistakes from his 1st film (and lets be honest, even though i enjoyed 1000 Corpses,there were quite a few!), and he`s put them right... And MAN has he put them right!
The Devils Rejects is a much more serious film and should be taken for exactly that, there are still some good one-liners and moments that will make you chuckle, but it remains a kick-ass movie and in my opinion matches, if not excells, any Tarantino pre-Fiction movies. It spirals away from the horror genre and is more thriller/action/crime all rolled into one, but stays with its roots of the 1st movie. If you havent seen House Of 1000 Corpses it shouldnt matter as you will pick the storyline up easily although you may benfit from seeing it so you can get to know the background of certain characters which feature in this movie. If you HAVE seen a 1000 corpses and are frankly put off by seeing this (and i expect a few people will have been!) then i URGE u not to let The Devils Rejects pass you by cos it is an AWESOME movie and you WILL be missing out...
If you liked House Of 1000 corpses then you`ll LOVE The Devils Rejects. If you DIDNT like House Of 1000 Corpses then you`ll LOVE Devils Rejects...
The soundtrack is fantastic too and sets the scene perfectly. There are also enough extras on the dvd to keep you going, in fact this is probably the best extras disc i have seen!
All in all, a HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and fantastic film that is entertaining till the end. Constant action, amazing effects, excellent acting by all, makes this film a MUST OWN and should be in EVERYONES collection.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
it's worthy of a cult film! it's more hilarious than I ever expected it to be. I first watched it years ago. characters are hilarious and loveable. storyline is good. a lot of swearing and gore but put beside the humour, enjoyable to watch! almost a film to put alongside pulp fiction and a clockwork orange for comparison of enjoyment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
It look s like a renegade movie from the 70s. It's all about style, because the story is nothing but mean and you can't really symphatize with the characters. It gives you a sense of dirt, hot, perversion with a great effectiveness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)