Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
64
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2014
If you are a le Carre fan watch the film first. Basically a good story, but disappointing.
The film starts very well by showing how a road accident confirms to an department struggling for its survival the need to mount an operation in an attempt to justify its existence. It is from this point the film is spoilt by a lack of background detail, as though parts of the story had to be cut to keep within budget. Also the use of a young illegal immigrant as the agent with little knowledge and training coupled with his attitude put into a no win situation stretches the imagination to the desperate state of the 'Department's' resources. The final scenes of children playing give a somewhat ironic twist to the opening scenes. Not the best adaptation of a J le C novel, but it does introduce a character who is to become a main feature in later books, (not certain where this one comes in the order of writing). I think a BBC version would do the book more justice. Alternatively, read the book, don't bother with the film.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Its the UK 70s film industry so the budget is small and it shows, the book I should imagine is better crafted but the plot is not so timeless as his others as it plays on post war UK decline so I suspect its one for the older viewer and reader any way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
I did not think that the subtle account of the British class system so masterfully given by Le Carré in this and other stories was conveyed by this film.
There should be real anger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Stilted acting and very '60s in its overall presentation. Not a patch on other LeCarré film adaptations.
I thought it a huge disappointment in comparison to the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Preferred the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Most disappointing.1star only. My mistake, I thought it was based on a John Le Carre
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
a very good cold war spy film well worth watching recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Easily the worst film adaption of a Le Carre novel I have seen. Very little to recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
I lived and worked in West Berlin throughout 1967 and extensively toured the old DDR in 1988. I often crossed over through Checkpoint Charlie into East Berlin and I can assure you the locations etc smell of the old East Germany. I enjoyed the film although I found the opening segment a little upsetting. It's not quite up to the standard of other Le Carre stories made into films. Try it, you might like it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
John Le Carre is a particular novelist whose books have been meticulously transformed into several films and tv series that have often worked well and been highly acclaimed.

In my opinion the choice of actors has been key to their success--- Burton and Guinness immediately come to mind.
Put simply the lead role in 'Looking Glass' is played by Christopher Jones which, for me, just didn't work.He looks like a cross between James Dean and Billy Fury (for those that can remember that pop star) and was simply too 'pretty' to make his role work not withstanding that he wasn't a particularly good actor.

He was having an affair with a pregnant Sharon Tate just before her horrific murder by the Manson sect,and soon turned his back on Hollywood and rarely appeared in films afterwards.

Sorry to digress. Anthony Hopkins was quietly effective in his support role as trainer to Jones's budding spy. Delectable Susan George appeared briefly as a dolly bird as did Micheal Robbins (Olive's husband in 'On The Buses'), both leaving their impact on the film.

Also solid support from Sir Ralph Richardson, Paul Rogers and a cameo from Tim West playing a sleazy go-between which wasn't nearly as effective as Micheal Horden's wonderful turn in a similar role in 'The Spy Who Came In From The Cold'.

A watchable thriller but not as good as some other Le Carre adaptions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)