Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 4 April 2015
I have always loved the Stones, but felt that their last really good album was "Tattoo You," but as was well known, some of the tracks there date back several years before its release to the "Black and Blue" and "Some Girls" sessions, in the mid 1970s.
However, I was fortunate enough to see them in Paris last year, when they were superb, and played some more recent songs along with a string of their classic hits, so I thought I would try this, their most recent (and final?) studio album, particularly at a price below £5 for the original pressing. I have only heard it once since it arrived a couple of days ago, and there are a few tracks which don't do anything for me, which has often been the case with their albums but most of them show the Stones at their powerful best, with a few more moving tracks, as has always been their way. This album captures their most recent sound, and shows them still to be a cohesive band, with some great riffs from Keith, the superb Charlie driving them on, and of course, Mick, screeching, wailing, and occasionally, almost crying. Well worth exploring if, like me, you have tended only to listen to their 60s and 70s gems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2017
O yes Bang Bang
good album
tongue in cheek lyrics (obviously not all reviewers enjoy the humour)
clever sound and fun
Pure enjoyment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
Great album, think this album one of their best, had not heard all the tracks when I bought the album, but extremely pleased and impressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2005
I've had this Album for a few days now and it just gets better and better. It is the first Album by The Rolling Stones I have purchased, but of course I have heard their previous albums (My mother is a fan).
The songs are real quality, growing gradually as you listen to them - the way the greatest albums work.
The songs range perfectly in style giving a fine sense of value.
As usual the performances are as faultless as you would expect, perfectly played soloing and rythm, but also some of the rough edge that characterises the 'Stones.
Some have said they were dissapointed with the Album, I find this strange, but I feel it will grow on them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2014
This fits right in with 'exlie,'bleed,'fingers,mix is clarity, stones style, 21st century,play it all the time can't believe it's not a new release ,just got it in 2013 .......................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2016
After all these years ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2016
Not disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2015
OK, very good transaction, Thanks from Germany
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2014
Too long...loose five or six fillers and it would be a much better listen...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Voodoo Lounge
£4.84
Tattoo You
£7.99
Bridges To Babylon
£37.74

Need customer service? Click here