Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
91
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2010
This is the one to buy on Bluray.
The one with the white borders around the cover,it is a great print Taken from 35mm and it shows,
in its original ratio1.37 also original music score,
and a 1.23 Documentary as well.which is excellent.

THE OTHER BLURAY RELEASE . The print is a bit washed out in places and NO Doco.
Hope this helps.
22 Comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2006
Not only does this release have a weak transfer it's also a very heavily censored print.

It's nothing to do with the BBFC and everything to do with the awful print 'Contender' submitted to them.

At least 4 shots of flesh eating are missing from the 'barbecue' scene and the infamous 'trowel murder' has been reduced from 14 stabs to only 3 (almost the entire scene has gone).

Forget what the other reviewer says. This is one of the worst versions of the film in the UK and is a disgraceful release for a truly ground-breaking classic of the horror genre.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
This (contender) dvd release is one of the worst i have seen... it has at least 5cuts and the transfer is a poor compared to elite's millenium edition. if you want to buy this exellent clessic film, just do not by this version! i recommend Elite Entertainment - Millennium Edition.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2005
AS previous posters have noted there are loads of different editions now out of Night Of the Living Dead. If you love the original version of this film and do NOT want the god-awful special editions with either the horrible 'new-score' synth soundtrack (Scott Vladimir Licina) which ruins the film. Or the mind-bendingly bad new 18 minutes of extra footage re-shot in the late 90's which is even worse (thanks to John Russo), then be very careful which version you buy.
I bought the ORACLE version - mistake - no new footage but DOES have the new score. If you have never seen this film before then please make sure you get hold of the original un-butchered version. The best version available is still the ELITE millenium edition (this is NOT the 'special' edition) but just remastered with cleaned up picture and sound. This is sadly still unavailable in the UK but can be bought from the US and played on multi-region DVD players. NOTLD is still, in my opinion, one of the best horror films ever made but has been messed around with by people whom know nothing about good film-making and should be fed to a mob of starved zombies.
I'm giving this edition 1 star - should be a 5 of course but its been hacked to death.
WE'RE COMING TO GET YOU SCOTT VLADIMIR LICINA AND JOHN RUSSO!!!
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
Dont get me wrong before i start, i am a absolute romero nut and love zombie films, night of the living dead is my favourite movie of all time, i even run a website dedicated to it, now what i dont like about this item is the way it is advertised is very, VERY misleading... for a start its one disk only IT IS NOT TWO DISK as i found out when i received mine from amazon... secondly i resent the fact its advertised as a special edition, there are absolutly no special features apart from the documentry which is available on other DVD's, if you want this movie i advise the special edition version which comes in a metal tin, it has lots of features and is well worth the price. this one, STINKS.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2003
I'll never forget seeing "Night Of The Living Dead" for the first time, it delivered jolts all along the line. From the eerie opening scene in the graveyard when the zombie is sighted stumbling noiselessly through the headstones, to the claustrophobic scenes in the farmhouse, to the (much-copied) documentary-style newsroom scenes, this is first-class stuff, even if it was made on a shoestring budget. I find it hard to believe that anyone could not be unnerved by some of the dialogue used in the newsroom, because, far-fetched as the whole premise is, they make it seem so real! The remake in the early 1990s wasn't as bad as some would have you believe, but it simply lacked the full horror factor of the black-and-white low-budget original, and was nowhere near as good as "Dawn Of The Dead".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once upon a time a young girl and her brother traveled three hours from home to place flowers on the grave of their father. The brother started teasing his sister, telling her in a creepy voice, "They're coming to get you, Barbara." The only thing was, they really were. Only they got him first.
I first saw "Night of the Living Dead" when I came home one afternoon and discovered that the Iowa City Public Library Channel on cable was showing the film. I have to admit, I was rather surprised that this cult classic horror film would be on at a time when kids could come home and discover it on television (one of the living dead is naked and they do like to eat human flesh), but Iowa is a state that thinks caucuses are a good way of selecting presidential nominees, so what can I say? But this is a horror movie that is even scary in the daytime with all the lights on.
"The Night of the Living Dead" is a horror classic, which is rather surprising when you take into account that director George A. Romero made the film in 1968 for $114,000 without a cast of first time actors (extras who playing the zombies were paid $1 and a t-shirt that said "I was a zombie on Night of the Living Dead"). Filmed in black and white with Romero as the cinematographer, this film has a technical proficiency that is missing from other low-budget classics like "Dementia 13" and "Carnival of Souls." You can take or leave the various sequels to this film, but this one has to be on everyone’s Top 10 list when it comes to horror films.
The horror comes from the situation and the simple effectiveness of the slow moving, silent zombies in their growing numbers, their arms reaching out to find human flesh to eat. Barbara (Judith O'Dea) runs to an abandoned house, where she is joined by Ben (Duane Jones). After fending off the first attack of the living dead, they discover five more people hiding in the basement: Harry Cooper (Karl Hardman), his wife, Helen (Marilyn Eastman), and their daughter (Kyra Schon), along with a young couple, Tom (Keith Wayne) and Judy (Judith Ridley). Harry wants to hide out in the basement, but refuses to be trapped down there, and the two spend more time arguing about what to do than doing anything. They listen to the radio and watch the TV, learning that the dead are rising to eat the living, and try to figure out a way of getting out of the death trap in which they find themselves. Meanwhile, the little girl in the basement is getting weaker.
The only real weakness in the film is the attempt to explain why the dead are walking around as flesh-eating ghouls (which is, I believe, redundant), which has something to do with a satellite and scientific mumbo-jumbo that really does not mean anything to the people trying to survive against the growing horde of zombies. Fortunately, the "why" does not matter in this story; just the "how" in terms of taking these creatures down. Besides, if anything clinches this one it is the end of the film, both with its final twist, and the use of grainy still photographs to show the end of the tale. Few horror movies, whatever their budgets, have an ending this memorable.
Note: Avoid the colorized version. Avoid the expanded edition (necessitated somewhat by the fact the copyright on the original went public domain). Save the remake for sometime down the road. Stick to this original black & white classic.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
A horribly sinister Slow burner.
The characters are rich, complex and really get under your skin. The unhappy older couple are contrasted with the younger sweeter ones who actually talk to each other.
The zombies are pretty terrifying, strong, persistent and numerous, there's no reasoning with them, they just want to devour you. In a way though the zombies are not the real evil, it's the humans, their bitterness, their bickering, their cowardice, their malice. The cinematography and the make up is also impressive.
Our group comes up with a plan to escape which of course fails, the stakes rise as the zombies close in and the lights go out.
This is also a great Blu Ray transfer with superb picture and sound.
Some weird sci fi explanation is given to account for the zombie attack and the word zombie is never used, instead they are called Ghouls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
The Blu-Ray version of this classic horror movie has done well. The picture quality has been brilliantly improved so there is a LOT less film grain, and also the sound quality is much more crisp. You can actually hear what the characters are saying!
This version also has the original score soundtrack and doesn't have the stupid 1990's remake clips in it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 July 2015
If you love horror films or classic movies this is a must buy. Made in 1968 its still a fresh and exciting horror film even today. Romero's zombie films had a tendency to focus less on the undead and more on the human characters. Though even this first entry into the 'dead' has its fair share of gorey scenes. The actors, largely unknowns at the time, put in great performances that keep you hooked. Though Remero would certainly go on to better this film it stands the test of time as a thrilling horror film and a classic of the genre.

This Blu Ray offers a great quality picture and sound. There seem to be many different companies releasing this film, with varying success. However I can recommend this release from Studio Canal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse