Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
Awesome. Listening to this you can hear how many bands Iggy has influenced over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Very Happy!! 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
ticks the box .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
Like most anthologies, this one is aimed at interested parties, rather than committed fans. Apart from two live tracks, this is all straight from the relevant albums.

The collection opens with the killer 1969, the first of ten tracks from the Stooges days.

The classic 'bowie' years follow, and it is good to hear China Girl and Tonight in their proper versions. The brilliant Passenger makes for an excllent finish to the first disc.

Side two doesn't contain many well known tracks but is just as solid as the first CD. They even manage to pluck two good songs from the underwhelming Blah Blah Blah album. Well, Did you Evah! is a great fun duet with Debbie Harry and the closing Iggy and the Stooges reunion (Skull Ring) makes for a fitting end to this compilation.

This is a thoughtfully compiled and nicely presented collection. The remastered sound is sympathetic to the originals and looses none of the power of the early Stooges work. The two short essays in the booklet are informative for the uninitiated. And that front cover picture is a masterpiece.

Iggy Pop is one of rock's masters. His lust for life is almost unparrelled. If you are a rock fan and don't have any Iggy in your collection yet, then this collection is a great way to start...
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2007
Definitely an anthology of 2 halves, this one. CD1 is awesome with lots of early Stooges tracks and the best of his solo stuff "Lust for life", "China girl", "The Passenger" etc. "Search and Destroy" is speaker-blowing brilliant! You can tell this is important, seminal stuff - the kind of stuff you've always been aware of but had never really located as being Iggy Pop before. When you get beyond the "wild man of rock" tag and the stories of his legendary debauchery, it comes as a bit of a surprise to realise what a good vocalist he is and has written some very good and interesting lyrics. As for CD2.... apart from the nice melody on "Candy", "Wild America" and "Real Wild Child" I could have done without the rest of it. I always feel record companies are scraping the barrel when they stick live tracks from this or that recent "festival". But as this is likely to be the only Iggy Pop record I buy I'm content enough for the riches contained on CD1.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Ok for the car
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 25 February 2016
If Little Richard was the Quasar of Rock 'n' Roll - and he was! - you could say Iggy is the Quasar of Rock. He has the same elemental, raw, unadulterated energy and directness. If neither existed, we'd have had to invent them.
This excellent compilation, generous at over 150 minutes, takes us through Iggy's career from the edge-of-seat primal power and punk simplicity of his early Stooges days to the later, hardly less urgent music. Some of it is unbearably thrilling, even now.
All the 'hits' are here, mostly on Side One: No Fun, Down on the Street, Gimme Some Skin, Search and Destroy, Raw Power, China Girl, Funtime, the classic Lust For Life, The Passenger, and hilarious Success, and many others Sad and poignant to hear Bowie on some tracks, having co-wrote quite a few too. {We've recently lost Lou & Bowie...I hope Iggy looks after himself.}
There are jewels to be had on CD2, not least the wonderfully titled Some weird Sin, the irresistible Real Wild Child, the exhilarating Home, a stunning duet with the B52s' Katie Pierson on Candy, and a daft, stripped down version of Cole Porter's Well Did You Evah! sung very sexily with Deborah Harry, implicitly transposing the original scenario to more modern times.
Iggy is one of rock's great originals, who took the best of rock and blues and made something his own out of it all. A little guy with a big heart and unignorable voice, a wide grin, and astounding musculature to boot!
38 tracks, over an hour and a half of music, a superb booklet, all in excellent sound - as they say, what's not to like?

Essential.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2007
Iggy Pop is one of the legendary characters of rock music. Like Ozzy, Alice Cooper and Keith Richards he is one of the great survivors. Indeed he can even give old Keith a run for his money in the most wrinkly living rocker stakes. Iggy and the Stooges have always been the darlings of the critics, especially post punk. The Stooges together with the MC5 and the New York Dolls were usually thought of as the precursers of punk. This is undoubtedly true, although I believe all three of these bands simply weren't ultimately good enough to be classed as truly great (like most punk bands!) and it's not really surprising that they didn't sell in their lifetimes. Of course all three and the subsequent punk movement itself owed a great deal to a much greater and unsuccessful in their lifetime band - the Velvet Underground. The Velvets were much more original and varied and are probably quite rightly regarded as the most influential rock band this side of the Beatles. I would say that The Stooges were actually better than the New York Dolls and the MC5. Indeed, to me the early MC5 are little more than a tuneless row and Iggy is certainly a more distinctive rock singer than the MC5's Rob Tyner, whilst the Dolls, despite having a few good songs, were very inconsistent. However, I do think the Stooges were also thoroughly inconsistent. The first album has three classics: '1969', 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' and 'No Fun' and all are included here. The rest of that album is much weaker and 'We Will Fall' in particular is a ten minute dirge which is waste of vinyl. The second Stooges album 'Fun House' is the one the critics really rave over, but it's too atonal for me - 'L.A. Blues' in particular is just a noise - and understandably that album is only represented by one track on this compilation: 'Down On The Street'. Although two later live versions of 'Fun House' songs - 'TV Eye' and 'Loose' - do feature on the second disc. For me 'Raw Power', the third and final (original) album by the Stooges (now called Iggy and the Stooges) was their best. Once again three tracks are included here: 'Search and Destroy', 'Gimme Danger' and the title track. The Stooges always had great song titles! There are a couple more 'Raw Power' tracks that I would like to have seen included in 'Penetration' and 'I Need Somebody' but I suppose five of that albums eight tracks would have been too much. There are also a few outakes here by Iggy and The Stooges, none of which are as strong as the songs that made the final albums. Some people would argue that you really need to buy 'Fun House' as well, but I think this anthology pretty much covers everything the Stooges did of note.

Moving on to Iggy's solo material there are nine tracks from his two most famous and best albums 'The Idiot' and 'Lust For Life', including such classics as 'China Girl', 'Nightclubbing' and 'The Passenger'.

The quality of the material dips somewhat on the second disc as it cannot be doubted that Iggy was inconsistent and produced a lot of poor albums in the 80's and 90's. Having said that, there is still a pleasing amount of good stuff even on the second disc such as 'Real Wild Child' which always reminded me of Billy Idol.

The sleeve notes by Lenny Kaye and Danny Fields don't really amount to all that much, but there is comprehensive annotation of each song's recording, personnel and original source which is always nice to have on an anthology.

Whilst it is inconsistent this anthology does contain all that was on the previous Iggy compilation 'Nude and Rude', and much, much more. Therefore it is undoubtedly worth buying as it really contains everything of note by this legendary but inconsistent artist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2005
Having found Iggy in the 70's listened to him in my 20's & lost him when i did the parenting stuff, thinking i'd grown up! I was blast back to something i don't want to lose or leave ( you know that association of times & songs & people etc!). It's all there & for any part-time forty-something it's a must. Just for the reverse sleeve of a man worth a million in prizes. This is something so deserving in it's title & a must in any cd collection. Everyone should listen to this glittering piece of passion & burn with desire & never grow old without a fight
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Quite a good best of compilation, although it could have been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse