Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
Essential Handel
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£57.17+ £3.98 shipping


VINE VOICEon 23 May 2011
Having seen the film The King's Speech and having just had the Royal Wedding and with the Queen's Jubilee coming up I wanted to have a recording of Zadok the Priest amongst my CDs. This was the main reason for buying this compilation.
The choice turned out to be very good and all the items on it are well worth listening to. So for a sample of Handel and an excellent Zadok this is a very good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2015
Brilliant Handel music, no other description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2005
This is the Handel sampler I have been always been looking for. How does one share one’s delight in Handel’s music with others? Giving them a complete opera or oratorio is often simply not practicable. But here Hyperion have produced, under the unerring direction of Robert King, a marvellously rich series of extracts varied enough to capture the most unsympathetic of listeners. The glorious duet from ‘Il Moderato’ is the highlight. Although the words cannot rise to Milton’s level the music is heart-stopping. Listen to it again and again – it pierces the soul. But there is much more. ‘Zadok the Priest’, a touch slower than one might expect, receives a strikingly controlled performance with one of the most electrifying introductions I can remember. There is so much here to enjoy. Even the booklet is packed with information and commentary. I am buying multiple copies as Christmas gifts for those to whom Handel is as yet unknown. Thank you, Robert King and Hyperion.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2006
This is a great CD for beginners, but also for those who already have a few Handel CDs. So often samplers have all the favourites which you already have on other CDs. But this set has a few well-known tracks, such as Zadok the Priest, See the Conqu'ring Hero Comes and La Rejouissance from The Fireworks, but mostly wonderful music, superbly played which is not extremely well known.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2011
I dusted this off my shelf recently and once more enjoyed this wonderfully put together collection/ sampler of Handel's finest. As detailed in the other reviews this is a remarkable collection. If your new to Handel this is a good sampler of his best works, although I think all his works are great. If you are a collector, here is one not to miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2005
Even for those who are normally adverse to such compilations it's hard not to surrender to the endless delights on offer.There's an attractive mixture of the familar and the more obscure:who can fail but be swept away by the majestic 'Solemn March' from Joshua (track 15)or the beguiling 'Hark! he strikes the golden lyre'(track 16)where the the sequential figure three minutes in is utterly heart wrenching.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2010
I can't fault this CD. It is everything I wanted and more and covers a wide range of musical styles, all of which are brilliant. I cant stop playing it. I will now be lookin at other essential composers to add to my collection. Amazon service was exceptionally good as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2010
not quite what I expected, would have liked just the music rather than all the vocals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Essential Handel
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here