Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2006
What a huge surprise Arch Enemy are! Surely, you'll say, any band with a female vocalist can never REALLY make it as a true metal band... not so!

After hearing their latest album, The Doomsday Machine, i thought i'd check this out too... and man i'm glad i did.

Like the latest album, Wages of Sin is just pure, heavy metal. It's all about the massive riffs and solos. Think very much along the lines of bands like the mighty InFlames or possibly bands like Chimaira & LambOfGod. The Opening 4 or 5 tracks are just sheer brutality. Enemy Within, Burning Angel, Ravenous, absolutely top notch.

The vocals are very 'death' and harsh, but like i said, if you are a fan of InFlames, Chimaira or Trivium etc etc then no doubt you'll be used to it and will love Arch Enemy.

I can't find a fault with this great metal record. Deserves top marks! Definitely recommend this for fans of anything really heavy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2002
Arch Enemy are an amazing band. This CD has crushingly heavy riffs, mixed with more melodic interludes. And by melodic I don't mean keboards, I mean guitars. The twin lead assault of the Amott brothers simply takes your breath away. These days, the guitar solo has been all but forgoten. The new 'Killswitch Engage' album is amazing, but it lacks guitar solo's. Not so hear. This CD has some of the best guitar work ever recorded. And it is heavy as hell. The vocals are first rate, and you really would NEVER know it was a woman. No high piched squeals here, just crushing metal vocals. Top this off with a bonus CD with older tracks that have not been available in Europe, this is a must own for anyone who loves metal. Amazing stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2002
Until recently I thought the days of classic 'old skool' metal(apart from some dodgy euro mullet metallers) were over. This album has lead me to re-appraise that view. Initial listening reveals a band extending the blueprint laid down by Carcass in their latter stages, all melodic guitar flourishes and brutal time changes. After a couple of listens, however, it became clear that what makes Arch Enemy stand out from the rest of the pack is their songwriting. Tracks like 'Ravenous' and 'Hearts Of Darkness' stand out in particular. Unlike many other Nuclear Blast/Century Media bands, Arch Enemy have succeeded in transcending their genre and have created an album that can actually stand up with the classics of metal such as Master of Puppets or Number Of The Beast. If a few more Death metal bands realised that it's tunes and not just velocity that make good records we might have a few more albums like this. The only bar between them and greatness is the fact that no-one has heard of them. It's about time that the media took note and supported this fine group.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
If you are not familiar with Arch Enemy they are one of the most popular Death Metal bands of the moment. They have been around awhile and were formed by ex-Carcass guitarist Michael Amott. They sport two of the most talented guitarists ever, brothers Mike and Chris Amott, a powerful and tight rythmn section and a female vocalist, Angela Gossow.

The band play technical, driving metal with great rythmnic riffs and a great ,but subtle, sense of melody. The songs are without question very heavy with melodic sections, usually in choruses or guitar solos. When I say melodic i must stress the melodies are soley in the guitars not the vocals and its not what I would call 'too melodic' for example power or battle metal. Angelas vocals are better than most male vocalists, she has more of a grunt than Alexi from Bodom while not going into the Cannibal Corpse or Nile region, a great metal singer. A stand out point here is the guitar playing. The solos and melodies here are outstanding, 2 brothers with outstanding skill. Mike has a very recognisable style and create a catchy and memorable melodic lines whereas as Chris has unparrelled technical skill on the instrument with an original approach to melodies and solos.

Arch Enemy are band who must be listened to and this is only one of their must have albums.

For fans of straight up heavy, heavy metal that has melodic flavourings, memorable tunes and incedible guitar work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
highly enjoyable, exciting metal. Arch Enemy have pretty much nailed the perfect metal sound I reckon. Angela Gossow, what an inspiration she is. And to think I used to believe that only guys could do death metal vocals. I humbly bow before the woman who proved me wrong. Both she and Arch Enemy are totally awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
This album has some excellent guitar playing which is the main reason why I bought this album, the vocals are pretty bad, but then again this is death metal were talking about.
One nice feature of this album is that it comes with a bonus disc with covers and rare tracks, including a very aggressive cover of aces high by iron maiden, which again isn't brilliant but is worth a listen, as it is an interesting take on the song.
I would only recommend this album if you are a big death metal fan, in which case you'll love it. Otherwise, you may think of it as a bit extreme.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
This is an excellent album and I strongly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Brilliant album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Most excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)