Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 14 August 2009
Over the years I have heard snatches of Chinese music from watching television documentaries. And, after reading current reviews on this particular disc I decided to give it a try.

This CD compilation comprises of twelve tracks played by various ensembles and artists ranging from Hanshin Chinese Folk and Dance Ensemble, Pan Jing and Ensemble, Xiao Ying and the delightful singer, Wei Li.

I was quite impressed by the tracks offered and just to mention a few:

Sound from Afar (Miao Xiaoyun)
Little Boat (Heart of the Dragon Ensemble) which is a gem of a track.
Liang Xiao (Heart of the Dragon Ensemble)
Beautiful Nandu River (Wei Li) which is a beautifully haunting piece, one of the highlights of the CD.

Indeed, whilst listening to these tracks it brought back good memories of my trip to Singapore which I made during late spring of 2008.

Sound is very good, with a spacious and warm stereo sound, although it has been recorded at a high level.

An excellent introduction to music of the Orient.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 July 2007
This CD includes twelve beautiful pieces of traditional Chinese music played on a variety of Chinese instruments such as the erhu, pipa and ruann. All the pieces on this CD are excellent, wonderfully relaxing and is great to listen to after a hard day of work. My favourite piece on this CD is Beautiful Nandu River brilliantly sung by the Chinese soprano Wei Li. Also included with the CD is information about each piece and the artists that perform them. This is a brilliant CD suitable for anyone interested in oriental music.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a very atmospheric recording by contemporary musicians from various regions of China. Many of the musicians are instructors, for example the Soprano Wei Li lectures in music and drama at London University, and I was a little disappointed that there were not more vocal tracks on the album, but the last track is a lovely song, Beautiful Nandu River.
Award winning Xu Pingxin is one of the first people to hold a Masters Degree in 'yang-qi'(dulcimer)performance, and is represented here by a Cantonese tune; Raindrops beating on Banana Leaves.
Two tracks by the Hanshin Chinese Folk and Dance Ensemble founded in 1991 feature well known tunes from Taiwan; a very rythmical Ballad of Four Seasons, and Spring Dawn at Yang Ming Mountain, derived from Folk Dance music.
Very haunting lute music is featured on a track by Miao Xiaoyun; Sound from Afar.
A lovely peaceful melody, Liang Xiao composed at New Year 1927 is played on the xiao (long lute), by Heart of Dragon Ensemble, a UK based group who also play Little Boat, a dulcimer track which evokes a very picturesque scene.
Prize winning Zhou Yu & Ensemle present a erhu (violin) track; Song of the Heart.
Another UK based musician from Beijing Cheng Yu, performs with the London Chinese Orchestra featuring the pipa (pear shaped lute) and drums on; Water Flowing from High Mountain.
After gaduating from Shanghai Conservatory of Music. Chen Dacan became interested in Chinese Religious Music (Taoist and Buddist),and studied extensively in France before settling in the UK as leader of the London Chinese Orchestra. Here he plays another evocative melody; Spring Water Reflects the Moon.

This Audio CD comes with an attractive booklet of notes in English German and French. The music has great Universal appeal as is the case with much Folk and Traditional music around the world, and the inspiration drawn from natural surroundings, as many of these songs do, can be related to an everyday experience. It is alive.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2006
This album reminds me of being at Walt Disney World in Epcot and being in the China part of the park. Its relaxing and pleasant to have as background music. Similar to being in your favourite chinese restraunt and really getting into the atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the film Memoirs of A Geisha as the music is similar and it really transports you to another world when you sit with your eyes closed.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
THE VERY BEST OF CHINESE MUSIC CD, IS A DELIGHT. BEAUTIFUL MUSIC FROM BEGINNING TO END. MOTHER ENJOYED IT SO MUCH, HAD TO GET A DISC FOR HER TOO!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
This is a great introduction to Chinese music if you are thinking about buying this genre of music.Beautiful soothing tracks [but don't think 'alternative therapies' type music....although they would be great to meditate to if that's your 'thing']Excellent value for money,The cd was delivered promptly. Would recommend this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Firstly this isn't my kind of thing, I only bought it to tie in with my chinese themed dinner party. However, everyone said how soothing the music was - we actually quite liked it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
There are some lovely tracks on this CD for me there was an even bigger bonus i suffer from TINNITUS and this music helps reduce the constant "whining" that is usualy in my ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
As a massive fan of period Chinese movies & Kung Fu flicks I always loved the old school Chinese background music you would hear, or see some some old man playing in the background of a tea house in these movies.
However I had no knowledge of where to even look for this kinda music so gave this alum a chance. It's exactly what I'd hoped for! Never gets old and all the songs blend seamlessly together or some super relaxing listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
The music is great, a varied selection in the traditional style. While the original 'Best of' CD had a rather jarring pop track on the end, this one has nothing but bouncing, or soothing, or energetic, or dancing, or sung tunes. Gong Linna is splendid, although her style of singing on two of the tracks might grate a little with those unacquainted with Eastern singing styles. The best tracks: the Jasmine, which is a wonderful plucked and string orchestration, and Happiness, an authentic New Years tune which is bound to put a spring in your step.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.06
£8.95

Need customer service? Click here