Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
66
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2016
Stunning photogrphy,great content,intelligent commentary and good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
a good documentry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Great DVD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2005
I have lived in Africa for many years and have marveled over its beauty and magnificance. Never had I thought that a TV programme would ever do it justice but BBC's Wild Africa brought me to tears. It is simply the most vivid, stark, honest and breathtaking account of African nature. True, there are no people, no poverty, no corruption, nothing depressing. But in the detatched privelige of looking from the outside this DVD is amazing. It makes you want to experience it for yourself, which in my opinion is the best review any nature DVD can get. See it - then go there.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
I highly recommend this DVD set for anyone who loves nature documentaries or is interested in African wildlife. The images are just spectactular. I found each programme breathtaking, with moments of humour and sadness. The only reasons for a missing star are that the music score is a little James Bond-like at times (although I still enjoyed it) and there is a missing "making of" which I would have loved to have seen.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This is Wild Africa in all its Beauty, "its the heart of the world".
Fergal Keane does some smashingly good narration for this series.
Dont think this serious just covers the african plains, oh no this series covers all 6 habbitas for wildlife that live on or around the coast of Africa. Jungles ,mountains, plains, coast,lakes and rivers and deserts.
Each episode has a wide range of wildlife that star, from Garilas in the jungle to great white sharks in coast to lions on the savannah. All episodes are beautifly filmed and detailed, and as a special feature David Attenborough narrated: wildlife on one THE SUPER HERD.
A half an hour special on the Wildebeest Migration which rounds of the dvd briliantly. Lovely front cover of a cape Buffalo which are amazing creatures.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
I bought this DVD on the strength of catching only ten minutes of one episode and I wasn't disappointed. An excellent series that features some of the lesser filmed species of the continent and has great imagery and music. You can see that this was a precursor to 'Planet Earth', but I prefer this series as, to me, it seems to have more of an emotional impact. The black eagle over Vic Falls gets me every time.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2001
I have watched all of the series of wild Africa and it never seases to amaze me.My favourite programme was the the first one.It was filmed with beutifal camera work.It showed the wonderful lammagier bird(bearded vulture),and how it extracted bone marrow by flying effortlessly and releasing the bones on hard rock.It also showed the beutifal Gelada baboon which comes from the same region as the lammagier(the Ethiopian highlands)and how they congragated together in vast numbers to keep warm.The programmed showed how fearless the Geladas were when they were clinging on to rock crevices at night to escape predators such as the leopard which also lives in this region.The programme also showed mountain ranges in East Afica .The programme showed a beutifal and rare Melanistic leopard and a serval which only seemed to occur in this range along the great rift valley.This programme also showed the extremly rare Ethiopian wolf which is the rarest canid in the world.The programme also showed the Barbary Maqaque in the Atlas Mountains in Morocco,and how they survived in there harsh alpine climate.
The programme also contains rivers,lakes and coasts,savanahs,Rainforests and Deserts(but not in that order).I think this is a fantastique series,and in my opinion it is better then the blue planet.And I highly reccomend it .
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
The dvds are divided into 6 sections; mountains, savannah, desserts, coasts, jungle and lakes & rivers. Each one is an hour long programme. They all start with an introduction and explanation of the particular habitat and vies over the areas. The narrator is an irish man whose voice, settles quietly into the background. Several animals living in each habitat are covered, with interesting facts about them all. In each programme, 3 or 4 examples of each habitat are covered, giving a broad view of the African climate.
Very interesting watching and it has a very relaxed mood. Nice background music, beuatiful landscapes and animals, clever photography, and good narration make this dvd a worthwhile purchase!
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)