Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£35.62+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2005
Some good, bad, and totally mental tracks on here, from old Skool Jungle (Police In Helicopter, etc.) to newer pendulum tracks. I own a lot of these tracks on vinyl, but they are smootly compiled by the master that is DJ Hype. This would be a good cd for anyone who is getting into dnb, and for anyone who loves it already, but wants something to take to House parties (not everyone is privlaged with decks!!). This is one of the only dnb compilations that i dont end up skipping half the tracks, usually u find a handfull of good tracks mixed with a bunch of the same old same old. This is not the case with this compilation, there is a real sense of merging old styles with new, the outcome being a really cool set of 3cds. Afterall it is only a tenner, and its worth every penny (even if some of the mixes are a little bit dubious, they would be cracking live)!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2005
As this was a very commercial drum and bass release, I was very skeptical about buying it from the beginning. That feeling turned out to be justified when I began listening to it.
Now don't get me wrong, some of the tunes on here are excellent, but some of them have been completely destroyed by DJ Hype. He uses effects throughout this mix which make you think that the CD is skipping or your speakers have something wrong with them, it just does not sound good at all. He also insists on having his name said every few minutes throughout every one of his mixes, which becomes irritating after a while. He's a great DJ but he has gone way over the top on this occasion.
This gets a generous 3 stars from me because it does have some really nice tunes, but unfortunately that doesn't fully make up for the ones that have been destroyed by Hype.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Love this album been after a copy for years, I can happily listen to all 3 cd's back to back without it getting old. DJ Hype really gives a drum and bass master class, i personally love the Duppy man into pendulum mix on disc 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2006
OK, as a DJ myself I really appreciated this cd. If you want a cd of the original songs then don't buy this. It says on the front MIXED by DJ Hype so obviously the songs are going to be cut up and mixed together in Hype's individual style. Maybe not to all tastes but if you are a DJ or see a lot of drum and bass you will probably appreciate it. Also some people say they expected hypes stuff, I don't know why. Get this clear, IT IS A SELECTION OF THE BIGGEST TRACKS OF 2005 BY VARIOUS ARTISTS JUST MIXED BY HYPE. If you want a cd of tracks produced by DJ Hype dont buy this.
I thought this was a very good album and enjoyed listening to it and appreciating how DJ Hype cut some of the tracks up as I have heard most of the original tracks before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
To be honest cd2 of this compilation is the only one i really to listen too, theres a few scattered bangers on the other 2 cds but way to much filler! Also what is hype doing with the delay effect on his mixer? He needs to sort that out big style because its ruined many of the tracks for example dillinja's in the grind - i cringe every time I hear it! There are though, on the other hand some excellent bits of mixing, like when he brings in tink ya bad from now its over - SIK! If you can find it for under a tenner than get it but otherwise sorry dj hype, must try harder
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
I don't know how people can say this is a bad album, this was the first drum and bass album i ever bought and i think its quality!

From the second i heard this album i fell in love with drum and bass and i've loved it ever since!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
i love my drum and bass i mix on vinyls all the time and i can tell you that this is the perfect drum and bass cd. its great every track is different but classy!i do recommend this cd to any drum and bass fan!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
This CD is class. All the tunes are 2005 dancefloor killers. If you like Hype's individual style you will love this. The 3rd CD is a bit short though, but at £8.49, it's a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
great value for money and worked perfectly fine even tho it was old. I was expecting more from this tho after reading the reviews. The music is a bit to jumpy for my liken and it could have been better produced tbh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I have to admit i hate this music,,,, so why did i buy the cd??? It was for my son,,, the item was in excellent condition and i would buy from this buyer again,,,, as for the music on it my son says it is bad (which means good to him lol)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)