Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Nintendogs Chihuahua & Friends (Nintendo DS)
Price:£20.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 July 2017
Great game excellent seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This game is great.You look after your dog like a real one!
The dogs you start off with are:CHIHUAHUA,boxer,cavalier kc spaniel,shetland shheepdog,yorkshire terrier and german sheperd!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
Review (Reviewer: JVG 2)

Computer Game

Nintendogstm

Genre: Virtual Pet/RPG

Rating:5* (five platinum stars)

Review:
Nintendogstm is a truly exceptional game. It defies conventions. When this was first announced, there was a debate as to whether it was going to be any good. The offspring of games like Pokémon, Project Cabbage and Hey You Pikachu, it demonstrates that voice recognition does have a role in gaming. Training virtual dogs and winning prizes while whupping someone at wii tennis all while timing how long the pasta has to be in the oven has got to be a tip top schizophrenic experience. I love this game so much that we've bought it twice.

Visuals:10
Quite simply, this game looks better than Oblivion. Ok, maybe that's a bit of an overstatement, but the fact of the matter is is that these dogs actually resemble real canines. They move like real dogs, they yawn a bit like real dogs, and yet for some reason, motion capture technology was not used in this game, unlike Resi 4, another winner of the Golden Pencil Award. Perhaps strapping motion sensors to real puppies would have been cruel. Nevertheless, These dogs look astounding. The boxers and Chihuahuas are especially cute. Amazingly, this is a handheld game as well. Who knows what magic Miyamoto is capable of. Perhaps he is a White Mage.

Aural:10

The jazziest tunes ever to feature on a handheld accompany barking, whining, yawning growling and howling so convincing that it confuses real dogs and frightens a real cat in my vicinity, Possibly the best feature, though, is the keyboard. This allows you to play real tunes and teach the dogs how to bark. Eliza, whom I donated to the Dog Hotel, was proficient in this respect. Pete Tong, understandably, was so good at learning music that he often persuades other Nintendogstm to mimic his songs. Well, he was chosen by my ex-housemate who is into dance music. Look out for other musical items in the game, such as the scratchable LP's and the music boxes.

Mastery: 10

I was thinking of giving this game an 11 for mastery. It defines the DS; it has sold millions, and will enter the multi million sales figures soon (assuming it has not done so already). I have bought some Nintendogs tm trading cards and they are so cute. Some people think the game is rubbish: quite simply, this is because they have little patience. Blow bubbles, inflate balloons, jog, stroke, indulge in a session of tummy rubbing, all in one game. Mastery is definitely the name of Nintendogs tm

Longevity: 10

This game offers plenty in terms of its scope for gamers and curious bystanders alike.
Nintendogs tm is a highly addictive game, and has near-universal appeal. Because of this, I give it a 10 for its lifespan. These dogs seriously mean business. They almost killed me. Parting with them is a costly experience. Nevertheless, for people willing to give up a bit of their lives, they will receive a unique and rewarding companionship. Making a commitment is seldom easy, but with Nintendogs tm you receive an excellent package. There are many items to collect, more than 20 different breeds to play with, including Dalmatians and Jack Russell Terriers, and if you're feeling a bit crazy, try aiming for the Spaceport Interior design, or training a dog that gets Gold at Championship level in all three contests, or becoming The Master like me. (I have more than 50,000 trainer points). I work with the likes of the maverick Pete Tong, the demon-possessed husky hybrid Pazuzuu and the demonic Junior (two Alsatians and a Siberian dog). Who will you adopt? Colin the German? Ada the mysterious? Or will you be inspired by bubbles? Pick up this game and find out.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
HI NINTENDOGS IS GREAT I HAVE CHIHUWAWA DASHUND AND LABRADOR AND FRIENDS.
YOU START OFF OUTSIDE A KENNEL YOU HAVE TO KNOCK ON THE DOOR USING THE STYLUS OR THE A BUTTON.
THERE ARE 6 DOGS TO CHOOSE FROM.
PICK THE BREED CAREFULLY AND MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT GENDER.
LOOK AT THE DESCRIPTION CHOOSE THE DOG THAT SUITS YOU THE MOST.
YOU TAKE YOUR DOG HOME AND YOU STROKE IT.
THINK OF A NAME 7 LETTERS MAX.
TAUGHT IT ITS NAME?
NOW CALL YOUR NINTENDOG OVER CALL ITS NAME 3 TIMES.
NOW TEACH IT SIT.
DONE THAT?
NOW CALL YOUR NINTENDOG OVER AND SAY SIT.

YOU MIGHT HAVE SEEN THE PERSON THAT SAID IT WAS BAD THAT YOU CAN'T DELETE THE NAME SHE SHOULD LOOK IN THE MANUAL YOU CAN DELETE THE WHOLE GAME BY PRESSING A,B,Y,X,L AND R.

