Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2006
The Main Feature: It's all about The Con. Well, sort of. That's the line, but 'Hustle' has always been just as much about the zip, the zap, the style and the characters of the Con. Series 2 is no different, and once again, it's deliciously good drama.

Both the grifting gang and the hustles are as entertaining - and downright clever - as ever. Series creator Tony Jordan skilfully stirs together often seemingly random scenes with a generous sprinkling of surprise, suspense and sassiness before they all combine and the Con is fully revealed.

The acting's fine, but that's not really the point; 'Hustle' is mostly about its sparkling surfaces and plot acrobatics. That's not to say that the quintet don't gel, because they do. Robert Vaughn (Albert) is refined and memorable, like a rare, well matured whisky, while Warren (Danny) and Lester (Mickie) fizz together, with lashings of humour and juicy one-liners.

As they work their marks, the gang clearly has a great time. And the tone of the production matches that giddy mood, with a jazzy Vegas soundtrack, freeze frames, and even fourth-wall eye contact by the characters. 'Hustle' has its farfetched moments, but Bharat Nalluri's keen direction keeps the action fluid and linear. Storylines have a splendid rationale that would only reveal holes upon unnecessarily close inspection. It's a pacey and playful show, from the cartoon opening credits to the twists at the end. This isn't the dark psychodrama of 'The Grifters' or one of David Mamet's double-cross movies. It's a fluffy hour of flimflam, spun with silk and told with a wink.

Overall Package/Extras: The DVD comprises two disks; each containing three full-length episodes and one half of the 30 minute making-of documentary on the season finale. It's good - with plenty of behind the scenes footage and cast/crew interviews - although individual episode commentaries would have been welcome.

Both are packaged in a standard plastic DVD case which matches the Series 1 box.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
Didn't think series 2 could beat series 1 which was excellent, I was wrong. Everything is spot-on, the characters, music, locations, the cons etc.
The documentary on the making of episode 6 (season 2) is also worth watching where they show how they made the mission impossible type scenes.
The season 2 DVD's are not edited like the original season 1 disks (which has now been sorted).
A note about the edited Season 1 disks: If your season one box states 52mins per episode on the back, then you have the edited version. The box should say 59 mins per episode (unedited version)
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2005
after the first series i could not wait for the second series but doubted it could be as good. i was proved immenseley wrong. this series has all the cleverness, style and charm that the first had, and much more! more elaborate cons, more depth into character, and the 2nd series does NOT, repeat NOT shorten the episodes like the first series DVD unneccesarily did.
this was the best series of a single programme on BBC1 since the 6th series of only fools and horses over 10 years ago.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
I watched the first series and thought it was great and got it on dvd and like some people thought season 2 wasn't going to live up to season 1 but boy was I wrong.

The characters have evolved and the storylines are more elaborate and quite frankly had me hooked from the beginning, I can't wait for season 3 on dvd.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2005
When i first sat down to watch this series i thought, you know, it'll be good but not as good as the original, but boy was i wrong. The series kicks off with them arriving back from their "break" that they took at the end of the first series, and the writers take the opportunity to make a reference to another Con franchise (Watch Danny arriving dressed as a pilot with two air hostteses ala Catch Me If You Can)Then the series kicks into high gear with some of the most imaginative cons ever and the greatest season finale i've ever seen surpassing even Spooks season 2 finale (The one where you are supposed to think Tom's a traitor). This series is well worth buying.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
This season is still of a high standard, although it lacks the va-va-voom of the first one. There are many more holes in the episodes, most notably the second episode; where if it had anymore holes in it, you could strain tea. However, despite that particular weak episode the others are beautifully crafted. The most stunning of which was by-far the theft of the Royal Family's Crown Jewels. The cons are more elaborate, and the characters are developed much further than before. A welcome addition to anyone's DVD collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
was very pleased with the product well packaged very happy with the purchase and very good price to pay .I found nothing wrong with the item i loved it and would buy more.I gave 5 stars because the service was very good item to buy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
This is as good, if not better, than the first series. The episodes with Stacie's ex-husband and the episode with Fay Ripley are stand-outs. The only episode I wasn't keen on was an episode where they fooled an ex-gangster into believing his long lost son had found him. I felt a bit sorry for The Mark in that case!!! But all of the other episodes are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
As for my review of Hustle series 1 I also missed series 2 when it was first broadcast. I was hesitant to order because of some of the earlier reviews but I enjoyed the later series so much I had to give it a try. Was I glad? Too right, so much so that series 4 and 5 are already ordered. If you like fast paced tv drama with a twist don't miss it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
having only wacthed the first series i brought this hoping it would be as good and iit hasn't disapointed me yet.

the cons are very clever and simple. hustle is also funny and full of things your never think of.

this is a must buy for everyone!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)