Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
great album what more can i say? buy it! fast delivery by prime perfect condition as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
After listening to The Rasmus live at Newcastle and owning Dead Letters and Live letters since they were released I was keen to own a copy of their new album and I wasn't disappointed. If you asked me to choose a favourite song I would'nt be able to as there are so many good ones. All of them are catchy from the currently released No Fear to the slightly softer Keep your Heart Broken. Lauri's strong husky yet smooth voice is complimented by Aki, Eero and Pauli's strong and smooth playing and backing vocals, all together they are a band to be reckoned with. I would suggest it's a must for all The Rasmus fans.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
This album seriously blew me away. Hide from the Sun builds on the melancholic, haunting style of Dead Letters, but then drags you that one step further with upbeat positivity as well. The range of songs is a real eye-opener, with heavier tracks such as Shot, Night After Night and Lucifer's Angel, and more mellow songs like Sail Away and Don't Let Go. The band appear tighter than ever and their music is even more polished and well-thought-out than before. Lauri, Aki, Pauli and Eero's musical talent and Lauri's dynamic vocals have been used to maximum effect so every song is different and there is a track to suit any mood you are in.
I really couldn't name a favourite track, the mood you are in will dictate which songs you want to hear...listen and see what I mean.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2005
This album I found to be one of their best (And as stated earlier, this isn't their fifth album, but their 7th - if you include Hellofacollection - ).
Having only bought the Special Edition version (after hearing many in-praise reviews of Dancer in the Dark) I would say that, for Open My Eyes, I would re-buy the album in the regular edition.
Anyway, enough about that. The album is a lot darker and heavier than their 2004 album 'Dead Letters', however the songs are nevertheless still as catchy as other songs have previously been.
The unfortunately unsuccessful single 'No Fear' failed to reach it's full potential as it is a strikingly good song, however this cannot be the song to represent the album as other songs such as 'Dead Promises' and 'Lucifer's Angel' are much more powerful!
Mixed in with the heavy songs are of course, those beautiful ballads which The Rasmus seem to be extrmely good at. 'Sail Away' (Single released Nov 14th), 'Don't Let Go' and 'Keep Your Heart Broken' are the exact songs to show how beautifully sad a song can be. The melodies are simple - mixed in with the odd high note or two - and the guitars are catchy and have been known enduce swaying.
Anyway, I really am getting carried away. I thought this album was brilliant and is now under a tenner (£1 more for the Special Edition - with Bonus track: 'Dancer in the Dark' instead of 'Open My Eyes') What more do you need?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
another amazing album by the rasmus,if you loved dead letters you'll love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2005
well what a cd this is!
all the tracks are fun to listen to and catchy. Some of my favourites are track 3. No fear, track 2. Night after Night and track 4. Lucifers angel.
Lauri sounds great on this cd, he sings the songs with emotion and passion. The bass is played extremely well and i especially like the drum work in No fear and Shot.
Having heard this Album im looking foward to the tour that might follow (i hope one does at least).
Just a shame you cant get this in the shops in Britain, or at least, i couldnt find it anywhere. However, just because you cant find it, doesnt mean you shouldnt own this brilliant album by a brilliant band.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2006
As a big fan of Dead Letters, I bought this album as soon as I heard of its existence and I wasn't disappointed. I am in fact listening to it as I write this review!
Keeping very much with the same feel of the previous album, this is a nice mix of soulful lyrics and melodies with the usual rock riffs characteristic of the Rasmus.
The only bad thing I would say is that if you have listened to Dead Letters a lot (as I have) you can pick up on some replication of lyrics from it in this album. Although, that isn't necessarily a bad thing because they are good lyrics!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2005
This is a very polished album with a slightly lighter sound than their last, because Lauri (lead singer) has really mellowed his voice for some of the tracks, especially Sail Away which is really beautiful and the single No Fear is very infectious with its beat and vocals. Some of the songs take a couple of listens but once you relax with your earphones on it really grabs you.
It is well worth buying beacuase once you've played it, it will stick in your head, and you won't stop humming....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2006
This follow up to 2004's platinum-selling 'Dead Letters' album is one of the best The Rasmus have given. With heavy rock songs such as 'Heart Of Misery' and 'Immortal', and soft ballads like 'Sail Away' and 'Don't Let Go', this is the perfect album for any Rasmus and alternative fan!
My personal favourite on this album is 'Dancer In The Dark' which is a bonus track to the Limited Edition version of the CD. The song starts with an eerie piano tune and then smashes in to a window-breaking guitar riff, followed by singer Lauri Ylönen's deep and husky vocals.
I also think that 'No Fear', 'Immortal' and 'Heart Of Misery' compliments the album. Weaker songs such as 'Keep Your Heart Broken' are common personal favourites to Rasmus fans.
Bonus tracks on different versions of the album are also just as good as the actual album tracks. 'Trigger' is a punk/rock masterpiece with a hint of pop; 'Open My Eyes' is a slow yet beautiful song with an amazing chorus; and 'Dancer In The Dark'...you know my opinion of that track. :)
I highly recommend this album for any Rasmus fan, or anybody getting interested in the band.
5/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2006
After 2004's breakthrough album Dead Letters The Ramsus had a lot to live up to with this album. I think that they pulled it off. This album is slightly darker and contains some slightly heavier songs with the same melodic sounds that this band have always used. The tunes are catchy and memorable, especially Shot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)