Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
142
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
Excellent Loved this series and the rest of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
love this show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Fantastic quality and very prompt with delivery. I always look for music magpie first now when ordering. Would recommend 100%. Reliable service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Definitely great value for money, a must for all fans of the newer editions just to see where it all started. It's like looking back in time! If you are a geek like me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brilliant and American are words that don't come to be paired often, this is especially true for American sit/com shows.
However this is a wonderful series that always pleases. Snappy one liners, brilliant comedy at a gentle pace rather that the rat at tat of other shows. The build up to the one liner is a joy that the viewer can really appreciate. Well written and brilliantly acted by the central stars who are able to laugh at themselves, (wonderful for american actors) and the wonderful support cast of Rose (mad as a box of frogs), Loretta, Alan's ex neo lesbian, haridan, harie of a wife and others.
A word on the series. Each show is about 20 minutes long... yes amazing when you realise that these are half hour shows. No ten minutes of advertising. You can easily watch three episodes back to back and spend a very enjoyable hour. But of course in 20 minutes you will not get the set up and complexities of a 40 min (1 hour show say ala House etc)
So the shows are comedy lite and therefore so much more easily consumed and enjoyed? The chocolate biscuit and a nice cup of tea scenario ala Dad's Army.
As to the content...A WORD of warning to PARENTS of younger than 14 children

My son of 12 watches the show and of course he is not fazed by the occasional mild references to sex and all its glory, not to mention terms (oral sex etc). His mother is not so sure. So the word is watch a few shows, make your mind up that junior is mature enough to get but NOT be corrupted by the sexual content. (Which is what responsible parents should do more often?)
Brilliant easy to watch comedy, Good characters and easy situations make this a winner. 5 well deserved stars.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Everyone who's partially familiar with Two and a Half Men will recognize the event of Charlie Sheen's firing after Season 8. And a lot of people felt the show had lost what was good about it, Charlie. He was the main character. He was what people watched the show for. When he left, people abandoned the show without giving Ashton Kutcher a chance.

Try this, watch an episode from Season 9 or 10 with Ashton in it, but don't imagine him as a Charlie replacement, think of it as a new show, and then you'll enjoy it. I miss Charlie, but as soon as I realized he wasn't coming back, I began to really enjoy the show, and I still think Two and a Half Men is as good as it ever was.

For 10 seasons, £45 at this moment in time is a bargain, and would work out to be a great gift for any Two and a Half Men fan.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
I bought the first season on a whim after reading positive reviews about it here. Honestly it is the best sitcom I have seen in ages, probably since Frasier/Seinfeld. My wife and I both love it. There are laughs a plenty, the actors all have excellent chemistry on stage, the story line is engaging, interesting an the one liners will have you laughing out loud. Charlie Sheen is brilliant, bringing a rare and subtle humor to the table, and his co-stars complement him well on stage. The humor is definitely adult oriented, playing heavily on Charlie's lusty appetites and drunken debauchery, so not exactly for young kids :)

We have really enjoyed watching this after stressful days at work becauase it never fails to cheer you up! We have already and watched all seasons and all are just as good as the first one, some even better.

No regrets on the purchase of this series. A recomendation to buy. If you don't like it, it has a high ebay resale value because it is so popular. You can't go wrong with this series!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2008
I received this as a mother's day gift on sunday and have watched the entire series, and it's only friday. It's just so watchable. The cast are absolutely perfect and bounce off each other with ease.

It follows the story of two brothers and their son/nephew. Alan, played by Jon cryer, is thrown out of his home by his wife and has to come and stay with his brother Charlie, played by Charlie Sheen. Alan is a stiff, routine driven, perfectionist and Charlie is a womanising, heavy drinking jingle writer who is loaded. Alan's son, played by Angus T.Jones is adorably pudgy, innocent and hilarious with his one liners.

In addition to these funny men, there are some hilarious women. You have Holland Taylor who plays Alan and Charlie's mother, and she's seen as the anti-christ by both of them. She lives it up just as much as Charlie and isn't afraid to brag about it either. The other woman who stands out is Rose, played by Melanie Lynskey. She's a former one night stand as far as Charlie is concerned, but she's just a little crazy and stalks him as she only lives two doors up the beach from him! She's forever sneaking into Charlie's house in the middle of the night and getting into bed with him.

This show tackles divorce with a sense of humour. It's not afraid to poke fun at poor Alan, nor is it afraid to show a more sensitive side when dealing with relationship failures. I quite simply LOVE this show and watch it all the time on t.v. but now that I've got this boxset I can watch it whenever I please. Do yourself a favour and just buy it, chances are if you don't like it, (and quite frankly I doubt that), someone you know will love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
I rarely laugh out loud at most TV sitcoms and I can think of about half a dozen series that deliver regular gutbusting moments and TAAHM is one of them. As I recall C4 aired the first 2 series in the 6 pm slot which was odd considering this is an adult show and then nothing. For my money it's every good as Frasier, Seinfeld and Cheers all of which have scooped up Grammys and other awards yet strangely TAAHM hasn't. The script is razor sharp and all the characters are well developed including the supporting cast especially Berta the acid tongued cleaner, Evelyn (Charlie and Alan's vain and self aborbsed mother) and Rose(Charlie's offbeat stalking neighbour). Incidentally, it's this series where the much lusted after Megan Fox appears as Berta's sexually precocious teenage daughter in one of the best episodes of the whole series. In a nutshell if you enjoy the sharp, quick witted humour of Frasier and Seinfeld this series should be right up your alley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)