Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 3 May 2010
Melinda returns to school as a social outcast. With no real friends and no one to talk to she finds it harder and harder to discuss her problems. Melinda was raped at a party and she keeps it a secret from everyone. Slowly but surely the secret is eating her up from the inside out. Trying to deal she takes a keen interest in her art project for school but with only herself locked away in her head she seeps deeper and deeper into depression.

Speak is an absolutely touching story about a girl who has been hurt but is unable to talk to people about it. This simply constructed movie has a powerful storyline that had me drawn in from the first five minutes. I also love the fact that there is no 'Hollywood trim' on this movie, it is just a story and that's what makes it so good.
Kristen Stewart played the role of Melinda beautifully, and I think this is the best movie I have seen her in.
Anyone who watches movies for their story and not for special effects and violence then this is a perfect choice.
I didn't actually realise that this was originally a book until I searched for the movie here on Amazon, and I plan on reading it as soon as possible.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Not an easy subject and obviously one that slipped under the radar. Kristen Stewart has her critics and the label of being unemotional. However, in this early release she really does act and without doubt clearly has talent. The end result is a very moving film with a tough storyline, acted brilliantly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I read the book first and found the film on here sold through 'Czech out' brilliant service.in English and they provided a translation of menu if you needed it.film sticks pretty much to the book and I really enjoyed it.Kristen Stewart is great as the lead,definitely worth a watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Love this film and think it should be better well known!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
A great, if somewhat unknown film from Kristen Stewarts pre Twilight days. Why did a popular outgoing girl become withdrawn and shunned? Watch it and see! Bought my copy via Marketplace from a seller in Prague - service above and beyond expectation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
I enjoyed this film but I didn't love it as much as the other reviewers. It did have a strong message though which I thought was handled well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Such a great film. Anyone who says that Kristen Stewart cannot act must watch this. Great story, you can really sympathise with her character. I love this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS:- Allowing for the fact that Kristen Stewart was still a mere 14 year old when she completed this movie I'm surprised she didn't receive an award of the Highest Order for her performance in this film, Speak in which she plays a young girl in her first year of High School who ventures to a party with friends attended by dozens of young people, many older than her and finds herself being scooped-up and kissed by the boy that all the girls want to be kissed by? Being young,naive and sexually inexperienced she is taken advantage of by this savage who rapes her in a jeep in the grounds of the venue before walking away to leave the girl traumatised beyond belief,in pain both physically and mentally and unable to take in what has happened?
She stumbles back inside and manages to call the Police who attend but SHE is too upset and walks off without reporting the attack BUT is dubbed a grass by her so-called 'friends' for causing the party-break-up and at school is treated like a leper. Of course the fellow pupils don't know what really happened because SHE in turn has chosen to say nothing to anyone, including her parents who are seemingly far too wrapped-up in their own lives to notice a distinct change of personality in their daughter?
I don't want to give-away any more of what is a really fantastic story that had me feeling so sorry for the 'victim' and the way she was being treated by those around her even though she was bringing most of it on herself by saying nothing, but where was her evidence NOW? Director Jessica Sharzer did a good job and Cinematographer Andrij Parekh captured all the expressions in Stewarts eyes and Steve Zahns when he looks in the store room beautifully! A real treat.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Instantly one of my favourite films. Couldn't get this from highstreet stores, good price and very fast delivery, not sure if it was actually brand new, but it works perfectly well anyway. Would recommend.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2006
As a low budget and very unpublicised movie there is some injustice that more people won't get a chance to experience the quality acting, touching storyline and controversial subject matter dealt with in "Speak".

I can only say that if you really want to spend a few pounds on something this month or year then make this top of your list because it will not let you down.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)