Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2013
An orchestrated DVD which purports to be behind the scenes but has the press manipulation of Alistair Campbell written all over it. Not a very inspiring watch at all, hardly any off the cuff moments. A million miles behind 'Living With Lions' of the victorious 1997 tour which remains to this day the best behind the scenes video of The British and Irish Lions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Such a poor documentary film. The voiceover running through it is shocking, the footage is poor, things are not explained clearly and it just does not feel special. Poor tour, poor DVD.

And apparently the speech of "whoever put you in this position, be it a Parent, School Master, Grandparent..." is standard procedure on all Lions tours!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
After waiting nearly 4 years for this DVD to be released, it is the biggest letdown of any DVD I have ever purchased The 1997 and to a lesser extent the 2001 DVD gave everyone a great insight into the workings of an elite team, and the two best DVD's I have in my collection by far... It showed the highs and lows, and were fantastic advertisements for the game and the Lions. This 2005 attempt is certainly not. Any speeches (Geech and Lawrence D) were muffled so you have to turn the volume up max just to get an idea of what they said. Hardly any behind the scenes at all...and nothing in the dressing room before the game, half times etc....False advertising I would say !
Looks like it is put together by NZ tourism and not worth buying. I would suggest that the producers of this flim at least have the decency to give Rugby fans a "Directors Cut" or similar and re release the whole thing again (and add in all the things that fans want to see, not simply a bunch of players walking around tourist sites!!!)...Take the narration out and let us see what this DVD is supposed to be.
The "Tour Movie" in its current form is pathetic and certainly not worth buying.
From a Lions fan who paid to have the DVD shipped to Australia at great cost only to be totally let down...
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2006
Lets face it, If Woodworm had lived up to his own hype and won a game this video would have been a best seller in the UK. He didn't and so everyone is watching Freddie Flintoff over coronation turkey.
Whilst this is not as good a video as the Australian tour it is insightfull on how not to run a rugby tour. Anyone that watches this dvd will understand exactly why the Lions were so bad, top heavy on management and thin on substance.
Watching Clive say the tour was a success was priceless and worth sitting through the fill in bits.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2005
Being a huge fan of Lions rugby (I'm Irish) i wholeheartedly looked forward to this DVD......what a disappointment, not only from the point of view of the series itself, but of the actual content that is in the DVD.
All I can say is that it is in my opinion a complete waste of money, it would be less than a star if I could figure out how to do it!!!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2005
If youre after a dull alistair campbell edited sanatised false take on how succesful the lions tour was then this is for you. I wanted to turn it off after 15 minutes; it is not an inside look at how the tour progressed at all, but rather a dull series of interviews and narratives about how well everyone gets on, how beautfiul the scenery was, how much fun allistair campbell really is, how drunk and good natured the supporters were, and generally what a fantastic successful lions tour the whole operation was. they were the best prepared lions tour of all time, the results of the matches dont really matter because of their achievements in running such a great tour. This is topped off in every scene by embarrasing 'gags' from donnaca o callaghan, ho ho ho look at this prankster, he's irish and therefore funny. talk about embarrasing.
Its quality actually summarises the tour; labour spinned underachievement of potential.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2005
What an apsolute f**king shambles!
The 2001 & 1997 lions behind the scenes footage are a country mile better than this! Some of the features that made the last two DVDs so powerful were the coaches pre-match speeches, the atmosphere and tension that surrounded dressing room, have both disappeared.
The emphasis, for the majority of the DVD, surrounds the backroom staff, Prince William's tour, and Alistair Campbell. With very little time on the tests. The last two tours DVDs have had a very personal magnetism, I feel that voice-over spoils this ambience.
For those who have seen the feature length footage behind the scenes, of the last two tours, and who are hoping for something special from the 2005 tour, I wouldn't bother! I would wait until the next tour.
Its the Biggest anticlimax, I have ever witnessed. It pretty much summarises the tour. So much potential and talent amongst the players, and which promised so much. Yet wasted by SCW who ran the tour like a holiday camp!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
Having collected the magnificent DVD on the 1997 Lions tour and the very good one from 2001 I was looking forward to seeing what happened 'inside the Lions Den'. I was disappointed to say the least.
Contrary to the suggestion that Kiwis might enjoy this DVD, I can assure you as a Kiwi that I did not. The Lions are my second favourite international team behind the All Blacks but I got nothing out of this awful, tedious documentary.
Never mind, I can always put in the 1997 DVD and watch Jim Telfer's speech to the forwards before the third test. Hair-raising stuff!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)