Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
160
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
Have got to buy sequel to this film. the "kids" must havereally enjoyed some of the destruction scenes in bombed out property. No doubt health and safety would be a nightmare now..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
It Of But I lived through the war and this did not show it how it was. Never-the-led it was not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
I bought this for my mum and dad who took me to see it when I was a teenager. It is one of the best films I recall seeing about the second world war and the impact it had on family life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2014
If on re-seeing this 27 years after it's initial release, it didn't quite hold up to all my grand memories, it came pretty close. Whatever it's forgivable flaws, this is a unique and wonderful film.

Showing life in WWII Britain through the eyes of a young boy, it's a very odd look at war, filled more with comedy, family warmth and a sense of adventure, than of tragedy (although tragedy always seems to threaten, from just around the corner). The acting is superlative throughout, and Boorman's camera really seems as though it sees with the senses of his child hero.

The first two thirds of the film, as the family lives through the blitz, with bomb raids a part of daily life and houses all around them being blown to pieces is as remarkable, human, funny, sad and surreal as I remember. Only in the last third, when the family leaves London for the safety of the countryside does the film lose some steam, trading the completely original and honest feeling of a child's experience of a war, for eccentric relatives in the English countryside - something that feels far more familiar, if still well done.

But, in spite of that slight letdown, this is certainly a special film worth seeking out and seeing. (And maybe getting a blu-ray release someday)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Bill Rohan, a young boy living on the outskirts of London experiences the exhilaration of World War II.

During this period, Bill learns about sex, death, love, hypocrisy, and the faults of adults as he prowls the ruins of bombed houses on Rosehill Avenue.

His father is off chasing patriotic dreams of glory from behind a military clerk's typewriter; his teenage sister runs wild; his mother can't cope; but hopefully everything in the end will eventually turn out all right.....

A semi autobiographical movie by Boorman, Hope and Glory is as British as British movies have been since the old Ealing comedies.

And what's not to like about it? From the movie, you realise that growing up as a young child in WW2, must have had so much impact on your life, from family leaving, to lack of education, its all here, and even though Boorman slightly sugarcoats it and gives it an almost fairy tale like feel, its gripping stuff.

Along with the fantastic cast, including a scene stealing Ian Bannen, the sets are spectacular and really have an authentic feel to the proceedings.

The final third takes you away from the war, and the pain, and lets you spend the rest of the movie enjoying the English summer, a real treat, and a lovely way to end a film.

For the lengthy running time, it moves along quickly, and although its a tough subject for many, the essence of the film is love, and how huge events bring the nuclear family close together.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This is a film that reminded me of my wartime childhood - in the London suburbs. I remember looking for trophies in the mornings after the raids, with very little success. Except for the time two of us found the remains of a V1 that had exploded in fields near us and we carted away a section of the wing in a wheelbarrow !
The film conveys faithfully the contrast in the lives of the adults and children of the time. Our parents were fearful of what the future might bring, we saw life as a great adventure with the frisson of danger to add spice. Predictably our summers were sunny and the winters gave us lots of snow. The film suggests this beautifully and it took me back to my childhood.
My one criticism is that bomb damage was cleared away as soon as possible after the event. Steets may have had blank gaps but no heaps of rubble.
This is an excellent film, made with humour and sensitivity.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
John Boorman's finest hour perhaps? This is a vivid portrayal of life in the blitz in London, how it impinges on one family, and in particular on a small boy who views much of what is happening around him as a great adventure. I think much of the material is based on John Boorman's own childhood. The shots of bomb-damaged suburban houses were all filmed on a huge outdoor set, and the period detail is perfect. Sarah Miles reins in her tendency to histrionics to give a subtle portrayal of a mother trying to hold her family together under great difficulties. Look out too for a cameo from Boorman's son Charlie (also seen in Emerald Forest) as a downed German airman. There are plenty of thrills but the film is also full of humour and some laugh-out-loud moments, for example the local kids cheering when they find out their school has had a direct hit. The film is presented in 16:9 ratio and is a very clean print. Recommended unreservedly.
Chris Gwilliam
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)