Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 June 2010
Ok well lets start by saying I won't be reviewing the films here or getting bogged down in the is it even a triolgy debate. Others have been doing this over the last 44 years so im sure you have read it all before.

There have been a few mixed reviews on other sites so let me throw in my hat in the ring pardner and see if its any good...

All three films are presented in full 1080p 24fps and appear to be the same extended versions that appeared in the last re-release of the 3 films on DVD in 2005.

Running Times
A Fistful Of Dollars (1964) Runtime 99 minutes
For A Few Dollars More (1965) Runtime 132 minutes
The Good, The Bad And The Ugly (1966) Runtime 179 minutes

In terms of picture quality all three films show some wear with occasional artefacts (white speck holes in the film) but a lot of tidying up has been done on all three. Making a direct comparison to the previous release on DVD of the 3 films, this is the best these films have ever looked and by some distance. The usual vibrant colours associated with the blu ray format are not so obvious but this is not a bad thing. The overall feel is a slightly drab colour pallet and an age to the images which is appropriate for films as they spend so much time with white adobe building sets and faded costumes worn on the dusty trails, but the magic of blu ray is apparent throughout. The close up work that Leone made as his own trademark is wonderful. The scarring on the heavy set faces are a rogues gallery of glorious characters that fill all 3 movies.

The Audio on all 3 films is remastered in English 5:1 DTS-HD. Although im sure many folks are aware of the dubbing issues in all three films. I have to add the sound is fantastic and the reason for the lips and words not matching on for the non english speaking actors is down to the fact the these films had the sound added after the filming, in order to cater to the Italian, German and Spanish markets the films were made for. So basically all the actors added the dialogue in there native tongue and where then redubbed depending on country the film was being being distributed to. The main advantage of adding the sound after was that layers of sound effects could be added which along with Ennio Morricones glorious musical score creates an atmosphere par excellence.

The Extras are plentiful on all 3 films and appear to same as the previous DVD release with 2 new features added.

So is it worth the switch ? Well I think it is. I gave the box set 4 stars as the actual quality of the films may not be what a lot of folks regard as "Excellent Blu-ray". The images are not as vibrant or bright as the the latest Blu-Ray films and the artefacts although not overly abundant in the movies are non the less still there, But we are viewing films made 44-46 years ago that were made as B movie westerns for the Italian,Spanish and German market. They weren't picked up by the USA till 1967 which is mean't they had all 3 movies in 1 hit which explains the desire to make them appear to be a trilogy. So although I do believe that maybe the films could be cleaned a little further and maybe they could shine them up so more Im not really sure i won't them to. I really don't think its either viable (some of the reinserted scenes from the original Italian versions where saved from destruction) or necessary as they appear as they should and these as i said earlier are the cleanest and clearest versions out at the moment.
Well I really enjoyed all 3 films and will enjoy them again and again and again
But maybe im just someone who misses the scratching noise you got when you played old vinly records :)

Some Extra Info added about language and subtitles
Audio and Subtitle Information
Fist Full of Dollars
Audio
English DTS-HD Multi Channel , French DTS Multi Channel, Spanish 2 Channel Digital, English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary.
Subtitles
English Hard of Hearing, Spanish, French (Quebecois) French, Portugese, Portugese (Brazil), Polish, Greek, Chinese and Korean.

For A Few Dollars More
English DTS-HD Multi Channel, English Digital (mono), Spanish digital (mono) , English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary.
Subtitles
English, Spanish & French

The Good The Bad And The Ugly.
Audio
English DTS-HD Multi Channel , English Digital (Mono), German DTS Multi Channel, Portugese Digital Multi Channel, French Digital multi Channel, Italian Digital (Mono), Spanish Digital Multi Channel, Thai Digital 2 Channel, English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary, English 2 Channel Richard Schickel commentary.
Subtitles
English Hard of Hearing, German,German Text, Spanish, Spanish Text, French Text, Portugese,Portugese Text, Chinese, Korean, Italian. There are also several variant subtitles in German and English that feature text versions of the Audio Commentary.