THERE ARE LOADS AND HEAPS OF STUFF.
I'D SAY MY FAV TOY IS EITHER THE PEACH KART OR THE HELICOPTER.
(YOU USE THE BUTTONS TO MAKE THEM GO AROUND)

MY FAV COLLAR IS EITHER THE DINAMITE ONE THE FLOWER ONE OR THE SPOTTY ONE.
MY FAV BOW IS PROBABLY THE CHECKED OR STRIPED.
MY FAV FLOWER IS PROBABLY THE HIBISCUS
MY FAV SUNGLASSES ARE PROBABLY THE PARTY OR 3D
MY FAV WIG IS PROBABLY THE CLOWN WIG
AND MY FAV HAT IS HARD PROBABLY THE YELLOW KNITTED HAT OR THE PARTY HAT.

MY FAV SPORTS ITEM IS PROBABLY THE LIFE RING DISC,THE PIZZA DISC OR THE GREEN SPONSER DISC.

MY FAV ETC. ITEM IS PROBABLY THE DOLL

MY FAV MUSIC ITEM IS PROBABLY EITHER A RECORD THAT MAKES THE DOGS DANCE OR THE PIANO

AND MY FAV CLOCK IS PROBABLY THE MARINE CLOCK.

BUY COOL SUPPLIES, WALK YOUR DOG AND MUCH MORE!

BUY THIS GAME!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
AAA+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2005
After I killed my tamagotchi all those years ago I was sceptical about investing in another pet simulation game. However, unlike tamagotchi, a) you're pet can't die (yay), and b) the game is far more interactive and therefore more rewarding than earlier games in the genre.
By far the best feature of Nintendogs is the ability to talk to and train your dog through use of the DS' built-in microphone. If ever you see someone randomly yelling 'sit' or 'lie down' on the train, you will know why. I have had my copy of the game for a day now and have been playing on it virtually non-stop. My Nintendog is a cute little German Shepherd called Joni, and I have already taught her how to sit, roll over, lie down, shake hands and wiggle her bum. Call me sad, but it's incredibly cute, and this game will melt even the hardest of hearts.
Aside from teaching your dog new tricks (the list of which is incredibly extensive), you can play with them, take them for a walk, groom them and even enter them into contests. Through the latter, you can earn money (a nice touch is that the 'money' of the game is displayed in local currency), which will allow you to buy supplies, new dogs, or even a new decor for your home. That is really all there is to the game. However, it is so involving and rewarding, it is definitely worth buying. The incredibly realsitic visuals and animations, coupled with the voice recognition technology, perhaps makes this the most lifelike pet sim released. A game like Nintendogs could not be pulled off on any other system. This is the DS' killer app, and can be enjoyed by absolutely everyone.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2006
This game is a great game. It uses all the great features the ds has. There are so many great things you can do and so many breeds to choose from. All the dogs are really cute and so lifelike. It is just like you have your oun dog, in real time, in real life! A great game, a must-have!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2008
This game is BRILL!To be honest i'd say this game is great for all ages!
I'm seven and i love it!You can enter three kinds of contest but my
favorite is the disc contest.You have to feed your dogs and give them
water.Over all it's just great!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Nintendogs chihuahua is agreat game (i have played this!)because in the start you can choose 6 dog breeds
a chihuahua,german sheperd,boxer,cavalier k.c. spaniel,yorkshire terrier and a shetland sheepdog.Then
you can walk,feed,play,teach and enter contests to earn money!

NOTE:YOU NEED TO ITEMS TO GET THESE BREEDS!
.Dalmation while walking your dog find a fireman's hat then dalmations will be unlocked at the kennel!
.Jack russel while wlking your dog find a jack russel book then jack russels will be unlocked at the
kennel!

HOPE YOU ENJOY THE GAME!
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
I absolutely love this game. Being someone who has no pets I get to have my own 'Computer' pet, which needs bathing feeding and walked regularly. Plus I get to enter my dogs in competitions, that's after they've had plenty of training. :)

This game is so easy, a young child can play it. I also think it can teach a child responsibility in looking after animals. You have to clean up after it in the street, keep it away from rubbish, feed, bath, walk every day. Plus you can even take your Puppies to the park and play ball, and meet up with other Puppies there and play with them. Basically, if you don't look after your Pup it runs away, so if you want to keep them, look after them.

The other great things is, if they become too much, you can have them stay in the dog hotel. You can look after up to three Puppies at a time, and have up to five Pups stay in the Hotel.

As you progress through the game, more puppy breeds become available at the Kennel, and so you can have a mixture of small dogs and big dogs. Which is really good. You can also donate pups at the kennel if you no longer want them. I have become so attached to my pups though, that I can't even donate any. The sad look they give you when to go to donate them!!!

Another thing I like, win money from the competitions you enter your pups into, and you earn enough money to revamp the pups home.

The Visuals on this game are so good, I really don't have any complaints about it. What I really love is, as you love your Pups, they love you back. :)

I chose Chihuahua & Friends, as I love small dogs. A cute game with lots to do for all ages!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)