Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2005
I have only owned this album for less than 48 hours but already it's become a favourite. I had only heard 1 song by Laura Veirs and bought this on the strength of it. Now i'm going to buy her other albums as soon as I finish writing this.
From the opening track "Fire Snakes" you know you're in for a treat. This really sets up the scene for the whole album. The simple acoustic guitar is later joined by strings sections, accordion and moog flourishes and all are performed with real flair. None of the songs seem overcrowded despite being quite complicated in parts. In fact the songs sound deceptively simple.
The only way to desribe the music is a cross between Nick Drake and KT Tunstall, but that would be incredibly misleading and wouldn't do her justice.
She has a relaxed and freeflowing style completely all of her own. Sometimes verging on the melancholy, sometimes on the quirky, sometimes on the inspirational but always simple, fresh and straight forward songwriting. She always sounds like she is singing from her heart.
Black Gold Blues, however stands out as a totally different affair and verges on being all out rock, although the strings section and layered vocals still give the song the Laura Veirs seal of approval.
A personal favourite is Galaxies, and sounds to me as a prime candidate for being released as a single. If i'd done my research I might have been able to tell you, but where's the fun in that? Off you pop to Google.
Another good song (well they all are) is Magnetized. Her voice, an acoustic guitar, piano, accordion and a theremin, give it a quirky but ethereal sound.
It's an album that can easily deserve your undivided attention, yet has simple melodies that can be enjoyed in the background too.
Buy this album, we need more music like this.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 September 2005
Year Of Meteors is the 4th Album by Laura Veirs and astonishingly it betters the previous ones (believe me this is quite a feat as the other LPs are brilliant,especially Carbon Glaciers)and,frankly you know the world has gone mad when people like Laura Veirs and Martha Wainwright sell hardly anything but the insipid likes of Katie Melua and Norah Jones go multi-platinum.This is definitely a contender for album of 2005 in my book...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 August 2012
'Year of Meteors' is an highly enjoyable indi- folk rock album,reminiscent perhaps of Edie Brickell or Suzanne Vega. Musically sophisticated,lyrically Intriguing if not rather cryptic on occasion and produced to give a layered ,immediate feel that makes for a very engaging listen.The band are first rate and there is a sufficient variety of style, arrangement supporting Laura's plaintive voice to keep things interesting from first to last. Some beautiful music here- top tracks,too many mention but here are my thoughts on the subject:'Firesnakes','Galaxies' and 'Magnetized'. Altogether, a well crafted thoughtful album worth investigating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
You can't ignore this album, especially at this price, snap it up at once. Her voice is much softer and less aggressive than on Carbon Glacier where to my ears she could sometimes sound a bit grating and brittle... although it is still an excellent album, if a bit random in places. She seems to have matured into a more fluid style and has a voice similar to that of Suzanne Vega on Cracking, Undertow and Freeze Tag....you are reminded of undulating rivers, streams and natural elements. Year of the Meteors is gentle, yet there is something wonderfully quirky about it that thankfully for the listener keeps it from mainstream.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
A wonderful collection of consistently good and easily accessible songs. This is a more mature album than Carbon Glacier with razor sharp electric guitar and viola blending in well with Veirs' distinct and original vocals. Fire Snakes and Secret Someones stand out but the whole album is a materpiece of vibrant, well produced pure music. I loved this on first hearing and can't stop playing it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
Apparently only recorded in February of this year Laura Veirs’ follow up to the acclaimed Carbon Glacier is a quirky little gem of an album. Those quick to dismiss her as a ‘folkie singer/songwriter’ might well want to eat their words, especially with Ms Orton disappearing under coffee table mediocrity.
Veirs’ album is full of heartfelt song writing and although some of the wistful romance is a little ponderous, her voice recalls a softer Amiee Mann at times.
Critics are keen to pigeon hole her as a geeky alternative to Katie Melua or Norah Jones (she wears glasses wouldn’t you know), but it must be said that the tunes and the level of production on display here far outweigh either of her so called contemporaries. Piano, violin, viola, keyboards, cello, handclaps, they all feature here especially on merry stand out tracks such as Fire Snakes, Galaxies and Through the Water.
It may be very early to announce a potential Album of The Year, but Veirs (and her band The Tortured Souls) have stood themselves in good stead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2005
The glacial chill of Carbon Glacier has warmed up on Year Of Meteors. Veirs will surely never make a truly commercial album but this set is more immediately approachable. The richer production and musical support is more conventional this time but the key elements remain, rich visual imagery, her distinctive voice and an unpredictable ear for melody. Reminded me of the intelligence and style of Aimee Mann in places.
An excellent album, perhaps not as original as Carbon Glacier but full of interest.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I didn't expect such a good album after the perfect "Carbon Glacier", but this really is great. The song "Spelunking" alone makes the album worth purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
2005-2013 , I put this album on and each and everytime it sounds fresh and interesting. Slowly but surely creeping up my list of all time favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here