Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Gold
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Gold
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 31 January 2006
The Gold collection covers the 7 year life of one of the most consistently good British bands from 1967 - 1974. From the whimsical hippy pop of hit singles Paper Sun and Hole in My Shoe through to the jazz/blues tinged jamming of Low Spark or Dream Gerrard, Traffic were prepared to experiment and this CD captures most of their best moments. Obvious influences are Spencer Davis style R&B with many of the tracks being organ/keyboards driven but it also displays what a strong influence Dave Mason was - great guitar, vocals and even sitar !! Some of his lead guitar is remininscent of Cream at their best. The Winwood / Capaldi (RIP) combination was prolificly productive and lots of the material sounds fresh today from Forty Thousand headmen and Shanghai Noodle Factory to the gorgeous ballad Sometimes I Feel So Uninspired and there are really very few weak tracks. Chris Wood's (RIP) wind playing is tasteful and effective if never particularly eloquent (he's no Ian Anderson) and helped give the band a unique signature, along with Winwood's voice and keyboards. Many of their successors borrowed from the Traffic sound and many modern bands could learn useful lessons. So, 30 tracks to savour and although I can't believe they didn't include the beautiful "Evening Blue", a stunning recording nevertheless. Enjoy.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Good selection of the bands magic moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 November 2014
At last count - I numbered way over 50 artists across Universal's vast catalogue given the 2CD "Gold" treatment (sometimes also known as a "Definitive Edition"). But with the artwork for these digitally remastered two-disc retrospective sets being so uninspiring and uninformative (a track list on the rear with bugger all else by way of detail) - many simply go unnoticed - languishing around in digital warehouses unwashed and unloved. But that isn't to say there isn't a deal for a buyer to be had...

Amidst their hidden gems - STEPPENWOLF and THE CRUSADERS are two "Gold" editions that jump to mind (I've reviewed and raved about both - amazing content as well as quality remastered sound). Well here comes another - the TRAFFIC instalment. As you can see from the detailed lists below - you get great choices (and lots of them) and best of all (only credited on the inside booklet) - superb ELLEN FITTON mastering. Fitton is a name I've sung the praises of before - she mastered all of the extraordinary "Complete Tamla Motown Singles" book collections (75 discs across 14 volumes, 1847 tracks) and has also had a hand in large swaths of Hip-O Select reissues. Her work here is the same. So here are the smiling phases, paper suns and high-heeled boys with low sparks...

Released September 2005 - "Gold" on Universal/Island 0602498312070 (Barcode 602498312070) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (79:49 minutes):
1. Paper Sun
2. Dealer
3. Coloured Rain
4. Hole In My Shoe
5. No Face, No Name, No Number
6. Heaven Is In Your Mind
7. Smiling Phases
8. Dear Mr. Fantasy
Tracks 1 to 8 are from their debut album "Mr. Fantasy" - released December 1967 in the UK on Island ILPS 9061 [Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 on the British LP] and April 1968 in the USA as "Heaven Is In Your Mind" on United Artists UAS 6651 (Stereo) [Tracks 1 to 8 on the US LP - retitled "Mr. Fantasy on 2nd pressings].

9. You Can All Join In
10. Pearly Queen
11. Feelin' Alright
12. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
13. Forty Thousand Headmen
Tracks 9 to 13 are from their 2nd album "Traffic" - released October 1968 in the UK on Island ILPS 9081 and in the USA on United Artists UAS 6676 (Stereo)

14. Shanghai Noodle Factory
15. Medicated Goo
Tracks 14 and 15 are form their 3rd album "Last Exit" - released May 1969 in the UK on Island ILPS 9097 and in the USA on United Artists UAS 6702 (Stereo)

16. Glad
17. Freedom Rider
18. Empty Pages
19. John Barleycorn
Tracks 16 to 19 are from their 4th album "John Barleycorn Must Die" - released July 1970 in the UK on Island ILPS 9116 and in the USA on United Artists UAS 5504 (Stereo)

Disc (78:44 minutes):
1. Gimme Some Lovin' (Live) - from the live album "Welcome To The Canteen" - released September 1971 in the UK on Island ILPS 9166 and in the USA on United Artists UAS 5550

2. Low Spark Of The High-Heeled Boys
3. Light Up And Leave Me Alone
4. Rock & Roll Stew
5. Rainmaker
Tracks 2 to 5 are from their 5th studio album "The Low Spark Of The High-Heeled Boys" - released November 1971 in the UK on Island ILPS 9180 and in the USA on Island SW 9306

6. Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory
7. (Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired
Tracks 6 and 7 are from their 6th studio album "Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory" - released January 1973 in the UK on Island ILPS 9224 and in the USA on Island SW 9323

8. Something New
9. Dream Gerrard
10. Walking In The Wind
11. When The Eagle Flies
Tracks 8 to 11 are from their 7th and last studio album "When The Eagle Flies" - released November 1973 in the UK on Island ILPS 9273 and in the USA on Asylum 7E-1020

The 20-page booklet is unexpectedly substantial - cool photos, an essay on the band by SCOTT SCHNIDER and detailed reissue credits at the rear. And that superb remastered sound too...

