Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Supernature
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 June 2014
I will probably upset a of of fans but I prefer the exceptional "Felt Mountain" with its lush melodies and almost angelic vocals. I was disappointed when Goldfrapp failed to continue their journey in that direction and tuend to "popular". "Supernature" is part of a long slide downhill which was briefly arrested by the whimsical "Seventh Tree". It is not a bad albun but does not really appeal to me. I understand that Alison and Will are better known for their disco/club/dance type of music of which "Supernature" is a good example. For me "Black Cherry" is an excellent blend of "Felt Mountain" and the later material. Recommended only if you prefer the more frothy material from the duo.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2009
across theses several reviews you have all stated the main facts about this album, so i'll keep it more basic with my personal opinion of this masterpiece.
no one else has made an album quite in the same vein EVER BEFORE, this duo are just fabulous, i just recieved this and the equally stunning Black Cherry for my Birthday and i have to say that i love both the albums.
this one especially has that fun aspect that makes this a retro class act while also is a stunning piece of modern culture.
this has to be as of yet Goldfrapp's most mainstream album to date with chart topping hits and acclaim worldwide, as well as the greatest commercial success the band has ever had to date doubling the sales of the stunning Black Cherry.
overall this is a masterful album that has some surreal qualities and equally tampers with that awesomely spectacular sound of the 80's that brings it to the 21st century with some compelling beats and inspirational songs.
overall-10/10 a must have for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2011
Great album, which I would never have discovered if it wasn't for the Film Four 'great movies' advert which sampled the amazing (and album standout track) 'Time Out From The World', which is an amazing piece of pop music - very Bond-esque with its subtle tune and soaring lyrics. Terrific.

The rest of the album is as good - 'U Never Know' and 'Ooha LaLa' are great, so is 'Slide In' and 'Fly Me Away'. There is a clear 80's element/sound to the album (all electro and fuzzy) but touches of James Bond-theme classiness, which again I find really appealing. Also its great background music, which contempory chart music often isn't, as it allows you to drift in and out while listening, which in my opinion is the sign of great music. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2010
'Black Cherry' was where I started with Goldfrapp, and this is a development from that sound. Unfortunately, it's a development towards a blander, less nuanced version, and towards a more polished electro-glam-disco type of thing. I guess Goldfrapp just wanted to have some fun.

'Oh la la' is indeed v groovy, and 'White Horse' and 'You Never Know' come close. Trouble is, when you go for pastiche, you sacrifice originality.

Lyrically, too, where 'Black Cherry' and - especially - 'Felt Mountain' were richly elusive and allusive, 'Supernature' goes in for more banal references to drugs and sex.

I still love 'em, and would rather listen to this than 99.9% of other product.

A further caution - the 'opendisc' edition I bought promises access to 'additional material', but due to some software glitch or other, the thing won't open on my computer(s), so this 'additional material' amounts to several minutes of (me) swearing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2014
Although Goldfrapp have been around for some time, i have only recently discovered them and i now have 5 of their albums. I love Alisons voice,its pure, its smooth, its heaven, along Will Gregory the music is genius.They could record "Ole Macdonald" and im sure it would sound great. If you havent heard Goldfrapp buy this album you wont be disapointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
The band in their pomp- buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
Another great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2016
sounds better in 5.1 dolby...Alison sounds just so sexy. well done girl!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2013
Part of a whole bundle of albums I purchased from this seller, very good condition and well packed. A good selection of albums are always available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)