Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

  • Clor
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
Clor
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 September 2005
After seeing the live show, and loving the two singles (LOVE + PAIN and OUTLINES), I thought it would be worth getting the album. I had some doubts that the live sound would work on record, but Clor have obviously realised this and have adapted the songs to fit.
And it's a cracker of an album! Although the band have pop sensibility and excellent song writing talent (think fall and early devo), the upbeat keyboard-based tunes, sparse use of guitars and mostly electronic drums will not appeal to everyone. If your taste in music is a little quirky then the album might be perfect for you. Clor obviously have alot of good ideas, but instead of dwelling on them, each song is over in a 3 minute blur, even the album's masterpiece (Garden of Love) is only about three and a half minutes.
Chances are, if you've liked any of the singles (the third single GOOD STUFF is going to be released soon) then you'll like the album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2005
With Live8 romanticising the musical summer of twenty years ago, Duran Duran playing stadiums, 'Hit Me Baby One More Time', those funny uber-mullets that suddenly loads of blokes are wearing (not me, no chance!) and now this; 2005 really has been the year of that most unexpected of revivals, an eighties one! Totally uncalled for too if you ask me, speaking as someone who can well remember that painful decade, it was rubbish and the music was, by and large, dire (straits).
None of that should reflect badly on Clor though. Their debut starts at the place Blur left off with 'Trouble In The Message Centre', injecting that Numanoid template with so many pop hooks and lyrical songs that even the most die hard eighties detractor will surely be won over. Singer Barry and guitarist Luke (formerly DJ's at the eclectic Bad Bunny club night in Soho) aren't just mere electro-pop boffins though, they've clearly indulged in some Can, Eno, Roxy Music and there's probably the odd BBC Radiophonic Workshop album in their DJ box too! It's all tastefully thrown into their melting pot of pop madness. The opening trio alone ('Good Stuff','Outlines','Love + Pain') are each would be or actual singles that could easily spark a resurgence of interest in The Human League and Sparks. This is one of those amazing first albums where the band arrives out of nowhere already fully formed, great things surely await!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2005
I've read endless reviews of this record which witter about the incongrous styles involved. It's been variously called art-rock, techno, electronica, pop. In actual fact all you need to know about Clor is that they know their way around a tune.
You should buy this record because the songs are excellent. Lyrically and musically, there's real talent here. Special mention must also go to the production (why don't more bands self-produce?). It's absolutely perfect - astonishing in places.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2005
Clor are really a wicked new band to have managed to break through. So many new bands at the moment are producing non-original stuff that sounds boring and done before, this band are fresh and new with all the old cool influences! I think the music is quite technically intellectual, and i have seen them live and they can play it all tighter and more on it than the alubm! it really is a cd you have for your music collection, these guys are gonna be huge!!! p.s dangerzone is my favourite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2005
I bought the Clor album after hearing the Love + Pain EP and I was not at all disappointed. It is interesting, innovative and different enough to stand out from the current retro, 80s influenced UK music scene. Angular guitars, jerky drum beats and great synths and effects. Buy this album and practise saying 'I heard them first' for when they become famous.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2005
Its a breath of fresh air, something that really is different without being obscure and nonsense. The album recalls days of Visage/Sparks and classic Depeche Mode with a slight punk tinge for flavouring. Its easily accessable, as long as your willing to just have fun and enjoy the music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2006
Im gobsmacked...........I heard tracks on this Album on the Clor myspace site........the music is stunning, rivetting in its power and drive Barry Dobbins voice is one in a million..........techno electronic and heavy guitar riffs..........each song I listened to confirmed these guys were special, really special I couldnt stop playing the stuff. Infectious like Kings of Leon...made me smile like the Magic Numbers..
Now the bad news...I heard they split. NO you have to be joshing me ...too much talent , too many great songs unwritten
Im choked, gutted and amazed.
Buy this Album its a classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2005
Reccomended to me from a friend and I must say what a top album!! What stands out most to me was the cool keyboard sounds. Definatly worth the purchase!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2005
If at all possible I'd recommend having a good listen if you can before buying. For every moment of brilliance here (and there are several) there is the annoying and irritating.
A difficult album to love at time, but repeated listens help it improve. Maybe it's a grower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2005
with all the overhyping and re-invention of 'retro' music, it would be easy to put Clor in the same box as Razorlight, The Killers et al. Clor, however, come as a breath of fresh air in a musically stale genre. It's electro, pop rock at it's best and the most original and intelligent record of it's kind I've heard for months. Even people I know who dismiss this kind of music as 'not their thing' are able to appreciate what a damn good record Clor have come up with. Well done boys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)