To this day tracks like "Dear Mr. Fantasy" and Dave Mason's wonderful "Feelin' Alright" (covered by Joe Cocker, Grand Funk Railroad, Lulu and Three Dog Night within a few years of its release) still send me. There's fantastic audio punch on "Medicated Goo" ("freaky Freddie!") and Island Records literally named their budget label sampler LP after the "You Can All Join In" track on the 2nd LP. The opening instrumental "Glad" on "John Barleycorn Must Die" always sounded to me like Soul Rock or even Fusion before such a phrase was even coined - brilliant stuff. The stunning eleven and half minutes of "Low Spark Of High-Heeled Boys" where Winwood cruises through this almost hypnotic groove still sounds unbelievably modern - I love it. For sure things began to taper off towards the bands last few albums - but I still feel there's soulfulness in the Winwood/Capaldi slowy "(Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired". The eleven-minute "Dream Gerrard" (a co-write with Vivian Stanshall) has a good groove too - as does "Walking In The Wind" (another Capaldi co-write with Steve Winwood). All this and "Paper Sun", "Smiling Phases" and the hippy sitar of "Hole In My Shoe"! Will we ever see their like again? I doubt it...

With generous playing times on both discs (a half-decent booklet too), top quality sound and an online price tag that is often below three pounds (three quid for God's sake!) - you're getting a whole lot of bang for your buck here. Way to go...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
Great comprehensive collection of Traffic's unique late sixties pastoral rock sound and early seventies innovative music.
Few bands managed to pull off the cohesion of so many musical influences as diverse as blues,jazz,English folk, soul and R&B as Traffic accomplished without pomp and loss of direction and the pure creative flow of the muse runs freely throughout their entire output from 1967 through to 1974.Steve's precocious musicianship and vocal range and ability , coupled with Chris Wood's vision and Jim Capaldi's poetic lyricism and heartbeat were a powerful blend of creative talents that graced the era with some of the best music of this period. Dave Mason's contribution had it's low points with Hole in My Shoe's acid drenched whimsy but Feeling Alright more than restores the balance.Dave's presence as yet another heavyweight calibre musician/songwriter meant that this outfit carried more creative talent than any four players can expect to make room for in one band in terms of ideas/styles.Deserves to grace anyone's collection and stands the test of time due to the sheer quality of this group's alchemical magic, tragic, psychedelic, reflective and joyous sound, headless horsemen and all.Check out Traffic and this music will stay with your psyche as a reminder of just how excellent these guys were as players when they got it together, in the country, the town, the city and all points of the compass for that matter.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
I purchased this CD because I loved Steve Winwood with the Spencer Davis group, he had one of the finest blues voices around. I wanted to see what his next group traffic was like, as I did not remember much about them. Now I know why. The songs are for the most part bland and uninspiring, the group does not support Steve's voice and mostly seems intent on drowning him out. One for the charity shop
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
I never really got into Traffic at the time - I was fractionally too young really. The best of their stuff is superb, if sometimes self indulgently long - in the spirit of the times. However, the more whimsical stuff has not aged well so this is a bit of a curate's egg. Well worth buying but you might want to skip some tracks. (You might also want to bear in mind that I think Syd Barrett's whimsical songs are rubbish - so what do I know?).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
THIS IS AN ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING DOUBLE ALBUM ESPECIALLY AT THE PRICE.TOTALLY UNIQUE AND A HUGELY TALENTED GROUP OF MUSICIANS.EVERY TRACK SOUNDS DATELESS.HAVE GOT MOST OF THESE TRACKS AND RELEVENT ALBUMS IN ONE FORM OR ANOTHER BUT THIS IS A REALLY GOOD TASTER OF A GREAT INNOVATIVE BAND .IF YOU'RE NEW/ISH TO TRAFFIC YOU WON'T FIND A BETTER STARTING POINT. WOULD LIKE TO HAVE SEEN " HERE WE GO 'ROUND THE MULLBERRY BUSH" AND" EVERY MOTHERS SON" INCLUDED BUT HEY THATS PROBABLY NITPICKING, WITH SO MANY INCREDIBLE TRACKS TO PICK FROM SOMETHINGS GOT TO BE LEFT OUT MY FIRST EXPE RIENCE OF THIS BAND WAS LISTENING TO" HOLE IN MY SHOE" ON ORIGINAL RELEASE VIA AN OLD DANSETTE I'D DIRECTLY WIRED INTO THE MAINS IN MY SCHOOLS PRIVATE STUDY ROOM WHILST HAVING A SNEAKY BEER, I PLAYED IT LITERALLY EVERY SPARE SECOND I HAD AND I STILL LOVE IT. MISPENT YOUTH ...I DON'T THINK SO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
Very disappointed with this, no Here we go round the Mulberry Bush, no Keep on Running studio version and the live version is atrocious, barely recognisable to the original single. If it wasn't for Paper Sun and Hole in my Shoe it would have got one star. I agree with the previous two star reviewer, one for the charity shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
The music is fantastic and the selection virtually flawless.

But the songs on this double sound like mp3s.

The production on the original Traffic albums was very good.

Go and get the remasters from the late 1990s and early 2000s and you'll hear the difference.

This is a good primer for Traffic, but little else and it's not a good substitute for what's available in better formats.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Memories! Traffic had the ability to woo the listener with their voices, instruments and words. Unique band. Glad this was released. Even got one for my Sister as gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)