The worse supported film is the few dollars which is the only film of the 3 that is only region AB not ABC.
2929 Comments| 250 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
What a boxset. Sergio Leone's 'Dollars Trilogy' on DVD.
Packaging: The packaging consists of an outside box, with three DVD boxes inside. Very nice packaging, looks very cool.
Content: Three Discs. Three movies. 'A Fistful of Dollars', 'For a Few Dollars more', and 'The good, the bad, and the ugly'.
Special Features: Theatrical trailers for each of the movies, three 8 page colour film guides for each of the movies, with 14 minutes of never-before-seen footage added on to 'The Good, the Bad and the Ugly'. The Audio Dialogue can be in English or French, and the subtitles are in English, Dutch, and French.
The movies: The Movies, are of course, the most important thing in your boxset. These movies are fantastic, let me tell you. When I watched 'A Fistful of Dollars' I couldn't move because I was so stuck on it.
Not for family viewing. These films are very violent, full of gunfights and jailbreaks, and some minor drug use. Because, as Sergio Leone himself said, "My Films are Violent because the real wild west was founded on violence."
With some beautiful scenery, excellent dialogue, and a role so perfectly suited to Clint Eastwood, these movies are gems. Excellent scenes, such as the climactic 'Dance of Death' in 'Ugly', and the final showdown between The man With no name and Ramon in 'Fistful'. All of this put to perfection by Leone's superb direction, the tongue-in-cheek humour of the cast, and the haunting score by Ennio Morricone, one of the most respected names in movie music to this day.
Fantastic boxset, with Fantasic movies. A+++++
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2001
ok, how good are these films? if it were possible, i would give it 1000 stars...but its not.
where shall i start? In Fistful of Dollars, Clint plays around in two rival families just to gain a few bucks, and cause more trouble than he bargained for! It is simply the third best western ever of all time. the best bit? "my mule dont like people laughing".
For a Few Dollars More, is the second best western ever. This time, Clint teams up with Lee Van Cleef to track down a killer for money. Best bit? Clint and Lee shoot each other's hats around the town.
The Good, The Bad and the Ugly is, in my view, the Greatest Western Ever Made. Clint is marvellous as the Good. Lee Van Cleef (in a different role from a Few Dollars More) is evil personified as the Bad, and Eli Wallach is brillian as Tuco, or the Ugly. Best bit? Tuco fins the cemetary where $200 000 is buried and searches for the money and the music swells.
If you haven't seen them,see them. If you have, see them again.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2001
Sergio Leone's spaghetti westerns featuring Clint Eastwood.. Three classic westerns (I think the best ever). Everyone knows the story of the films so I will just tell you my opinion about the product. The DVD box is excellent and I can say that I am completely satisfied with all 3 films. Video and sound quality is very good. These are the best versions I have seen (as far as quality is concerned). Get them right now! This is going to be one of your favorite DVD boxes!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
I've read through all of the other reviews and the one thing that hasn't been mentioned is the price. I paid less than the price of a pizza for 3 of the most influential westerns that now have been released in Blue-Ray (BR) format. OK the films aren't as well restored as other old films(James Bond/Wizard of Oz/Star Trek) but to be honest you really do have to go out of your way in which to find fault with these BR releases. Lets not forgot these films are around 45 years old and were budget films then. Yet on my TV they look great. Now I'm a little discerning when it comes to films which helps explain why I have given away a number of Blue rays which I didn't like. Yet and a big yet these 3 films will be staying with me. Other people have explained the technical bits better than I ever could, which is why I haven't bothered boring folks waffling about this, that and the other. If you like Clint Eastwood and have a spare £10 then you can't go far wrong with this collection.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
ignore people saying this is not a good collection!
there are 6 dvds in this box set. each movie is perfect in a 16:9 aspect ratio, there are extras , documentaries, some very interesting interviews and more! what a great set of movies, timeless classics i will watch over and over again. make sure you get the box set with 6 discs and you wont go wrong.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
I'm just wondering as to how much detail I should provide about these classic films, because chances are that anyone looking to purchase this box set will have already seen them in their original format. The films speak for themselves, and so you'll just have to watch them to appreciate them, because frankly, no review can epitomize the quintessential quality of film-making within this trilogy. I've read elsewhere that some people thought the restoration process desecrated the quality and enjoyment of the originals. I own both the original and remastered sets, and I think that they did a good job revamping the picture, sound, and implementing the new footage and voice overs. Ultimately, the new footage corrects a couple of continuity problems endemic to the original versions, particularly for The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly. Well worth buying, you shan't be disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
This box set of 6 dvds is wonderfully put together, with the epic movies and a whole slab of extras. The packaging looks amazing, and the transfer of the movies to DVD is quite clear. Also the movies are the full uncut versions (which I hadn't seen before), with a few extended or more graphic action scenes.

If you're a lover of these movies, this is the best collection of them I've seen to date.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
For those who really want to buy this but are afraid of Madame Tussauds being involved in the mastering of these discs - heres the details.
A fistful of dollars - grain fully intact, excellent picture quality.
For a few dollars more - again, grain fully intact and excellent picture quality.
The good, the bad and the ugly - not good news. This one looks very smooth. I dont know how bad it will look on a big screen as I only have a 37" but theres hardly any grain visable at all! It still looks a lot better than the DVD (same restored version) but it should do anyway!
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2009
Spaghetti Westerns Collection is presented in a 6-Disc digipack.

Audio, Subtitles and Ratio information for movies (Disc 1's)

----------
----------

Fistful of Dollars;

Audio: English DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

----------

For a Few Dollars More;

Audio: English DTS 5.1, French DTS 5.1, English Dolby Digital 5.1, French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: Danish, Dutch, English HoH, Finnish, French, Norwegian and Swedish
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

----------

The Good, The Bad and the Ugly;

Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1, French Dolby Digital 5.1, German Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: Czech, Danish, Dutch, English HoH, Finnish, French, German HoH, Greek, Hebrew, Croatian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Swedish and Turkish
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)