Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2016
Cd arrived yesterday. As decribed. Very good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2006
This is the debut album from the British three-piece The Subways. It mirrors the sound slightly of bands like Ash, but is mostly just good fun indie rock. The band is made up of Brothers Billy Lunn (Singer and guitar), Josh Morgan (Drummer) and Billy's girlfriend Mary-Charlotte Cooper (Bassist).

Here i will review each track individually.

1:I Want To Hear What You Have Got To Say: 8.5/10

A great opener, it starts with soft acoustic guitar, before launching into a cool riff that will get you moving. The contrasting vocals of Billy and Charlotte really sound great.

2:Holiday: 7/10

A nice rock song, but it does sound slightly average.

3:Rock & Roll Queen: 8.5/10

One of the simplest songs ever written, but it defiantly works and it will have the main tune stook in your head for months to come.

4:Mary: 8/10

A nice love song about bassist Mary-Charlotte Cooper. It has a very poppy feel to it, but it is a nice soft tune and good lyrics.

5:Young For Eternity: 6.5/10

One of the heaviest tracks on the album, but it lacks a great melody or Chorus.

6:Lines Of Light: 9/10

A short beautiful song with great lyrics. It starts softly before moving into a slightly epic feeling finale.

7:Oh Yeah: 9/10

Another cool poppy sounding song with a brilliant chorus, which demonstates well the amazing energy of the subways

8:City Pavement: 7/10

A decent heavy sounding song.

9:No Goodbyes: 9/10

Another excellent soft song, with a beautiful chorus.

10:With You: 9/10

Another great rock song, with a cool build up and a great chorus that is a brilliant mosh anthem.

11:She Sun: 8/10

A beautiful soft song, with nice lyrics and a nice piano running through.

12:Somewhere + Encore At 1am: 8.5/10

It takes a while to get going but somewhere has a great outro, and 1am is a very cool punky song.

Overall 8/10

The subways debut hints at great things to come. Though their songwriting is not brilliant yet, that will take time to develop. Young For Eternity has a brilliant energy to it and i think their second album will be brilliant.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Item in perfect condition. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2006
This is a great little album. Not spectacular but there's some solid tunes here with that kind of energy suggested in the title.
Young for Eternity is so easy to like, and I suppose it doesn't test you like a real quality punk/rock album. But there's something refreshing about a three piece that has gone into a studio and crashed and banged their way to a decent effort worthy of most record collections.
All those main stream influences are there like Nirvana, and whether they know it or not theres the pop sensibility of The Buzzcocks. There's a few acoustic tracks on here that bring through the personality of frontman Billy Lunn. Mary is a stand out track for me but the singles are little indie anthems that will get kids dancing down the inde disco. There may not be from that urchin culture, but give me this lot over dreary yesterday's news rockers The Paddingtons. Buy it you'll like it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Good good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2007
I bought this album after seeing the bands name and thought it would be a musical tribute to the excellent fast food chain. With tracks like "oh yeah" which seemed like they'd remind me of when i was asked if i wanted extra bacon. I was sadly dissapointed, but their are some good tracks on it though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
These guys are one of the best live acts around at the moment. I'm a huge fan and have seen them several times, they're excellent>! I must admit that their album doesn't quite capture their 'energy' that you witness at a gig, but this is a band that shouldn't be so easily dismissed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)