Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2017
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
When i first bought this album, i just wanted get iron maiden into my music collection, and i saw this album had a good collection of songs on, and it was live which i have always enjoyed. But now? Its a vital part of music collection! This is a truely amazing album and portrays Iron Maiden so well, you could say you dont need to actually see them play.

The sheer energy and atmosphere that is on here is worth every penny! Now the songs, i believe the set list has all their best songs, and many classics. Each song has such an individual intro, you can just say 'i know this song'.

I know by previous reviews the crowd noise annoys people, but i believe its hardly noticable during the songs, and also ,when you go and see a live band, you cant tell people to stop cheering, so when a live album is produced, it has to portray a live gig! And what a live performance Iron Maiden give!

To sum up, this is a great album for any fan of maiden, or any fan of bruce dickinson. Also this is a great introduction to the older heavy metal bands and it will also appeal to modern day likers of heavier rock.

this is a must have, get it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2005
Iron Maiden have taken a lot of stick over the years for their regular releases of live albums. They released THREE in 1993 alone. You either love them for it or use it as an excuse to say they are ripping off their fans. I am a big fan and I never feel ripped off. I can`t get enough live Maiden and the news that they will be releasing one after every tour (to beat the bootleggers) is a reason to celebrate.
So where does "Death on the road" fit in? While "Live after death" remains the definitive live Iron Maiden recording, this could be the second best. The band sound a bit tighter than 2002`s "Rock in Rio" and the sound quality buries all of the `93 live releases. It is also a more theatrical show than Rio, which is also a favourable comparison to "Live after death". I`ve heard complaints that Bruce Dickinson`s vocals are pretty poor but I think he sounds great. The "Dance of death" stuff suits the concert envinroment (and is superior to the "Brave new world" songs) and "Lord of the flies" benefits from Bruce`s vocals (as does all of the Blaze Bailey era stuff). The set-ending romp through the usual favourites is perhaps the only gripe, as we always get "Hallowed be thy name" and "Run to the hills" (although they do sound great), when something slightly different would be better for the completists.
At the end of the day what we`ve got is a fantastic sounding concert recording. The acompanying DVD will also be great. A top double package fan offering or a good place for beginners to start. You can`t go wrong.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
Iron Maiden yet again release another amazing live album to allow fans to hear the last tour over and over. The Orchestra at the start, reminding me of my time at the front barrier waiting for them to burst into Wildest Dreams in front of my very eyes... Hearing Lord of the flies is a joy to me...Bruce's voice..hearing the songs from latest Studio album Dance of Death LIVE is brought everything back to life again..enough said.. another ace album to join the very large catalogue of Maiden records...need a new Cd rack!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
First, got to argue with my two fellow reviewers. Shotgun Blues says that this CD is as good as seeing Maiden live at Hammersmith Apollo - get real mate. A CD is one thing, but it is no comparison to seeing one of the best live bands ever, at one of the best rock venues in London. Steve Barrow says that you can't copy it to your MP3 player - don't know what software you use Steve, but Roxio Audio Central has no problem in converting every track on both CDs into individual MP3 tracks, and also has no problem copying the CDs direct onto blank CDs (not that I know anybody who'd ever do that!!!).

Now, on to the album. It's good, in fact it's very good, but that's because the songs chosen for this tour are very good. But Bruce's usual between-song banter is non-existent, he never talks to the crowd at all, which is definitely not the norm. And the wisdom of going overboard promoting the First World War battle at Paschendale when performing live in front of a German crowd also leaves a question mark. What's Steve Harris going to do next, write a song called "We Sank The Belgrano" and reserve the playing of it live for the next time they tour Argentina??

Dunno about you, but I think they should have included at least one song from Powerslave - it's in most people's top three regarding Maiden studio albums. I can live without yet another live version of Wrathchild and Fear Of The Dark (and to tell the truth I've got enough live versions of Hallowed Be Thy Name to last me a lifetime), but obviously the Maiden-men still like to play them. The number of songs also seems a bit stingy - only sixteen songs, which when you consider Bruce isn't chatting either leaves the length of the two CDs a bit short. On the Rock In Rio CD, they played nineteen songs in the set, and Bruce was chattering away like a mynah bird between tracks as well.

So, probably as good as it could have been, but I wanted a bit more...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2005
Well what can i say? Iron maiden back at there very best and this album just proves it. If you saw them on the tour this album is a great reminder of just how good they are. If you didnt see them then this shows what you missed! Has a very raw feel to it, like you could close your eyes and imagine yourself in the front row. Cant wait for the DVD release! Well worth it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2005
This was recorded very close to when I saw them in Cardiff, even has the same setlist, so I can tell you what excellent form they were on for this tour. The set contains an excellent mix of old favourites, Dance of Death tracks and even a surprise Blaze Bailey era song.
The recent Trooper single was taken from this album and the sound balance is excellent, especially the drums, even better than Rock in Rio which I thought was full of energy and power.
What makes this worth getting (some of these tracks I already have about 8 live versions of) are tracks like Paschendale and Rainmaker, plus the extra details like an extra guitar harmony on the Trooper riff, which breathes new life into it.
Plus the artwork is their best in years.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2008
This is a brilliant live album great selection of songs but one problem, only one song from Brave New World? come on. The obvious masterpieces here are Paschendale and Dance Of Death they are amazingly performed live, they were masterpieces on Dance Of Death album and they are masterpieces here. Bruce does a good job at doing Blaze's vocals on Lord Of the Flies. Journeyman is another awesome and The Trooper. Oh Yeah i almost forgot the terrible intro to Can I Play with madness, i showed that to my friend(who also loves maiden) and he laughed so much when he heard it) the song is played excellent but Steve Harris you gotta stop with the backing vocals at the start it makes you sound like u got two old men off the street and payed them to shout Can I Play With Madness. Overall brilliant live cd and so much better then A Real Live Dead One. A great buy. UP THE IRONS!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Iron maiden have always been the one of best live bands in the world and this album is a showcase of that. The guitars and the vocals sound awesome as always particularly on songs like rainmaker, wildest dreams and brave new world. This is an essential live album to add to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)