Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 September 2013
I wasn't quite sure what to think when I originally approached this album. There's a slight shift in style between this album and the previous, Wages of Sin, in which new singer Angela Gossow debuted, although it may have been more evident upon its time of release as opposed to now, where the most recent albums are even more of a shift.

At a push, Anthems of Rebellion is slightly more rhythm orientated than its predecessor, albeit not overly. What struggled to sell me to this album is it feels like just a continuation of Wages of Sin, without pushing any further boundaries. There's nothing new here, very little evolution, although as Wages was a brilliant album, that isn't a bad thing.

With the exception of one track ("Anthem", which I've always thought sounded eerily close to a Steps to S-Club 7 tunewise. Either way I believe it's one of the weakest of their instrumentals), they're all solid songs and worthy of their place in the Arch Enemy discography.

I guess my point is this: it's a good album, and if you're a fan, buy it. But if you're just getting into Arch Enemy, this album is wedged between Wages of Sin and Doomsday Machine - both of which in my opinion are superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2007
If you know who Arch Enemy are you'll have a very polarised, almost Marmite like, opinion of them. If you don't know them they're a mixed origin "Melodic-Doom-Metal" band (Michael Amott's creation, not mine) They're heavier than pretty much all popular metal.

There are faster metal bands about (not many though) but that's not always the point. Sometimes its the changes in speed which have the effect rather than all-out-face-blasting-double-pedalling-brute-madness.

Personally I love this album. In the past, when thee mood has overtaken me, I've always wanted to listen to something that was face-stampingly heavy but melodic and have never owned anything to appease myself.

Now I do own just such a thing (plurally, see below).

My favourites on this album are "Leader of The Rats" which has an excellent head-banger of an intro/verse and "End of The Line" which has rare reverb-laden male backing and really completes an awesome, angry classic of a song. "We Will Rise" is also an excellent example of what these guys are about.

I bought this album at the same time as "Doomsday Machine", Arch Enemy's most recent album. I'm glad I did. I now remember how metal should be: angry enough to make you want to eat babies!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
I have missed having this cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2015
Most excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2003
This is an awesome piece of metal and if you like your metal heavy/musical, with excellent production, then this is a must. Reminds me of Killswitch Engage and Soilwork ect.
It's heavy and it rocks like hell...if you liked their last album, then you will not be dissapointed by this great piece of music.
Thrash/Power/Speed metal, or whatever you wanna call it is now so much cleaner and crisper in terms of production and the musicians are fantastic on this also. If you want HEAVY music...then get this...if you like GROWLS and SCREAMS...then get this...if you want great production...then get this.
Basically - GET THIS!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2014
Brought for my autistic son and going by the look on his face (big smile) he is very happy,he knows all about this band and bands similar well packed quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2004
A Thrash / Melodic Death band fronted by a woman? Some kind of joke, you may think. Once you hear Arch Enemy doing their stuff though, you won't think that. Angela Gossow certainly knows what she's doing when it comes to extreme Metal vocals, and whilst you can tell it's a woman singing on this record (on the previous one, she sounded for all the world as if she was a man), there's nothing girly about her performance. However, for all her good singing, Arch Enemy are all about the guitar playing of the Amott brothers, in particular Michael who writes Thrash riffs like other people breathe air; it just comes naturally to him. Listen to the first track after the intro, 'Silent Wars' and if you're any kind of Metal fan, I defy you not to bang your head to it! It's that kind of song, in fact it's that kind of album. Pure headbanging heaven. It's by no means the heaviest Thrash album ever released, but then again, that's not what they're trying to do with it. Having said that, it does have a nice crunch to it, though bands like The Crown are far heavier in this genre. If you like Melodic Death bands like In Flames or Soilwork, or slightly harder kinds of modern Thrash like The Haunted or Dew-Scented you should check out Arch Enemy with all haste, they're sure to be right up your street.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2004
A Thrash / Melodic Death band fronted by a woman? Some kind of joke, you may think. Once you hear Arch Enemy doing their stuff though, you won't think that. Angela Gossow certainly knows what she's doing when it comes to extreme Metal vocals, and whilst you can tell it's a woman singing on this record (on the previous one, she sounded for all the world as if she was a man), there's nothing girly about her performance. However, for all her good singing, Arch Enemy are all about the guitar playing of the Amott brothers, in particular Michael who writes Thrash riffs like other people breathe air; it just comes naturally to him. Listen to the first track after the intro, 'Silent Wars' and if you're any kind of Metal fan, I defy you not to bang your head to it! It's that kind of song, in fact it's that kind of album. Pure headbanging heaven. It's by no means the heaviest Thrash album ever released, but then again, that's not what they're trying to do with it. Having said that, it does have a nice crunch to it, though bands like The Crown are far heavier in this genre. If you like Melodic Death bands like In Flames or Soilwork, or slightly harder kinds of modern Thrash like The Haunted or Dew-Scented you should check out Arch Enemy with all haste, they're sure to be right up your street.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2004
Ignore that guy who said this was rubbish, this is sweet. Pounding riffs, incredible solo's and the singer actually adds to the songs in this one. (unlike past efforts). But to be fair Arch Enemy aren't about lyrics. Best song is Leader Of The Rats but all the songs are great. The only thing that did annoy me was that a few of the songs are very similar, but apart from that this is one of Arch Enemy's best albums. I also recommend Wages Of Sin and Burning Bridges, but all Arch Enemy's stuff is good. I especially recommend it if you play guitar (its so good to play along to).
Basically you need this album if your into any kind of metal music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2003
2003 has been far from the finest year for the melodic metal genre. In Flames released 'Reroute to Remain', an album that whilst perhaps not as bad as its harshest critics would make out is almost certainly the weakest album the band have released and Soilwork released 'Figure Number Five', an album which in itself was not a huge departure from their previous effort 'Natural Born Chaos' and whilst being a good album, had a certain rushed quality to it. Arch Enemy however, a band that have never really fit in to the typical "Gothenburg sound" with their heavier, 'Heartwork'-era Carcass influence sound, have certainly come up trumps with this, their fifth studio album and most diverse album to date.
Following steadily on from the progress made on 'Wages of Sin', the band have stepped up a gear and reintroduced a little of the heaviest lost on 'Wages...', resulting in an album that combines the melodic strengths of that album with the heaviness and intensity of 'Stigmata'. Opening track "Silent Wars" is an Arch Enemy classic with superb drumming, a heavy crushing main riff and superb lead guitars as always. From the outset it is clear that the band have neither watered down their sound ala In Flames or gone for a more direct, accessible approach ala Soilwork.
If you've heard any of the tracks from this album already, such as "We Will Rise" or "Leader of Rats", which have both been released as promos, then you may worry that this is not going to be a great album. All lectures about judging a 13 track album on the basis of a couple of tracks aside, there is no cause for concern because these are hardly the strongest tracks on the album - although they do sound more appealing within the context of the album. "We Will Rise" reminds of "Tears Of The Dead" in places and the songs slower pace is only one aspect of the album. As mentioned earlier, this is a diverse album: "Silent Wars", "Dead Eyes See No Future" and album closer "Saints and Sinners" are classic Arch Enemy tracks, "Despicable Heros" is an intense thrasher in the vein of The Haunted, and then there is "End Of The Line" and "Dehumanization", the two tracks with clean vocals courtesy of Chris Amott. The use of clean vocals is unlike that of Soilwork's recent outings, instead used as backing vocals to compliment Angela's growls. The clean vocals are restrained and add a unique edge to Arch Enemy's style. In moderation, this is something I'd like to hear on future Arch Enemy albums.
'Anthems of Rebellion' is a tight, heavy album that gets better the more you listen to it. The production is crisp and heavy, and flatters the band's sound immensely. The musicianship is unsurprisingly second to none, and Angela's vocals seem to have improved slightly since 'Wages...', giving the music an extra brutal edge that Johan Liiva was simply unable to do on the bands earlier material with his often monotonous - albeit unique - bark. That's not to say that Liiva was a bad vocalist; indeed, fans will always argue over who is the better vocalist and lets not forget that Liiva undoubtedly improved over the course of the three studio (and one live) albums that he appeared on. Angela's growl is far from original but it fits in with the music just fine - she does the job.
The band have managed to progress without doing anything to alienate their fans, and as a result have a lot of life in them yet. 'Anthems...' is rarely dull and it's hard to see why any Arch Enemy fan could not like this. It's not a perfect album, but albums rarely are. You could nitpick away at this if you really wanted to, but if you just sit back and listen you realise that what you are listening to is a great slab of heavy metal. The results on this album are all to evident and 'Anthems of Rebellion' is a great album that is easily on par with anything the band have done before, and will only disappoint only the most hardened of cynics. This deserves a place in any Arch Enemy or melodic metal fan's collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)