Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2011
This DVD is a great send off for Christopher Eccleston, with Captain Jack Harkness (played by John Barrowman) remaining with the Doctor. The three spectacular send off episodes as as follows:

Boom Town: The TARDIS crew take a holiday, but the Doctor encounters an enemy he thought long since dead. A plan to build a nuclear power station in Cardiff City disguises an alien plot to rip the world apart. And when the Doctor dines with monsters, he discovers traps within traps.

Bad Wolf: The Doctor, Rose and Captain Jack have to fight for their lives on board the Game Station. But a more dangerous threat is lurking, just out of sight. The Doctor realises that the entire Human Race has been blinded to the threat on its doorstep, and Armageddon is fast approaching.

The Parting of the Ways: Rose Tyler has seen danger and wonders alongside the Doctor, but now their friendship is put to the test as Earth plunges into an epic war. With the Human Race being slaughtered, the Doctor is forced into terrible action. Will the time-travellers ever be reunited?

The Parting of the Ways sends out Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor and brings David Tennant into the shoes of the Tenth Doctor. You will never be forgotton Christopher, your Doctor was fantastic!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Classic action packed ending for the first series the rebooted Dr who was brought up to date with a bang. A fast paced rollercoaster of a ride quite a change from the old series which were more leisurely passed. You can see where the money was spent it's all up there on the screen highly recommended for fans of the modern Doctor Who
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Along with 'Father's Day', 'Bad Wolf' is the best Chris Eccleston Who episode. Chris' performance is spot on here; I prefer it when he is serious and menacing rather than scatty and goofy.
The only caveat is the ending with the Doctor's crass speech about saving Rose. This is pure Americanized schlock and Russell T. Davies should be ashamed of himself for nearly spoiling what is otherwise a truly superb Doctor Who episode.
Other than deserving applause for resurrecting Doctor Who, Russell T. Davies should be shot for being a dreadful script writer. All the Who episodes he has penned are disappointing, cliched and pedestrian; apart form this one which is superb despite the bad ending. There we go, rant over. Ahh, I feel better now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
Being old enough to have watched Dr Who (mainly Tom Baker and then Peter Davidson) the first time, I eagerly awaited the new series. It was more than I could hahev ever hoped for and this set of episodes, showcases the talent of Christopher Eccleston.
The ending did make me shed a tear and I am sorry to see him leave but am sure that David Tennant will make a briiliant Dr.
The beeb have outdone themselves with Dr Who and I am counting the days until the next series!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
'Boom Town' features the return of Margaret - the remaining member of her family of Slitheen, and is a nice little episode that has a 'time out' feel to it. This time round, it's set in Cardiff, and features some lovely shots of the city, including the new Millenium Stadium I think? I'm not really impressed by the Slitheen, as I find them unconvincing, but there's only one, and she's in human form most of the time, and in actual fact, the actress who plays her - Annette Badland steals the show.
For the final two-parter - 'Bad Wolf' and 'The Parting of the Ways', we are back on board Satelite 5 - one hundred years on from 'The Long Game', where it's all gone reality tv crazy, what with 'Big Brother' and 'The Weakest Link' and even a mention of 'Ground Force' I think? Russell T Davies has done an excellent job of sending up the banality of reality tv with the fact that even after 100 years, 'Big Brother' and 'The Weakest Link' are still being aired. This two-parter features Ann-droid (voiced by Anne Robinson) and two robotic style advisors (voiced by Trinny and Suzanna), who all get blown up. Then there's the remaining fleet of 200 Dalek Ships that survived the great Timelord War, who go undectected at first, but eventually get revealed, you then get to find out who/what 'Bad Wolf' is.
Finally, you get to see the amazing and moving re-incarnation of Christopher Eccleston's Doctor into David Tennant's, and you know what, he was "fantastic", but may I also take the opportunity of saying what a wonderful entrance Tennant made, he is definitely going to be my kind of Doctor, playing it in a quirky manner like Tom Baker did.
My only critism about the final two episodes, and I'll probabably be hated for mentioning it, is that maybe given that there was so many Daleks on the loose, perhaps more people should have been shown getting exterminated, especially on the lower floor, where Russell T Davies cut away from it just as they were going to be mass exterminated (perhaps he thought it too crude and in poor taste), but it does tame the impact of the Daleks invading Satelite 5.
This has been a wonderful new beginning for Doctor Who. The last time it was this consistently good was the Phillip Hincliffe period, way back in the mid 70's. My only wish is that they toughen it up a bit, don't get me wrong, I love all the humour, innuendo, character involvement, but at times the new show is perhaps a little too camp.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
My Godson is a huge Dr Who fan and just loved these old series. I bought the whole series so you might see this repeated. I will be purchasing the reset of the back catalogue for him over a period of birthdays/Christmas. He has not said anything negative so take that as a great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2006
This DVD is the last of Series 1 of the revived series of Doctor Who, i think that this is the best DVD so far out of Doctor Who. Russell T Davies has made Doctor Who better than ever. The main Achievement of this series was not just the re-introduction of The Doctor but also of his greatest rival, THE DALEKS!!!.

The first episode "Boom town" is like the next part to the Slitheen story, when the Tardis Crew find out that Margaret the Slitheen is still alive, they realise that they need to stop her from destroying the planet.

The greatest highlight of Series 1 is the last two episodes "Bad Wolf"/"The Parting of the Ways" The Doctor, Rose and Captain Jack get separated and are forced to play the deadly games on the Game Station (Satellite 5) The secret force controling the station is The Doctor's worst nightmare, THE DALEKS!!! who were long presumed dead and wiped out of existence. The Doctor must make the ultimate sacrifice to save the universe and to save Rose.

This DVD is great and i would recommend it to old and new fans of Doctor Who.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2008
I think the parting of the ways and bad wolf is fantastic and boom town is good not good its brillant from no.1 doctor who fan jack buttrum
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2007
The three episodes on this dvd are called Boom Town, Bad Wolf and The Parting Of The Ways. Two of the episodes are great and one of them is alright.

Boom Town is the worst episode on this dvd and probably one of the worst episodes in the series. It isn't too bad but it has nothing great or really memorable in it. The episode is about the doctor capturing the last living member of the Slitheen family and he intends to send her back to Raxacoracovalapatorious where she will be executed, but does she have a plan.... This episode does have some good action moments but it still isn't great.

Bad Wolf is a great episode. It is about the Doctor, Rose and Jack ending up on television shows on sattelite five in the year 200'100. The Doctor is on Big Brother and the evicted housemates get killed. Rose is on Weakest Link and the contestants get killed if they are voted off. Jack is on What Not To Wear and the robots try to kill him. When Rose loses in Weakest Link she gets captured by the mysterious force behind the game station( the Daleks ).

The Parting Of The Ways is the final episode in the series and it is brilliant. When the Doctor rescues Rose he has to defeat hundreds of thousands of Daleks and their emperor. At the end of the episode the Doctor regenerates and I was very excited for the next episode that Christmas.

I reccomend this dvd because of the final two episodes, although Boom Town is still worth watching if your a fan of the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
I would definately recommend this DVD a must have for any Dr Who fan. Bought for my son and he has watched it over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse